8/13 Maggie PMPS 220; +3 199

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76942

Yesterday
AMPS 196
+4 163
+7 150
PMPS 221
+3 192

Morning ~O) ~O) I'm baffled as to why Maggie would be having these numbers on a drop increase, this being the 5th cycle. She did better on the two drops. I'm thinking two things, possibly I need a new vial or my strips could be affected by the heat? I have A/C, but it'a just a wall inserted type A/C, not central and I don't have it on 24/7! Another experiment is to give her a dose of Lactulose after her +3 or +4 poke. I've been doing the T/S/F and then waiting an hour or so to give her the med. We're gradually cutting back and hopefully getting Mags on a Miralax maintenance. All other things seem well with Maggie, good appy, cuddles with me when waking up, No Prezzies today for Inspector Poo's daily log, but that was to be expected with yesterday's nice prezzie deposit! :-D Mags gave a huge pee clump, so that's good as it shows she's drinking water. Another hot, humid one for us, and t's already 73 degrees at 5 am! I caught the closing ceremonies early this am as NBC did a repeat. I completely forgot about it and slept off and on all day yesterday. Lack of sleep must have caught up with me! Wishing everyone a nice day. Healing vines to all sick kitties.
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196

Trix is doing the same thing...working her way back up the dosing ladder, after doing so well with holding all those reductions in early July. Their pancreases must be getting a little tired this month, for whatever reason.

All I know, is trying to figure out the "why" just doesn't seem to work :roll: !


Have a great day, Ann!
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134

+3 134

Well, I think my strips and insulin are still okay. This is not bad for her +3 and hope she keeps a nice surf!

Amy, you're right, trying to figure out the "why" makes us crazy! :roll: Good luck with your fatten dose.
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134

so agreed on the trying to figure out why. I gave up. Mannie does not follow the norm on anything... :roll: :? ;-) Could be the heat with Maggie, could be anything. Looks like the vial is OK, she came down nicely for that +3. Maybe she just needs more time to adjust to the new dose. I now with Mannie it can be several days before he gets on board with any change. Could be too that it is the Lactulose. Is she running higher since you started using that? I hope she finds the greens again for you soon.

Enjoy your day today - I hope it is a good one. Maggie - nice poo report for yesterday!
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134

Yes, accept & treat according to the protocol can make our life easier. I always think if it's a friends' cat, I can do better.
This constant analysing & trying to reason drives us crazy. Relax Ann, Ive came to accept they do go up & down that dosing ladder. Canbe the hot weather, they are sensitive. Take Rosy, she is much better after this dose increase. No more wonky curve & wonky numbers but God knows if she'll hold. As long as she's acting normal, all the P's there,it's fine.
Come down Maggie, maybe some green today?
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

+4 110
Glad my juice and strips are okay. Three drops seems to be what Maggie needs right now.

Hi Michelle, it does seem that the Lactulose is what was causing the rise, as I've not yet given and will give in the middle of the day. I guess it is better for Mags to have the Lactulose/ bm, and we can always deal with the higher than norm numbers. Thanks on her nice poo report yesterday! :-D
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

Yes, accept & treat according to the protocol can make our life easier. I always think if it's a friends' cat, I can do better.
This constant analysing & trying to reason drives us crazy. Relax Ann, Ive came to accept they do go up & down that dosing ladder
.

Thank you, Helen, very much for that and you are totally right on the accept and treat accordingly. :-D It can drive us crazy analyzing it! It looks like Mag was reading her condo, as almost green. I'll be happy with a low blue surf, too.
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

Hi guys ... its nice knowing your strips and insulin are still ok .. she's looking good at that +4 .. who knows, maybe she just needed a little longer on this dose to settle into it .. crazy cats, always keeping us on our toes! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

Is there any sugar in the Lactulose? Or any carbs? Those products always seem to have sugar/carbs in them somewhere.
Liz
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

Hi Ann. Maggie's coming down nicely. I know we all love green, but blue is nice and healthy numbers too.
Checks is another one who takes a bit of time to adjust to a new dose, and I too, drive myself crazy trying to analyze the 'why and what-can-I do's"
Your strips and insulin are good, so Miss Mags will come down when she feels like it.
Easy for me to say, huh? :-D
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

Hi Ann, Maggie is looking better this cycle, it could be NDW still. Tess used to go 10 or 12 cycles before suddenly settling in, she would always push it just to point I threatened a dosecrease! :? Tess often skips a day in the LB too. For some cats it's just their regular cycle.

Hey, Mags! WE got the same dose now! Let's get together and show the boys how to surf! -- Tess
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

Thanks Devon, for your visit. And yes, I'm glad the strips and insulin are okay. Heat, too could be a factor.

Hi Liz, yes there is some sugar in the Lactulose, and I have something filed from JoJo on how it affects the cat's glucose. Carolyn & Latte postd it in one of my condos when I first started the Lactulose. I'll try and locate it some time for you. It didn't seem to spike it at first, but I'm experimenting on different times to give it to her and also I'm slowly adding Miralax and cutting back on the Lactulose.

Barb & Checkers, you're right, Mags will get with it when she fees like it! :-D We can't rush Maggie. She's a laid back kitty.

Ann & Tess, yes could be she's just settling in on this dose or the NDW thing. She's feeling good, so it's what's important.

Tess, let's go show them how it's done, Mags :-D
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

Ann, I have long given up trying to figure out why Moonie's numbers change...I have tried it all, & I know what numbers make her feel really good-75-150 BG is when Moonie is feeling good..So any numbers up or down from those is OK with me without getting yellow.--Moonie is a long term diabetic and I go for safety & her comfort, rather than trying to keep her green all the time--She is on 2 drops like Mags, and if I add to that I feel she will plummet! Because that's what Moonie does to me!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
So No worries Girls you are both doing great!!! Hugs & love from us!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110

It'll just just give us even more gray hair trying to figure them out! ohmygod_smile I think the oldtimers, especially the ones on the very small doses, have pancreases that are working a little but not consistently. We just need to watch and give them the help they need by adjusting their doses. At least Maggie does here variations slowly, unlike a few kitties I could mention!
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110; +8 179

+8 179

This is food inflated, as I left her food while gone, and Mags will eat if running low. She mostly inhaled the top part where I placed some freeze dried chicken

Hi Roni, sorry I didn't see you up there when I was replying to everyone. I think Maggie also feels better at those same numbers as Moonie. Anything below 80 she starts feeling sluggish/lethargic. Maggie is one up on Moonie with three drops. I ran out and did some errands and it's very humid, hot weather today. This place where I'm living is more inland, so warmer than along the coast.
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110; +8 179; PMPS 220

PMPS 220

We are back up in yellow, but usually Maggie's AMPS and PMPS numbers are similar. I had a reading of 300 earlier but think it was a wonky number. Do any of you notice with the Confirm if you don't get enough blood on the strip, you get a wonky number. I've had this happen several times. I know this was so with the AlphaTrak, but usually the Relion and Confirm both take the tiniest drop blood.
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110; +8 179; PMPS 220

Oh Maggie, yellow just isn't your colour. I really hope she settles into this new dose soon and comes down for you. I'm with everyone else, we'll drive ourselves crazy trying to figure our kitties out!

Have a great evening ladies.
 
Re: 8/13 Maggie AMPS 196; +3 134; +4 110; +8 179; PMPS 220

Thanks Tracy, I sure hope so, too, she settles into this dose. I just got a surprise; I noticed she was digging in the lb and she did a couple nice size prezzies two days in a row. I've gradually been adding Miralax and decreasing lactulose, so she won't need any lactulose today.
I've got to let Inspector Poo know.
________________________________
I told Liz earlier I would look up this post from JoJo on how Lactulose affects a kitty's bg. Carolyn & Latte posted it in my July 24 condo:

Re: 7/24 Maggie AMPS 130 +3 101 +5 112 +6 134 Advice/though
by carolynandlatte » Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:37 am

Here, I found JoJo's explanation regarding Lactulose on the other board. I never understood why, so now I know! :

the "sugar" in lactulose does not enter the cat's blood stream changing BG. laxatone however is a different story. not a product that you want to give a diabetic cat.
miralax is an acceptable substitute. usual dosing is to start at 1/8 teaspoon and more up as needed.
don't forget to add extra water to food, osmotic laxatives can be dehydrating.
and another explanation:

Lactulose is a disaccharide, two separate sugars, combination of the simple sugars galactose and fructose.

Lactulose is not absorbed from the intestinal tract into the blood. Instead, it passes unchanged to the large intestine (the colon).

In the colon it is broken down into acids, the acids draw water into the colon, softening the stool and increasing the volume.

This is why it's always mentioned to increase your cats water intake because the absorption into the colon takes water away from other organs.
 
+3 199

Not much movement, but we did make it down to blue. Lately her Nadir is more like at +6!
I guess Mags wants me to get some sleepus tonight.
 
Hi Ann & Maggie,
I'm sorry you're having un-Maggie-like numbers. It happens (Rusty is in the same boat at present). There are just too many variables. I like Roni's advice, and Ann's too. Roll with the punches!! But I also know that I hate to have to roll with the punches!!!

Hope your weather cools off soon,

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Ann,

It looks like Maggie is doing some blue surfing. Racci always takes a few days to settle into a new dose. Just give it a couple of days and see what happens. The Miralax worked it's magic again I see. Once she gets her bowels regulated, her bg will be better too.

I have to get ready for Racci's shot so talk to you later.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top