8/6 Orange AMPS 107, +4 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76452

Hi everyone! I wasn't thrilled to see a blue number this morning when I'm thinking of an OTJ trial, but its a low blue so maybe thats ok? I also noticed Orange didn't eat much of his food overnight - I'm not sure if that has something to do with it.

Anyway, I'm wondering what you guys think about attempting another OTJ trial?

I'm watching the kitties fight over a wadded piece of paper right now. Here's the play by play so far: they both run to it - Charlie gets there first and smothers it - Orange jumps on top of her - Charlie starts growling (it's my paper!) - Orange starts licking her head - and they're off running into another room! :-D

Have a good day everyone!
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

Julie:

These are my thoughts. A food trial of one day is not enough time to evaluate whether food is bringing numbers down. The food trial is our best way to see if Orange's pancreas is kicking in. In addition, you don't have many recent PM tests. I really struggle with helping people with their decisions if half of the data is missing. My thought would be to give it a couple more days where you can continue with a food trial but it's up to you. Let's see what some others have to say.
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

Hmmm.... food trials are going to be difficult during the week with my current work schedule. I can get a +3 in before I leave today.
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

That should be fine. If you can do the same in the evening, that will be great. I think we want to give Orange the best possible chance at success this time. In fact, I would even suggest practicing to see if your can shoot a "fat 0" dose. If you can reliably measure it, I'd try Orange on that dose for a week.
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

Hi Julie! What a pretty sea of green in your AM-cycles there on that SS of yours. Very nice :smile:

Because you've had to abort the previous OTJ-trial (and from your SS remarks I can't see whether that was anything other than Orange just being not quite ready... Was there anything else that you could pinpoint?) I'd probably be extra-cautious about starting the second one. Especially if there's nothing you could pick out that looks like it was a specific cause for the previous trial not working out.

I'm not sure what your work schedule is like - could you try getting some more PM-cycle data as Sienne suggests? I think it's a good idea to have more data to help you (and everyone else) assess where you stand regarding your next trial. What do you think?

Jane
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

A fat zero would be more than I give him right now, right?

All I do right now is push the plunger in, insert the needle into the insulin pen and let go. I don't pull the plunger back at all, so he just the tiny drop that is in the needle.
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

Julie & Orange said:
A fat zero would be more than I give him right now, right?

All I do right now is push the plunger in, insert the needle into the insulin pen and let go. I don't pull the plunger back at all, so he just the tiny drop that is in the needle.
Yes, I think you're right Julie. That's about as low of a dose as you can go, except waving the vial in front of him :lol:
Hopefully, you can get some food tests in, and some PM cycle tests in.
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

Ok, I should be able to at least get some PM +2s. Also, I should be home again all day next weekend and can do more food trials then.
 
Re: 8/6 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try an OTJ trial again?

Oh. I interpreted a "drop" as more than a fat 0 -- thanks for clarifying.

I would get any PM tests that you can. If you can reliably get a +2, that's good. If you happen to wake up during the night for some reason, grab a test. Let's give this a few more days and see if the response to food is telling us that Orange is ready.
 
I ended up getting a +4, not the +3. +4 = 58 :mrgreen:

Jane - there's only one thing that I can think of that may have influcened the previous trial, but I really don't think it did. His number's really started going higher on day 4, and on that same day was the day I left for a work conference for a few days. DH was still home and taking care of him, so he still had his normal routine. Orange isn't super attached to me either (he loves everybody!) so I'm sure he wasn't all that stressed that I wasn't here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top