6/18 Munchkin AMPS 297, +3.5 323, +6.5 278, + 10.25 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munchkin's Reagan

Member Since 2012
Good Morning LL. I hope all the dads had a great day yesterday. Munch and Pebs surprised daddy bean with some fishes. But we did have to have a talk in regards to making money by selling their catnip to their buddies. Their hearts were in the right place though.

6/16 Condo

Munch is doing so so today. We had run two "experiments" in the last two cycles. Yesterday AM I didn't give her anything at +8. We had only started giving her a +8 snack because we had gotten so far off schedule last Wednesday and +8 would have been her normal dinner time. We had started noticing though that the meal would either help her maintain or reduce her PS #, compared to the +8. I wanted to know if it was the increased dose was making the difference, or the meal-it's the meal. Does anyone know, have resources that explain why that could happen? (generally it's encouraged not to feed too late, past nadir--not that she necessarily shows a nadir)

Last night I gave her an extra .5 oz of Friskies Country Style (7%) mixed with her evo (for her typical +1, +2) just to see if the Friskies were making a big difference or not. We didn't really see much of a drop. I know I could have missed it and that it's possible it could have been a residual effect from not getting the +8 the cycle before.

Lastly, She was scheduled for a dosecrease last night, I made the decision to move it two cycles out because we've been moving the schedule back for days now, and just wanted to give her a couple normal routine days again--Which last night didn't end up being with the extra Friskies so...Anyway, I was planning on another .25 increase tonight.

Sorry for being so long winded. Hopefully someone made it through this. :) Sending love and vines to all. I hope to check in on everyone's condo's a little later. My allergies and getting the better for me today, so getting a little extra rest sounds like it's in order.
 
Re: 6/18 Munchkin AMPS 297

Hi guys .. well, I made it through your post but unfortunately I don't have any answers for you :sad: I'm sure it won't be long though .. Hope you get some rest .. allergies can be so rough on us .. have a great day!
 
Re: 6/18 Munchkin AMPS 297, +3.5 323, +6.5 278

Hi Reagan, thanks for visiting us earlier. Does it seem like the Friskies Country Style might be raising her bg? Offhand, I don't know the carbs in it. I've been guilty of leaving food for Mags past the +6, and it does seem to increase her PMPS. I hope you get some more feedback on it. She is staying kind of flat which can mean some action later. Is Munchkin carb sensitive? Hope your day is going well.
 
Re: 6/18 Munchkin AMPS 297, +3.5 323, +6.5 278

Good luck with the food experiment. We free feed and I know that messes with Tarragon's BGs. However, our civvie will throw up if there isn't food in the bowl. It's a psychological thing but always a concern so we do what we do. Tarragon is very good about not eating until after his shot, but he will eat up to +10. Hope your allergies keep getting better. Have a great night!
 
Re: 6/18 Munchkin AMPS 297, +3.5 323, +6.5 278

One of the things I've found is that if you are going to make any changes with respect to food, you can't rely on only a few days worth of information. It can take weeks for the effect of a change to become apparent. If you're going to experiment, do one thing at a time for a couple of weeks and see if you get the desired result.

As for feeding past nadir, the rationale (in general) is that there's less insulin during the latter part of the cycle to offset the effect of food. However, if a cat's pancreas is working, feeding at +8 or +9 may cause numbers to come down since the pancreas may kick in its own endogenous insulin.
 
Re: 6/18 Munchkin AMPS 297, +3.5 323, +6.5 278

Ann & Maggie11 said:
She is staying kind of flat which can mean some action later. Is Munchkin carb sensitive? Hope your day is going well.
Hi Ann, I'm honestly not sure how to define if she is carb sensitive or not. I do feel she generally nadir's rather late in her cycle maybe +7-+10/11, but some days happens rather early. With her being so flat often, without focusing on a number--it's hard to tell. (in my uneducated opinion)

Sienne and Gabby said:
As for feeding past nadir, the rationale (in general) is that there's less insulin during the latter part of the cycle to offset the effect of food. However, if a cat's pancreas is working, feeding at +8 or +9 may cause numbers to come down since the pancreas may kick in its own endogenous insulin.

Sienne, of course taking time makes sense. Sigh. Is there any harm in feeding her at +8 as long as her numbers don't spike?

Thanks for stopping by and for everyone's input and well wishes. I think I am struggling getting past knowing I made so many wrong/bad decisions last year, so I keep winding myself back up trying to find all the answers. I apologize, again, for being all over the place.
 
It's okay Reagan and not to worry. I've also made quite a few mistakes myself with Maggie when I look back. The food for one took me a long time and which one to feed, as Mags is very carb sensitive. Give your little Munchkin lots of scritches from us and civvies, too.
 
Hi Reagan, thanks for stopping by our condo today, or was it yesterday. :roll: :lol:

I can answer the one question about the +8, at least I can say how it effects Daphne. I have seen many times that even a +9 or +10 will bring her numbers down at PMPS, for the reason Sienne said. Haven't had as much luck with her AMPS, they are usually harder to bring down.

I also know how you feel with the allergies, they make me so tired, and I live with a constant headache.
I would never even go outside if it wasn't for Daphne liking it so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top