7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.5~69

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179 +1.5~85 +2~64 +2.2~57 +2.5~52 +3~49 Ea

Wow. He is really taking to this TR protocol! He's eating low carb food - Wellness
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179 +1.5~85 +2~64 +2.2~57 +2.5~52 +3~49 Ea

Wow, Max is having an exciting week! I'll be around, but it looks like you're doing a great job managing these low numbers, Dale.

Max, feel free to surf the greens all day, buddy. Just don't get carried away, 49 is low enough.


Carl
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179 +2~64 +2.2~57 +2.5~52 +3~49 +3.25~56

Thank you, Carl! That's a great icon! He is really doing well. It's freaky! I'm stuck at home, but it's worth it.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179 +2~64 +2.2~57 +2.5~52 +3~49 +3.25~56

Nice number, go Max! Being stuck at home during daylight is much nicer than an all-nighter, so he's cooperating at least that much!

The icon comes from smileyjungle.com. Hundreds of them there, and I like that the water is green. I think there's a blue one too. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179 +2~64 +2.2~57 +2.5~52 +3~49 +3.25~56

And Mr. Max has earned another .25u dose reduction!!! So down to 2.25u tonight unless he bounces and you want to shoot once through the bounce :-D

Good luck with the reduction. :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179 +2~64 +3~49 +3.25~56 +3.5~64

Wow. Another reduction?! Do cats do this often? Reductions so close together?
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179 +2~64 +3~49 +3.25~56 +3.5~64

Reductions can be somewhat close together. You wouldn't take them back-to-back (i.e., one in the AM and another in the PM). It really depends. In some cases, what you're seeing is that the insulin depot is carrying over into a subsequent cycle and dropping the numbers. In Max's situation, with the reduced dose and likely fur shot, this is unlikely to be the action of the insulin depot.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.25~56+3.5~64+4~53

Ah, I see. Well, he's dropping again. Hope I don't have to use HC. I'll check again in 15.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.25~56+3.5~64+4~53+4.5~53

Go Max, go!

It's as if he woke up one day and decided, "That's it. I want to be green all the time!"

Very good stuff!

Suze
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47

Well, I think if he understood that the reason I stab him in the ear every 30 minutes is because he's Green he'd change his mind! He was at 47 just 15 minutes ago. I fed him LC food by spoon, and he ate a lot! Will check him again at 3:45. Four o'clock is +6.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47

I think that's why Pumbaa still bounces...'cause he knows I test him less when his numbers are higher! :roll:

I'm still waiting for him to bring me my car keys and lock me out of the house so I can't test him. *LOL*
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+5.75~51

Oh, boy! This is fantastic! Although, I have way too much time to surf eBay and Craigslist when I'm home all day. Emma and I need to go to the park. Hope Max starts rising. How long after eating are the numbers "not influenced by food," on average?
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+6.5~65

Yep, rising. Now let's see if it holds. That 47 was his nadir, I guess?
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+6.5~65+5.75~5

Each meter is different, but when the number appears to be falling it's falling for sure right? When you see a number that appears to be lower than the last number, it is lower in reality. You wouldn't see a 65 and then a 57, but the real numbers are not, say 60 and 71, right?
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+6.5~65+5.75~5

It's usually a couple hours for HC food/karo to wear off.

Looks like his nadir might be around +5.5. Remember that he might come back down towards PMPS.

Good job.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+6.5~65+5.75~5

From what I understand, each and every test can have a +/- 20% accuracy rate. Although I have to say that when I've tested blood from the same poke within seconds of the first test, the numbers are very close.

Max just doesn't want to come up from those middle greens so you can take Emma to the park, does he. :roll:
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+6.5~65+5.75~5

At +11 BG is 76. At +9 he was at 55, and he hasn't eaten since then.

I'm not sure I can shoot tonight. I only have 6 strips left. I used 17 strips today. I have to be somewhere at 9:30 in the morning, and his shot time is at 10. So my husband will have to shoot. It may be best for me to skip tonight. Even if he bounces, which is unlikely, 6 strips is not enough, I don't think.

I really hate to stall for more than 15 minutes because of the shot time getting later and later and +2 getting later and later. Besides, I don't think stalling would solve my lack of strips problem.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+6.5~65+5.75~5

Dale, when in doubt, and when low on test strips, not shooting is a very good idea.

That will give you the night off to get some sleep, as well. But don't forget that the shed is going to keep his numbers low like this, for a couple of cycles, so you still do want to make sure he's not in decline mode after what would have been his PM shot.

If I remember correctly, you are using the Relion. Can you or hubby run to Walmart in the morning when the pharmacy opens to get more strips? The pharmacy is likely already closed tonight, so those 6 strips are just going to have to last.

76 is at least a good number to indicate that he's on the rise, finally! I don't recall what you feed Max, but you might want to pick out one of the higher carbed varieties that you regularly feed him. I know that the food I give Pumbaa ranges from 4% to 7% carbs. So if you have anything closer to that 10%, and can get him to eat, that would be wonderful. Give his body something to use up that insulin on. Try to entice him with any low-carb high protein human food that he loves, like cooked chicken, fish, sardines, human tuna, etc. Just to get him to eat!

(((HUGS))) You're doing great!

Suze
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76

Thanks, Suze. I'm sure he'll be ready for dinner tonight. I feed him Wellness, but I don't have different food except for HC. I think it'll be okay. What a shame; it would have been nice to keep up this momentum. We'll get back to it. He has his head on my keyboard and his paw stretched out toward the screen. I keep bumping him as I type, but he won't move! He just wants to be close to me. Awwwww!
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+6.5~65+5.75~5

max&emmasmommie said:
At +11 BG is 76. At +9 he was at 55, and he hasn't eaten since then.

I'm not sure I can shoot tonight. I only have 6 strips left. I used 17 strips today. I have to be somewhere at 9:30 in the morning, and his shot time is at 10. So my husband will have to shoot. It may be best for me to skip tonight. Even if he bounces, which is unlikely, 6 strips is not enough, I don't think.

I really hate to stall for more than 15 minutes because of the shot time getting later and later and +2 getting later and later. Besides, I don't think stalling would solve my lack of strips problem.

It's always your choice if you want to skip, but your other options, if you don't want to lose ground, you can shoot BCS, 1/2 dose, or whatever amount you want... even a .5u would be a bit better than a skip...
How far have you pushed out the shot times at the moment? If you do skip, you can then shoot early in the morn to bring you back to your normal shot time. You can write off tonite's skip or a given .5u shot as if it were a fur shot, then get back on schedule in the morn and make up what you lost in numbers.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76

Dale, even with all the poking lately, Max loves you because of how good he feels due to your efforts!
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76

Hi Dale,
Sorry I didn't get back to this sooner. It's been a little hectic in Health tonight. Max wasn't the only kitty seeing low greens tonight it appears! What an awesome cycle Max had today! You could always go with the old BCS dose tonight if you really don't want to skip, but the rationing of test strips thing is a concern no matter what...

Carl
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76

Yes, a 0.5 would be better than a skip. I'll decide when I see his PmPs.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76

max&emmasmommie said:
Pmps is 62. Does anyone else think it's safe to shoot 0.5 units?

It is up to you but I would vote for nope, skip, because he's dropped from the last number on your ss.
I would say skip tonite, leave out high carb food, and save 3 of your 6 strips for morning, so you are able to get more strips before you need them.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76

Please do not forget the depot! Shooting a BCS is often more for the caregiver than the cat. It is extremely likely (especially with a full shed) that his cycle will play out the same way as if you shoot a full dose.

I'm not suggesting you skip, shoot a full dose, or shoot a BCS. I just don't want you to have a false sense of security that shooting a BCS will mean that his numbers will go up this cycle. Usually the effect is seen in the next cycle.

Will he bounce? Only Maxs liver knows. I know it's a rare cycle for me that I can make it through with less than three strips...just in the interest of safety. You'll have your PS, +2, and then one other spot check. That leaves you three strips for the morning.....just saying.

Eta: in case that isn't clear, I agree with Gayle that I don't think it's safe to shoot this number with six strips.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62

Oh, I have no intention of shooting a full dose, but I want to protect the shed. If shooting 0.5 or even 0.25 is better than nothing, I want to do it. I know I have to watch him carefully. He ate LC just now, but not as if he was starving. Then he peed. I checked for ketones just in case -- negative. I can give him HC no problem, but I'll wait until +2 unless he gets down in the 50s at +1. Do you all think I need to check him earlier?

I haven't given the 0.5 yet, but I suppose it doesn't matter if that is a 1/2 hour late as it is just for the shed.

As for the strips: The Wal-Mart I use is open 24 hours and the strips, I think, are out on the shelf all the time. You have to take the security box they are in to a particular register, and they open it for you. Sometimes they are out, and I have to ask the pharmacy for them, but it opens at 9. So I think I'll be okay as long as I don't shoot a full dose tonight.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62

Dale

That's what I'm trying to tell you....it doesn't matter what you shoot....if he's going to go low this cycle, he will do it whether you shoot a full dose or a BCS. If he's going to bounce, he will do it regardless of what you shoot. It can take up to six cycles to drain the depot....you could have low numbers tonight whether you shoot full dose or BCS.

If you want too shoot, I'd send someone out after strips and I'd shoot the full dose and get a +1 and +2. IMHO. But you hold the syringe :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62

Oh, I understand. Shot time is now 10:30 a.m. I'm saying that if I find that I need strips, I'll be able to get them. I understand that I can't change what is going to happen with his BG tonight. Live and learn. I should have ask my husband to get strips. He drove right past the dang Wal-Mart! I didn't realize how many I had used. If I have to go in the middle of the night, I will. I'll go at 8:30 a.m. otherwise, pick up the strips at 9, and come back by 9:30. My husband will be dealing with the morning. So, I gave Max only 0.5 tonight 1/2 hour late. If tonight's dose happens to affect the morning BG, there will be no panic.

I have 5 left now -- +1, +2 and if things start to go downhill, I'll run to the store while my husband feeds him HC food. Not an ideal situation, but I won't let this happen again.
 
Re: 7/30 Max Amps~179+2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62

Ok...you have to get that +1 and +2. I'd send someone out for strips now :-D :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Dale

I'm sorry but I can't stay up with you tonight. I have to be up and out really early tomorrow. I've asked Jane to check in on you so if you get low numbers, post, and she'll help you, ok?

Hope he surfs a nice, safe number for you tonight.
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Hi Dale, Jane here. Quite some excitement you've had!

Marje needs some well-earned sleepus, but I'm up and around now and I'll stick with you on this one - the sugargod (well, and maybe Max) only knows what loops we'll be thrown for on this ride :mrgreen:

Have you got extra test strips yet?
Jane
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Hi. I'm back and everything is ok. More in a minute.

EDITED: The freeway was closed because they are demolishing an overpass right where the Walmart is, and a sinkhole opened up on the other end near the ocean. It took me twice as long to get there and back. Then, the Walmart was completely out of strips for my meter -- no boxes of 100s 50s or 20s. So, I bought a new meter. I won't rant now about that. I needed a back up anyway.

Max was at 49 at +2. I gave him a teaspoon of HC, and I'll test him again at 1:00 a.m. He acts just fine.

Thank you, Jane, for taking over for Marje.

So, the new meter is all set up, and everything is sitting out if I need it. I'm sure I'll be fine, but I didn't realize when I started TR that he could go low like this if I skipped a shot. That's a jolt! I really thought that skipping a shot would make everything ok until tonight. Wow
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Dang, that would make a good script for a sitcom!
I'm hitting the hay soon, and Jane is here (I think in Health at the moment), but I wanted to at least stick around for you to get back from wallyworld.

Max, be easy on Mom tonight, k? Eat your extra carb treats and behave!

Carl
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

max&emmasmommie said:
Hi. I'm back and everything is ok. More in a minute. EDITED: The freeway was closed because they are demolishing an overpass right where the Walmart is, and a sinkhole opened up on the other end near the ocean. It took me twice as long to get there and back. Then, the Walmart was completely out of strips for my meter -- no boxes of 100s 50s or 20s. So, I bought a new meter. I won't rant now about that. I needed a back up anyway. Max was at 49 at +2. I gave him a teaspoon of HC, and I'll test him again at 1:00 a.m. He acts just fine. Thank you, Jane, for taking over for Marje.So, the new meter is all set up, and everything is sitting out if I need it. I'm sure I'll be fine, but I didn't realize when I started TR that he could go low like this if I skipped a shot. That's a jolt! I really thought that skipping a shot would make everything ok until tonight. Wow

Dale, you're welcome, I'm happy to help.

You were given some great info earlier on the cumulative nature of Lantus, due to its storage shed. As you've realized, it really makes you re-think expectations :smile: Skipping a shot, and other disruptions/change to dosage, can take several cycles to take an effect! That's why it's a very good thing you're here now, making sure Max is safe! (Incidentally, I noticed on your SS he's called Maximilin - is that right, or is it Maximilian?)

Could you post in (+ Hour) increments rather than times (like the 1:00a, you just mentioned)? We all have different timezones... I'm in South Africa, for instance :mrgreen:

So, (+2) was 49 and the next test will be?
Jane
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Hi, Jane,

The next test will be at +2.5 which is in two minutes. I'm all confused now that I gave the 0.5 1/2 hour after the normal PMPS, and I've been stalling and trying to backtrack, etc. It was a 49 before.

Oh, my, South Africa. What time is it there now?
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

max&emmasmommie said:
Hi, Jane, The next test will be at +2.5 which is in two minutes. I'm all confused now that I gave the 0.5 1/2 hour after the normal PMPS, and I've been stalling and trying to backtrack, etc. It was a 49 before. Oh, my, South Africa. What time is it there now?

It's 10am here :razz:

Not sure what you mean with the +0.5 being half an hour after normal PMPS? Maybe it would help if you did a bit of a list, as an overview, ok? Like, fill this in:

Last AMPS
(+1)
(+2) And so on, for whatever (+ Hour) tests you got.
Last PMPS
(+0.5)
(+1)
(+2) And so on, for whatever hours you tested, in sequence. Then we can sort it out from there.

Jane
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Tested at 68. Good.

I'm trying to figure out these numbers. The 49 was at 12:15 am which would have been +1.75. Then at 1:00 a.m we get 68 which is at +2.5.
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Let's see if I can get it:

30th July AMPS 179 --- Shot 2.5u
(+1.5) 85
(+2.25) 64 / 57
(+2.5) 52
(+3.25) 49 / 56
(+3.5) 64
(+4.5) 53 / 52
(+5.25) 47
(+5.75) 51
(+6.5) 54 / 65
(+7.75) 57
(+9) 55
(+11) 76 / 62
PMPS 74 --- Shot 0.5u
(+2) 49

All you need to do is make notes on where and when you stalled, i.e. how it shifted the (+ Hour) sequence. Hope that makes sense.
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Ok. Can you see my spreadsheet? What happened is that his BG was so low at the normal PMPS that I waited 1/2 an hour, and then I gave 0.5 units. Sorry I wasn't clear about what the 0.5 meant. It would take me forever to write out all the tests I've taken throughout the day as they were at bizarre times. I hope you can see the spreadsheet.
 
Re: 7/30 Max +2~64+3~49+3.5~64+5.25~47+11~76PMPS~62 & 74 +0.

Wow. You did that fast. We cross posted.

30th July AMPS 179 --- Shot 2.5u
(+1.5) 85
(+2.25) 64 / 57
(+2.5) 52
(+3.25) 49 / 56
(+3.5) 64
(+4.5) 53 / 52
(+5.25) 47
(+5.75) 51
(+6.5) 54 / 65
(+7.75) 57
(+9) 55
(+11) 76 / 62 (the 62 was when I stalled and got 74 when I tested 1/2 hour later)
PMPS 74 --- Shot 0.5u
(+1.75) 49
(+2.5) 68
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top