02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2.5 435 so frustrated!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327

Hi Michelle and Scrabble,

You are doing great, just keep it up. I see that you have switched to a low carb wet food diet, which is the first step to making things right. It took Sami about a month to regulate once I switched her over. Keep up the good work and I am sure you will be seeing some improvement in Scrabbles numbers really soon.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327

Thanks, I have both cats on low carb wet food only and they like it. It has been 2 and a half weeks for me on lantus so I keep hoping Scrabble is going to make a turn around. I have seen some glimmers of hope but he keeps bouncing. It is hard not to bang your head against the wall sometimes you know??
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327

Question, noticed a bump on his skin where I have given him shots, is that normal? Just want to make sure I am doing nothing wrong. I try to switch sides and spots each time I give him the shots. Just wanted to make sure that is a normal thing and if I can prevent it!?
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327

Michelle & Scrabble said:
It is hard not to bang your head against the wall sometimes you know??


You should see all my bruises, bald spots, and grey hairs! :lol:

You are doing fantastic! keep doing what you are doing, and as Scrabble starts to heal you will see the rewards.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 question about bump on skin?

I dont know Michelle. In all the years and numerous injections I have given Latte I have never noticed anything like that. Tough skin in some areas, but thats because other injections we use much larger needles. I dont know how I would notice a bump with all the fur unless it was very large. You are super oobservant.

Hopefully someone else will know.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 question about bump on skin?

Well I did notice the bump because the vet had shaved two patches on either side of his body for me to have an easier time giving him shots in the beginning. he has a lot of long fur! Think the bump is because when I went to inject him he was trying to be playful and bite the plunger end of the syringe (he does this sometimes) and when I put the needle in him he moved a bit and I had to stick it back in and maybe it irritated the skin? This is what I am thinking??
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 question about bump on skin?

Michelle-- I injected an orange for a while to become quicker when I give a shot--I shoot between her shoulders, as Moonie has very little scruff--
I always give her cooked chicken while I am shooting as it distracts her & she couldnt care as long as she's eating :lol:
If you shoot in the same spot, it can thicken--Even though I move the shot around a lot, she still has a sensitive spot--
You are doing great!!--Just be concerned with your cat getting better & the evidence is when they do things that they did before they got sick..
Oh, BTW, I never ever show Moonie the needle!!! I shoot when her head is turned, & dont let her see the shot & she is fine--
Actually, I close my eyes when I get a shot myself :mrgreen: as I dont want to see it!! Have a great day!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 question about bump on skin?

i've never seen a bump either. sure it's not a flea bite or anything?
you haven't noticed him jump or act like it stings when you inject him, right? some cats do have a reaction to lantus. i remember reading a while back that about 6% of people can feel a sting with lantus and a few people have reported that with their cats so they switched to levemir.
if he seems to tolerate the shots well (seems like it if he's playing while you're injecting him), i'd just guess the bumps are coincidence and continue to rotate the shot locations.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 question about bump on skin?

Hi Michelle,

It's probably just a tender spot. Try shooting on the other side for a few days and it will probably disappear. I always give injections while Stu is eating. He has never even noticed them. I just say "keep your head down" (which he does, since it is in his bowl) and then I shoot. Good luck, and don't worry!
Ella
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

Ok wow, just got up and checked is +5 and he is @ 97!! OMG this is the lowest # I have ever seen! Does this finally mean we are out of Liver training school, LOL! Just fed him some fancy feast, will check again @ +6, this is a crazy drop!!!! Scary but good, I think!!!! Oh and the bump is gone, gonna shoot him on the other side today to make sure, think I just irritated the area.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

First green is really exciting, but more like moving to the next grade in LTS. Don't worry if you get a rebound, that was a big drop and rebound is to be expected. Patience, Grasshopper!

You might want to check, sooner and have some HC on hand.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

lol, I remember my first green, :lol:

this is good Michelle, no need to panic, easy on the fuds
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

What does fuds mean?? Sorry still learning all the lingo on here! Scrabble is quite hungry right now, I can't believe we got a greeen, we have been bouncing the last couple of days, hope this means we turned a corner!!!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

hahahaha didn't know if I was stupid or something, gonna retest @ +6, just giving him his normal morning meal but he seems more hungry than usual
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

Michelle -

Fingers crossed for you that this means a breakthrough for Scrabble! :smile:
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

+8 176 wow we are staying in blue today, can't believe it, come on liver start working! I just talked to my hubby and he said he noticed when he got home from work last night that Scrabble was really lethargic and tired and looked out of it, wonder if he dropped last night too? Wish I could be home all the time to check him but unfortunately work calls!!!!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

Great job, Michelle! GO SCRABBLE! It's a great feeling, that first green. :) Like others said, don't be surprised if he bounces tonight. All part of LTS!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

Very nice over here! Green is your friend.... you will learn to love it.
Am thinking that Scrabble likes this dose!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 eyes today pls!!!

Congrats on your first greet. Sadly, it does not mean that Scrabble has graduated from LTS. I wouldn't be surprised if he was back in the pinks or even reds by PMPS. Bouncing is all part of LTS.

You can probably take the "eyes please" out of your subject line.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 first green!!!

WHOO HOOO!! Great Green!! Congrats on your great day :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Blue is beautiful too!! Let's see what happens tonite!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 first green!!!

This is great. I think this means you've officially started LTS.

I think the bouncing can make them feel a little punky. The more time spent in lower numbers, the less bouncing should occur. Scrabble isn't used to it yet.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 first green!!!

(((Scrabble))) Congratulations on your 1st green!! Most definitely a memorable moment!! :mrgreen:

I have not noticed any bumps that you speak of... is Scrabble microchipped? Maybe it is that? Sometimes I feel Baby's microchip (but barely - it is so small).

P.S I LOVE Scrabble's name -- super cute!
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE AMPS 327 +5 97 first green!!!

pmps 384 wow what a crazy day, he is all over the map I guess, glad to see him get down today, will only be able to do a +3 before I leave for work, hope he doesn't dive bomb tonight! No Scrabble is not micro chipped, think he got a bump because he moved when I gave him the shot, was gone a few hours later, gonna shoot on other side though just in case.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384

You are doing great!! Dont let the high numbers affect you, it will go down, it's just a rebound from the green.
Hey, you got GREEN!!! :mrgreen:
Just monitor him tonite..OK? It will be fine.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384/+2.5 435????

+2.5 is 435 what???? so confused! Unfortunately I have to leave for work in about half an hour so I cannot see where he goes tonight! Should I try and get one more test in half an hour or will that make a difference?? Ugh, the day was so good too!!!!! :?
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2.5 435?? question?

Yeah, liver training school is full of nice greens and also ugly other colours... feels like 1 step forward 2 steps back, but it's really the other way around.
Don't be surprised if Scrabble's BG is high for the next few cycles, it's normal.
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2.5 435?? question?

but I just went through this on Sunday night??? he went low on Sunday then shot up for 3 days and went low today and then shot up again, I don't get it??? How do you know if you are giving him the correct dose?
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2.5 435?? question?

Michelle & Scrabble said:
How do you know if you are giving him the correct dose?

Remember lantus dosing is based on nadir BG, so by monitoring the BGs during the cycles, you can see how effective the dose is when the cat is not rebounding. If the dose give you an appropriate level, your dose is correct. You have to ignore the rebound cycles to a certain degree - we know that the rebound hormones last up to 3 days so - so the dose is based on action cycles.

Eventually, the body gets used to seeing and feeling normal Bgs again and Mr. Liver stops having a temtrum and the curve (yoyo) flatterns out.

Does that help a little?
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2.5 435?? question?

ever since I changed his dose on Sunday to 1.25 he keeps going lower and then rebounding. Sorry just trying to make sense of all this! Should I grab one more test before I leave or will a half an hour really make a difference?
 
Re: 02/25 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2.5 435?? question?

Ok thanks Sienne, he should be fine then while I am at work, do you think he will go up anymore or start to come back down? I don't like this liver training school!!!! I was so happy this morning now I am defeated and it sucks I have to go to work!!!
 
But at least Santa came by your house!

It's normal to feel frustrated, we've all been there believe me!!
Have fun at work and since it's save a strip cycle... no worries!
 
fret not! Scrabble is doing great - I can so relate to the frustration level, and the high bounces. It's normal... Mannie had a 65 at pmps +6 one night, only to test his amps at 582 followed by an unreadable. Don't feel defeated - it's all part of LTS. Soon enough he will be right on track.

BTW - he is such a cutie! Love his photo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top