8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

phedre

Member Since 2012
8/6

I moved up his curve to today because of how Salem's been acting - fine one minute, hiding the next. Something's definitely bothering him.

Today will be his first curve, and tomorrow we bring the results to the vet. We're still doing some syringe feeding, though he ate a bit this morning on his own. His numbers are amazing right now, so that makes me happy! I'll be taking his blood every 2h today until 6PM.

He's in his "I'm not interested in food" phase again now, won't even take a treat, though he did eat a few this morning. He also had about 20ccs of Purina canned to supplement the 1/4 can of Friskies he had.

He tested negative for ketones again on Monday, so that's good :)

Is it possible that what I'm seeing is the effects of the Lantus finally taking hold? After days in the black, for him to be blue makes me very happy. Is this a normal trend?
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +2 192.6 - first curve today

Please, please, please -- get a PMPS test and start getting at least one PM cycle test. You're shooting blind. You don't have any idea how dangerous that can be. You also haven't a clue where Salem's numbers were overnight. He could have been at 20 especially since it's looking like numbers are going up. It is entirely possible for a cat to have a pre-shot test in the 400s, drop to the 40s and be back in the 400s by the next shot time. Based on the pre-shot numbers you might be inclined to increase the dose. Based on the nadir, you'd reduce the dose.

I'd ask your vet about sending blood out for a spec fPL. This is the definitive test for pancreatitis. (The blood goes to IDEXX labs.) It's entirely possible that Salem has pancreatitis. This is painful (and you should ask for a pain med such as buprenorphine) and may be why Salem is hiding and not interested in food. If the vet suggests Metacam (meloxicam), please be advised that this pain med has an FDA black box warning (that's as strong a warning as it gets short of the drug being pulled off the market) due to it's causing renal failure in cats.
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +2 192.6 - first curve today, questi

That is great to see those blues! Woohoo! You absolutely should follow Sienne's advice to always gea pre-shot test and a mid-cycle test. Insulin is a powerful hormone and Salem's safety is the first priority. You are doing a great job, Phedre, especially with the syringe feeding. That is hard. Hugs to you.
Liz
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +4 154.8 - first curve today, questi

His numbers are coming down a bit, and he went over to his food bowl for a few nibbles. That made me happy! Hopefully he'll get an all clear from the vet tomorrow. I'll mention everything to her that's been said here.
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +4 154.8 - first curve today, questi

Hi guys .. numbers are looking good and I'm glad salem is eating some more, but I have to totally agree with Sienne, shooting blind is one of the most dangerous ways of handling feline diabetes .. I hope you understand we are all here, just trying to help you guys out ...
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +4 154.8 - first curve today, questi

Congratulations starting your first curve! Salem's numbers are looking good. I am still fairly new to this, I have done a few Lantus curves and they have been fairly steady throughout the cycle, no huge swings. As I understand it Lantus works slow and steady so typically get curves that are flattened out. The experienced folks have already advised you to test before you shoot. We were shooting blind before we started home testing and that was definitely easier but not better. Preshot testing adds a few minutes to the routine but I have found it gives us more confidence we know what's going on and what we might expect for the day.

Don't forget to give yourself a treat when you complete the curve, and at interim points as needed :smile: .
I will check back later to see how its going.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

6h in, and he's at a perfect 61.2. He's eating, interested in treats, and social. These are all good signs! I caught him munching at his food dish at about 12, so he's doing all the right things. He's now lying on the sofa next to me cleaning himself after his 12:30 blood test.
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

I also told her no metacamm for any of my cats. Henry just had his dental and three extractions and I reminded them no metacamm. You can never be too safe. A lot of cats go into acute renal failure on just a tiny one time dose. Carolyn posts reminders about her experience with Latte. I would also do the Spec flp test - not the snap one they do in house. The one they send away. He is showing signs of having pancreatitis including the lack of eating on his own. Pancreatitis is extremely painful and cats hide it very well.
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

Also I've been an active participant on a forum dedicated to feline assisted feeding for four years. Cats do eat when they are feeling better. Food aversion happens when an appetite stimulant is added to the mix. Or when nausea and vomiting aren't addressed. Keep hanging in there. You are doing a great job.
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

Keep up the good work, Phedre. People have told us that AMPS & PMPS shots are mandatory. Also helpful are: +3, +6, and +9, if you can get them. Sort of difficult with work so at times that will be impossible, but I think doing the curves and more frequent testing has certainly helped us at least to know where Charlie is standing. We haven't figured this all out yet either. Just know that there are a lot of good people on this board willing to help you out if you need it.

Hang in there guys!
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

At 2:30 he's at a 79.2. He's doing a nice curve! AND he's interested in treats and food. I caught him nibbling at his canned food again!
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

Alright Salem, curving agrees with you! Nice work Phedre, your first curve is going great! I dont see any PM dose on your sheet since Friday pm? Soon you will see where Salem's bg is after 12 hours and how he got there.

If you have not already done, consider taking your meter to your vet for direct comparison with the vet numbers. Our meter reads lower than vet numbers from the same blood drop, that calibration can be useful when you need to contact them about numbers. Our vet required taking our cat in to do the meter comparison test, I thought a human sample would be ok to compare meters but our vet was unwilling to accept that.

Leslie
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

Woooohoooo. Great job getting in another test. You'll be an ear lancing pro in no time. I used polysporin on Maverick's ears often in the first few weeks and during poke fests when he went lowish. Maverick wasn't a diver like some cats. Not a lot of polysporin - its not good for them if they groom it off. Just a little to soothe. Once Salem starts feeling better I bet he'll go down the dosing ladder.

images
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

At +10, he's at 198. A bit higher than I'd like, but definitely a huge improvement over his black numbers! He's still out, purring, and eating treats. I got his last sample on the first try, which made me happy.

Now that he's eating again, I'm feeding him treats before and after his blood sample. He purred right through this one :)
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

PMPS: 336. He got his standard 1u, and is eating happily.
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

He purred through a poke?!!! That is amazing! It took MONTHS before Zener ever did that. Great job!
Liz
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

Great job on your curve! If you can keep going a PM + 2 will help you see how the dose overlap goes for Salem.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

PM+2 is 325. Lower than PS, but higher than all day today.

And yes he purred through a poke :) He's a pretty damn good cat.
 
Re: 8/8 Salem AMPS 153, +6 61.2 - first curve today, questio

Great job with the first curve, Phedre! Very well done! And thanks for taking the advice about pre-shots on board - I'm so glad to read that :smile:
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top