8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi), +2(433), +4(354);

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
8/1 condo

AMPS - 391
+6 -332
PMPS - Hi(500+)

Hi there! :) First of all, I changed my username from Sayania to Cindy & Pets, just to make it a bit easier to know my name. Figured I should inform everyone.

Second, my question is, since her nadir seems to be staying mostly over 300, should I up the dose from 2.5 to 3? Or should I only move it up to 2.75 because of that 247 she threw at me on the 31st? This morning marked the start of her 6th cycle.
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332); Dosing Q?

If you can be there to test her, I'd take her up to 3u after her sixth cycle(this morning) on 2.5u. If you can't keep a close eye on her with the increase, I'd take her to 2.75u. She's spent most of the time with fairly high nadirs.

Good luck!!
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332); Dosing Q?

I should be home to test her a bit more than pre-shot, +6, and the occasional other time the rest of this week. thanks. :)
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332);

Show me the yellow, Tip! Or you're going to get more juice. Happy Fursday, Cindy!
Liz
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

I'm hoping to see the yellow soon, but she tested as Hi(500+ on my meter) though tonight. ):
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

Well, drat! :-x :sad: As Marje suggested, I think you should increase to 3u tonight. Her pancreas just needs more support, that's all. Paws crossed for better numbers.
Liz
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

I did raise it to 3U. Indeed, I'm really hoping I won't need to increase the dose much more. At least her weight is stable and at its ideal. :)
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

We were a lot happier when we stopped worrying about the size of the dose. I now have the three bears philosophy of dosing. If the BGs are too high, she needs more insulin. If the BG goes too low, then she needs less insulin. Otherwise, the dose is just right. So look at the BG values, not the dosing value. Tip will get to better numbers, I am sure.
Liz
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

I think the increase to 3.0u made sense -- I agree with Marje.

I also agree with Liz. The dose is the dose your cat needs. It doesn't matter if it's 0.5u or 15u. If that's what it takes to get the numbers into a healthy range, that's what it takes. I know your goal is to keep Tip happy and healthy so who cares how much insulin that takes? Tip certainly doesn't care.
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

This is very true....I'll try not to look at the dose as much as I will just focus on getting her numbers down to a good level. :)

Also, I tested her and she came out as 433 at +2, does this mean I should be extra diligent with testing her, since isn't +2 supposed to be around pre-shot numbers, or is it still within the right variance?
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

Unless you know what "Hi" is on your meter, I can't answer your question. On some meters, "Hi" is above 500 and on others above 600. If it's 500, it's within meter variance. I'd still get a test at +4 if you can.
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

Alright, then it's within meter variance. Hi is above 500 on my meter. I'm half tempted to write a program to just calculate it for me....that way I don't have to keep asking if it's within meter variance. I should be able to get the +4 test.
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi);

+4 for 354, I'm not sure if I'll be able to get a +6 since I'm going to bed real soon. Should I just set my alarm for the +6 and then hope I wake up for it?
 
Re: 8/2 - Tip - AMPS(391) +6(332), PMPS(Hi), +2(433), +4(354

You're probably ok to not get a +6. Can you leave food out for Tip and will she eat it? Also, could you modify the subject line of the very first post with the additional readings that you have? Then the dosing experts can see the summary of Tip's cycle and whether you might need some help. Great job! Tip is heading in the right direction.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top