6/16 Orange AMPS 117, +3 58, +5 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73174

With an AMPS of 117 we are almost back to his normal numbers. :smile:

One of my cats favorite toys is beer bottle caps. Go figure. Orange found one yesterday and decided he wanted to play fetch. So he kept sliding accross the floors to run after it when i threw it and then brought it back and dropped it in front of me. Sharon sat there in amazement - "I didn't know a cat could play fetch!" It is a little out of character for Orange - usually Charlie is the one that I play fetch with. Orange more often will chase and pounce and keep it.
 
Re: 6/16 Orange AMPS 117

Glad to see thas orange is coming back down to familiar numbers:) It sounds like he's having a ball with the bottle caps. Why buy cat toys when you can re-create the same fun with household items! I hope you and the fam are doing ok Julie. :YMHUG:
 
Orange PMPS 148
I did it!! Even though I'm having the worst cat allergies. Can barely breathe and did not bring an inhaler :(. So now every time i take care of orange, i have to take care of myself. Oh man.
 
6/17 Orange PMPS 174, +3 141

Oh Orange, you give me great allergies. I've noticed my allergies are not that bad if I'm really quick about testing his blood. The problem is, it usually takes me anywhere from 20 min-45 min. Having a cat in front of me for that long, on my lap, is very difficult for my breathing. Today, i tried just using the needle, without the gun. This took a lot faster, but I could tell it hurt him. Any suggestions on how I can draw blood quicker using the shooter (I'm not sure of the machine's proper term). It would be appreciated!
 
Please be careful, Orange's Auntie! We care about Orange but we care about you, too. Congratulations on your success but please stay safe. Can you get someone to go over with you to make sure you stay ok? And as someone with asthma, and the mother of someone with asthma, I have to ask--why did you go out without your inhaler!
 
This is my story. When i was growing up, I would not be able to be in the same room as cats without needing an inhaler or sometimes, needing medical help. Since my early twenties, I've been around cats, but I've stayed in the habit of not petting them...or if i saw lots of cat hair in a part of a person's house, I'd stay away from it. For the past 4 months or so, I've been staying with a friend of mine who has a cat. For the first 3 months, I had no interest in the cat, I guess still scarred from my child-hood. For the last month, I started liking this cat, petting him, and noticed I had no allergies whatsoever. Since I have no had allergy symptoms from cats since my early years, I thought maybe I have out-grown em. And I've been here, at my sister's house many times without having any problems around these cats. Then again, I had never touched them before.
To makes it worse, the beginning of May, I lost my job, along with my health benefits. I was on 4 different types of medications for other reasons, but now it's just way too much money to pick them up (over $1,000!!). I'm gonna keep taking showers and washing/changing clothes. It seems to help my lungs a lot. Thanks for the concern! I guess the lesson for me here is "always safe than sorry!"
 
I don't know your age, but I do know that asthma and allergies can go away and come back around perimenopause. It happened that way for me.

I also know how expensive prescription drugs can be. I am self employed and have a high deductible plan. I buy my inhalers and other asthma meds through a Canadian pharmacy (UniversalDrugstore.com) and the price difference is often immense. Same brand but sometimes 1/4 of the price. I am not affiliated with them in any way. I am simply reporting what I do!

Have you tried the wipes for cats that keep the cat dander down? I am sure you know it is the saliva that most people react to, not actually the fur. Of course, there is often saliva ON the fur. I'm sure you also know your reaction can often be cascading, meaning if you are slightly allergic to two things, and would not really react to to either one--say cats and tree pollen--if you are exposed to both--Bam! You're wheezing.
 
Sharon, I'm going to tell you on here again. Do not test Orange! Keep him on the lower dose of a drop and he will be safe. I don't want you having asthma attacks, especially when noone else is around. If you start wheezing again, go stay at my friend's cat-free house. Thank you so much for looking after him - love you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top