8/23 Rusty PMPS 93, +4 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77626

Good Morning, Everyone,

We are sending extra-strong healing vines to Marje today. Edward's advice for recovery after having had a similar malade last month: eat yogurt with bio-cultures and drink Gatorade! Don't let the electrolytes get out-of-whack!

Rusty had a good night. He polished off his nighttime food at some point. This morning we have a better number than any in the the last 5 days, so maybe he has cleared his bounce. The shot with the Terumo syringe this morning, however, was not very good. Despite taking care to follow all of Marje's instructions with regard to the TTs ("Tricky Terumos"), a drop of insulin leaked out while the syringe was being withdrawn. Hopefully most got in. I have to figure out how to keep holding Rusty's long hair out of the way with my left hand while trying to switch my right hand on the syringe from the barrel to the plunger. Multitasking! :lol:

Wishing you all a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145

Nice start for Rusty! Good luck with the new syringes. Sounds like a trick but you will master it soon. Have a great day Ella!
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145

Morning Ella, nice blue for the start of Rusty's day. Sounds like you are getting a handle on the syringes and calipers and multitasking the shot! :-D Thanks for the tip on the yogurt for Mags; she loves yogurt, too! Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145

Morning! good luck with that multi-tasking! :-D :lol: You can do it! I have no doubt!!

It is a nice start for Rusty today - a good blue. I do hope that he can find the lagoon today - it misses it's master. :-D :-D

Enjoy your day today. Out and about?
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145

Have you tried Marje's rolling method instead of tenting?
I find it works 90% of time. You basically grab some hair and roll your wrist back til you see the skin and shoot.
It is hard to get the last drop in there , I just push the plunger a couple extra times and it is what it is.


Nice blue start. Rusty, come on down. You can splash in the green.
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145, +5.5 143

Thanks, Rhiannon, Because Rusty has such long hair, I have to shoot in the scruff and it is much easier to see skin if I pull up on the hair and don't roll it over my finger. There is an awful lot of hair on this kitty!

Rusty doesn't seem to want to move his bg number much again today. His "normal" cycles are nowhere in evidence. A few more cycles on the present dose as measured on the Terumos (2.22mm on the caliper) and then I am taking him up a drop--to about 2.35mm. We are now into cycle 4.

bbl, got to go shopping, do laundry, etc.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145, +5.5 143

Nice and flat there, Rusty. That means business tonight! Good luck w/ the TTs :lol: :lol: Love the nickname! I always hold the needle in for at least a count of 10, release pressure and push again, befroe I withdaraw the needle.
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145, +5.5 143

Pretty nice numbers Rusty considering the tricky terumos:) Multi-tasking is hard stuff sometimes! Hope you have a better shot this evening:)
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145, +5.5 143

Good luck on the multi-tasking tonight. I'm sure you'll have it figured out in no time.
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145, +5.5 143, +9 107, PMPS 93

Hi again,
The shot went pretty well tonight, except that Rusty insisted on having it in the "mud room" (he wanted to go outside again). I didn't have a great angle, but my practice sessions in holding the syringe helped with the shot itself. Judging from the fact that he came down steadily today, I guess this morning's shot mostly went in. Had another small drop on the needle when I pulled the syringe out this evening.

Rusty had a lot of good outdoor time today. It was a beautiful late-summer day. After shopping and chores, I got out on my old Mt. bike for a short ride around a pond and home. This morning I had a great workout on the new rowing machine. This machine will be a godsend this winter!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145, +5.5 143, +9 107, PMPS 93

Hi Ella,

Thank you so much for visiting us yesterday with your supportive and encouraging words - and the great idea about a fountain! We`re going to look for one and hope he takes to it. Reuben is relaxing nicely on the bupe today, yeay! The vet did what we needed him to do about prescriptions, and he also seems genuinely interested in helping us - so we were encouraged!

I`m sending you 'shooting success' thoughts, I hope it goes super well tonight!

Thanks again Ella for being there for us!

Alexa & Rueben
 
Re: 8/23 Rusty AMPS 145, +5.5 143, +9 107, PMPS 93

HI Ella
I'm glad the shot went well tonight. Rusty must sit still long enough for you to make sure you get the shot in. Checkers moves so quickly, I have to get in and out, before he knows it's in. I'm always afraid, the needle is going to break off when he moves.
I also grab hair, and lift. Wish I had time to wet the hair a bit,to get it out of the way. It's short, but thick in the scruff.

Here's hoping to see more of that wonderful green tomorrow. Tonight's for sleep. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top