2/27 Logan AMPS 344, +3 312, +6 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7497

We didn't take Logan in last night. Since it's an ER, we called ahead to see how busy they were and they were slammed. It was going to be several hours, they said, before they could get to him since we were just having blood drawn. And I'm at work today so we're going to try and take him this evening when I get home.

We're having computer issues so I was unable to post last night. His PMPS was 358 so he came back down a little. He got his stimulant last night so he ate really well.

This morning, his AMPS was much better than yesterday! He ate 1 1/4 cans. We increased him to 4.5 units last night. This morning, we did not give him the amoxicillin. We're going to see how he does w/o that in his system. DH2B is going to do a curve today to see if he's dropping or rising again.

Logan doesn't seem to feel bad aside from the food aversion. He gets on the couch with us and sleeps on the bed at night. He's even snuggled a little here and there. Last night, he even played with his kicking pillow...kicked the h*ll out of it and then grabbed me when I walked past him. So, we've seen some small improvements in his behavior, overall. One thing we've thought of is maybe the dry core is causing the rise? It's supposed to be low carb (think it was around 10%) but maybe he's more carb sensitive now. We usually sprinkle a few pieces on his wet food when he starts to slow down. It gets his attention and he'll usually finish the wet food. When the appy stimulant is wearing off, we end up increasing the amount of dry core he gets. I'll have to study his spreadsheet some more to see if I can see a correlation between the two.
 
Re: 2/27 Logan AMPS 344

It's good to hear that you're seeing some of Logan's usual behaviors. I hope that you can get the blood draw done today.
 
Re: 2/27 Logan AMPS 344

I think the dry Core might be doing it too...but there are so many things that are in the picture with Logan.
Well, glad you will be getting the blood work tonight....hope there isn't any new infection brewing ~~ but you vet wants to be sure to catch anything immediately. that's good...

Have you ever tried catnip on top of his food? If he doesn't like the freeze-dried chicken then i don't know what else to suggest that would entice him. Some people have had good results with Parmesean cheese....I have never tried that myself.
Hope you have a good day today Kelly...glad Logan is snuggling and showing good signs of his old self. :razz:

Don't forget the party tomorrow night...Raja said she would take a moonbeam over to pick him up so he won't be traveling all alone. She really will take good care of him at the party too...you know that everyone will be watching over dear Logan...it will be so good that he can just get out and howl with his good buddies! Par-TAY!!!!!! :lol:
 
Re: 2/27 Logan AMPS 344

So glad to hear that Logan seems to be more like himself :) Try the cheese idea - it may work :) I am lucky - so far Bayley just loves food and will eat anything.
 
Re: 2/27 Logan AMPS 344, +3 312

Not much of a change, but at least he didn't go up!!! DH2B said he's eating his snack now.

Can't try cheese...highly allergic! Just a microscopic piece will make him vomit...lots. :sad: He can't have milk/dairy or beef.

I'll try the catnip thing tonight. I've never seen him eat catnip, though. He just rolls around in it...hmmm....I just got a mental image of him rolling around in his food! The dogs will really love him then! :lol: Niam already cleans his mouth for him! That dog is weird, but he does love his kitty brother and vice versa. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/27 Logan AMPS 344

I think the dry core could be adding to the high numbers as well Kelly. I just experimented with foods with Alex. I have been trying to get him to eat Urinary S/O canned food because of some issues he has. On the food charts it's 4% carbs but every time I give it to him there's a rise. Take it away he drops...finally saw that the 4th ingredient is corn flour. I'm not SURE that's what is doing it but it seems likely so now I have to come to some kind of decision about what is more important....

I feel your pain and it is crummy :roll:
 
Re: 2/27 Logan AMPS 344

I like the catnip idea too. My kiddos eat it as well as roll in it. The image of Niam licking him all over... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I hate to suggest this if it already has been suggested or Logan can't eat it, but what about a tad of baby food on top of his food? Also, I've been using Forti Flora (nutritional supplement) sprinkled on top of food for one of ours who hates wet food. It works every time. You would have to buy at the vets. Again, sorry if already has been suggested...just catching up on condos today.

Good luck with the blood draw!
 
Seriously?! Why would he go back up at +6?! We're taking him as soon as I get home from work.

We've tried baby food - he'll eat chicken and turkey but it doesn't always help to mix it in or put it on top. His enthusiasm for it varies a great deal. He used to love fortiflora but will no longer touch it.

Guess we'll see what the bloodwork says this evening. Keeping my fingers crossed that nothing major is going on. Part of me wants them to find a reason, but the other part is scared of what that reason may be. :cry:
 
Kelly,
It`s much simpler to fight what you know than what you don`t know.
For all you know, it could be something simple and minor.
Knowledge is power. Always.

Come on Logan, let`s get you better now.
 
I'm glad you increased his dose and I'm glad you're going to the vet to have things checked out. Sending eating vines to Logan...
 
Hi Kelly
Sorry I did not catch you earlier in the day.
It's been kind of busy here with Max.
I really hope all goes well for Logan and the bloodwork.
It was nice to see that he was very playful this morning. I hope its continued during
the day.
Max is still hoping he can watch over Logan at the party tomorrow but he understands if he you
want him to stay home.
There are a few OTJ parties coming up this week so....just in case. We are ready.
Hugs for you and Logan that all is okay and godd luck with the dosecrease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top