8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +9 88 +11 86 +12 75 Need shoot help now!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
After our wild ride the last 24 hours (hypo/bounce/dose reduction), Leo has a low AMPS value, and the lowest I've ever shot. I shot his new lower dose (2.25) about 90 minutes ago. I realize I'll have to be around all day today. Recommendations on when to test? His nadir's have been around +5. (+2,+5,+8?)

I'm a little concerned about another hypo so I am ready. I'm inexperienced and I don't know how he might behave after a hypo and bounce to have an idea what might happen. Could someone take a look at his SS and hazard a guess?

Update - +2 is 64 ... I do I give small bite HC food? I suspect he will keep going down.
Update - at +2 + 10 minutes I gave a about 1 teaspoon of FF Gravy Lovers. He's not hypo yet but at only +2 shouldn't I put the brakes on things?

Thanks - Lisa

Yesterday's adventure: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77778

(edited with food update, edited with condo link fixed]
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 Hypo Advice!!!

Hi Lisa

Your link doesn't work - here is Leo's 24th August Condo.

I am wondering why you didn't go back down to the 2.0u dose, as was discussed in yesterday's condo?

You can feed that (+2) with some LC, no need for HC quite yet. Get a (+3) and report back, ok?
Jane
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 Hypo Advice!!!

A bit of clarification may help. Unless Leo is experiencing symptoms of hypoglycemia, this is not a hypoglycemic event. These are normal numbers. They may be lower than what you're used to but this is a good thing!

This is a reference post that it may be useful for you to print out on handling low numbers. The post is also in the starred, sticky note on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.

I would first try feeding some medium carb food and re-testing in 20 - 30 min. If you don't have food that's in the 10 - 15% range, mix some high carb gravy with Leo's low carb food together.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 Potential Hypo Advice!!!

I shot 2.25 because the vet agreed with the protocol to go down 0.25 - there were conflicting comments yesterday so I did the protocol. I don't mean to disrespect anyone with the dose I did so please don't take it like I don't trust you or anything, ok? You all are great.

I know it's not hypo yet - I'm wondering about if/how to put on the brakes to avoid it since it's at +2 and don't want another bounce! Am reading the links now. I missed the advice about MC and gave a little HC.

I'll test at +3.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 Potential Hypo Advice!!!

Okay, I apologize ... it looks like the recommendation was to go to 2.0. We were talking about earning .25 drops and if I should have shot 2.5 or 2.25 yesterday, and I must have gotten mixed up and thought the conclusion was 2.25 for his new dose. My fault. As this goes on today, I would like your thoughts on what tonight's dose should be, and I WILL try to keep it straight in my mind!
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Summary
AMPS 192
+2 64
+2.5 49

More food? I would like another tsp of HC
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 Potential Hypo Advice!!!

No worries about the food. You can (try) to slow things down with food -- either LC, MC, or HC depending on where in the cycle you are and how carb sensitive Leo may be. I also wouldn't be overly concerned with bounces. Especially early in the process of getting your cat regulated, bounces are normal. In fact they let you know that Leo's liver is working the way it should. A bounce is a protective mechanism.

One thought is to spread Leo's food out a bit. Rather than feeding a full can at AMPS, you can split the can up into smaller meals. This is a strategy that can help to slow things down and help to not overwhelm his pancreas. It looks like you're not home at least some days during the AM cycle. If that's the case, you may want to consider an automatic feeder.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 Potential Hypo Advice!!!

Sienne - thanks for saying bounces are good! Ack, at least his liver is good, if not twitchy about all this :smile:

I put another 1 tsp of HC in him and will do a +3.

Spreading food out is a challenge. We both work. I made meatsicles and put the equivalent of a can out with his 1 can FF at breakfast, and it takes them a couple hours to start melting. I am thinking an automatic feeder is a good idea. If his nadir is around +5, what would a good feeding schedule look like? He eats about 2/3 of a can right away, then grazes. I thought it was good to get a nice chunk of food in him with the injection so digestion coincides with the insulin peak...do I misunderstand the timing? ( I read anything from "feed 2 times a day only with the injections" to "free range in little meals all day.") Is this another ECID?
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Hi Lisa and Leo. The good news in all this is that it looks like you're getting real close to finding the right dose for awhile. Looking at the SS, you're at LEAST heading in the right direction from all reds to blues and greens.

Low numbers scare the heck out of us too. We started Charlie on insulin in June so this is all quite new to us as well. Hang in there and I'm sure you'll take it step by step and do the right thing. Sometimes in a stressful moment, it's hard to absorb everything. You'll pick up on things little by little as the days progress, and be less stressed and thus better able to respond quickly to advice given on the board. It happens to us too sometimes that we miss a comment or get overwhelmed by articles, new information, etc.

Just take it in stride and know that we're all out here rooting for you guys. You'll get there. Take it one baby step at a time. That's what we keep telling ourselves.
Hope soon you'll get out of the green zone, but definitely it's a sign that your cat is responding to the insulin so that's a good thing. It just needs to be managed. With more data, that'll become easier.

All the best to you guys from us in Amsterdam,
Jill
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

New reading +3 65 --- heading up!

Summary
AMPS 192
+2 64
+2.5 49
+3 65

I didn't give him any more food. I will go back and read the documents, but I'm guessing at this very moment that he's heading out of potential danger zone, and I don't want to give anything else to make it zoom up faster, and I'll keep testing.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Hi Lisa

A few things. You can see from the drop to sub-50 that it would have been good to go with the advice you were given to reduce to 2.0u - for the future, it's a good idea to review the previous day's condo before posting the new condo and, obviously, before shooting, ok?

Also, Sienne just rightly pointed out that bounces are NORMAL. Not "good" as such. Another really good reason to review advice given in the previous condo - the more carefully you respond to where your cat takes you, the better you'll be able to gain control :smile:

You also ask about tonight's dose. Again - with the sub-50 dip, from the dose you shot (2.25u) protocol requires you to reduce to 2.0u. Keep in mind that Lantus needs consistent shooting to work properly - 3 to 5 days per new dose.

It's great that you're committed to treating your kitty, and you'll have lots of help here. Please review the advice given in the last condo AND in this one, and then post any questions you still have, ok?

Jane
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

charliesmom said:
Hi Lisa and Leo.

Low numbers scare the heck out of us too. We started Charlie on insulin in June so this is all quite new to us as well. Hang in there and I'm sure you'll take it step by step and do the right thing. Sometimes in a stressful moment, it's hard to absorb everything. You'll pick up on things little by little as the days progress, and be less stressed and thus better able to respond quickly to advice given on the board. It happens to us too sometimes that we miss a comment or get overwhelmed by articles, new information, etc.

Just take it in stride and know that we're all out here rooting for you guys. You'll get there. Take it one baby step at a time. That's what we keep telling ourselves.

Jill - thank you so much for the kind words (**watering up**). I'm trying not to be knee-jerk stressed about this. I know I'm learning so much and It's good to hear it gets easier, from someone newly in these shoes too.

I'm overwhelmed at how supportive and knowledgeable everyone here is - Leo (and I) are very lucky to have found you all. (Now back to my assigned reading! :) )
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

HI Lisa.....I'm by no means, an advice giver. Just wanted to welcome you to the board.
Yes, it does get easier...you'll be a pro at this, before you know it. :-D


Barb
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Hi Lisa -

Just wanted to stop in & say hi. The first weeks ARE the hardest - and it really does get easier - I promise! My biggest challenge was (and still can be after 8 months) getting Grayson to bleed! He never wanted to give up much blood, my first meter required twice as much as my current one does, and because of another condition, his ears have become thick like shoe leather. But we adapt as we need to.

Best wisdom I can share with you is this: 1) read (but don't overwhelm yourself!); 2) breathe; and 3) absorb all the great advice you get from everyone, here and your vet, then make the best informed decision you can. If things don't work well, then re-evaluate, regroup, and move forward. We've all been in your shoes - and we can only do our best - that's what our kitties expect from us!

Good luck!

Lu-Ann
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 Potential Hypo

Hi Lu-Ann and Barb
Thanks for the welcome and your kind words. I'm sure I sound like every newbie who's joined! :smile:

Leo bleeds once I get his ears going with the sock of warmed rice. His right ear is no problem but his left ear doesn't like to give up blood. So I draw more often from the right than the left, but I'm trying to warm it longer to get it on the program! My husband and I were absolute disasters the first couple days trying to get blood - we used the lancet device that came with the meter, and it was horrible. Leo's ears were so bruised and we felt so guilty. We couldn't aim the device well (it was large) he didn't like the sound, and I tried it by hand. By hand is SO much easier and less stress for Leo.

LIsa
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Hi Lisa,
One of the things that the "handling low numbers" sticky warns about is "don't be complacent" when you are dealing with bringing up low numbers with food. Leo might go up to 65, but he also may drop again, especially when the lows take place early in the cycle. You will want to keep testing every 30 minutes until you are sure he keeps rising, hopefully without more food.
Carl
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

I prefer the hand held lance myself. I never could get the hang of the lancing device.

I would test again in a few minutes, I guess around your +4, to see how he's doing. The HC can wear off, and he can still drop.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Hi Lisa

You asked for dosing feedback. Did you see my post? (Just asking since it seems you missed the advice from yesterday's condo, given the dose you gave today.)

Carl makes a very good point. You want to see at least 2 rising numbers into safe ranges. Can you get a (+3), or if you're past that already, a (+3.5)?
Jane
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Jane said:
Hi Lisa

You also ask about tonight's dose. Again - with the sub-50 dip, from the dose you shot (2.25u) protocol requires you to reduce to 2.0u. Keep in mind that Lantus needs consistent shooting to work properly - 3 to 5 days per new dose.

Jane

Points well taken. I've reviewed the Condos, the protocol and most of the references mentioned here. I have 2 questions.
1) I understand Leo had low values on 2.5u and 2.25u. So it was recommended he go to 2.0u next cycle. I'm confused with the protocol. It suggests shaving if reductions are close together. Should something between 2.25u and 2.0u be considered?

Reducing the dose: If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

2) You said Lantus needs 3-5 days per new dose. Also that Leo earned 2 dose decreases. So I will shoot something lower than 2.25u tonight. So assuming tonight is 2.0u, then he stays on 2.0 for at least 3 days to see what happens? I'm asking because he merited an increase last week, and it seems we just increased it too much. So he loses that increase until he (re)stabilizes at 2.0u?

Thanks,
Lisa
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62

Update Summary:
AMPS 192
+2 64 (1tsp HC)
+2.5 49 (1tsp HC)
+3 65
+4 62 (1tsp LC+little HC gravy)

How am I doing on the food? It says keep with little servings until 2 consecutive values are over 50 and rising. He's got two readings, but not rising yet, and his nadir is around +5. Test in another 30 or 60 minutes?

PS - do I keep updating the subject line every time I get a new reading? I see long subject lines like that, not sure what the protocol is.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

You can test in 30. If you update your subject line on the top post in the thread, that allows everyone to see the number before they even open it...
Carl
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

I think yesterday, we suggested that you go back to the 2.00 units because of all the days without testing, the increase of 1/2 unit from 2.00 to 2.50 instead of the standard adjustment of 1/4 unit, at a time, and because of the 38, yesterday.
That was not per protocol, per se. It was kind of a "starting over" to get you started on a dose that was more managable, and go from there.
In the future, you would not be doing dose reductions so closely together, unless Leo's numbers really really called for it.

You can just feed LC, now.

I'm sure after all the time it took me to type that, that someone else already answered your questions. :lol:
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Hi Lisa

I agree with Carl. Re-test in 30. You're doing fine with food. MC/LC would also have been ok with that BG in the 60s, but it's fine how you've handled it so far, well done!

I'm glad you reviewed the condos. You're right that *normally* the protocol guidelines would suggest smaller dose adjustments when they come close together. What prompted me (and the others, I suspect) to suggest the 0.5u decrease down to 2.0u is this:

--- There is next to no data for some periods of time on 2.0u (12th-16th and 20th-23rd August) - due to travelling, I seem to remember. Meaning, we're sensitive to your schedule constraints that would make it difficult to monitor (which can be very dangerous).

--- From the SS, even *with* the missing 2.0u-data, that dose seems to have given the safest results so far - no very low drops, and a few yellows, compared to the other doses (lower and higher).

--- On the last doses of 2.5u/2.25u, there were those dips to sub-50 (one to the 30s, a *definite* demand for a decent reduction!, the next to the 40s). Given your testing constraints, and Leo's apparent sensitivity to an overlfowing shed, it's simply safest to reduce a little more than the guidelines (and they are just that, guidelines, not laws...ECID) would suggest ordinarily.

You *could* do a dose shave rather than a dose reduction (to 2.0u). I would not. The 2.0u is easier to measure, and ostensibly safer for Leo at present given the surrounding circumstances. And yes, you should give the 2.0u dose a decent chance to show what it can do for Leo, by sticking to it for 3-5 days (barring any incident requiring otherwise).

Hope that helps. Others will weigh in also.
Jane

P.S. LOL, Dyana :lol:
 
8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63

Update Summary:
AMPS 192
+2 64 (1tsp HC)
+2.5 49 (1tsp HC)
+3 65
+4 62 (1tsp LC+little HC gravy)
+4.5 63 (1 tsp LC)

He's not as enthusiastic about eating the last 2 tests, perhaps his big breakfast. He does come running for the tests, though, it's quite funny. I yell "time for a treat!" and open the microwave, and there he is!
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

You can hold off on feeding more for now, his tummy is probably full, and the last two snacks should keep him surfing for a little while. If you do see a drop in 30, just a spoon of gravy will be good.
Carl
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63

Very nice surf Leo. :mrgreen:

Too bad you had to have that steep dive in the beginning of the cycle.

See you at +5.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63

Question about "surfing the greens" ... when he dipped 8/24, it was followed by a big bounce and high values the next cycle. Since we are in the greens for a while now, is this twitching his liver for another big bounce? Since the 60's are a tad lower than the "normal" range I read of 70-120, would it be better for him to be a little higher now to not trigger the liver as much? Or, is this good because his values will/might take off when the insulin starts to wear off?

Which adds another question ... he normally has another 1/2 can or so around now. I know I do small bits in case he dips and we need him to be hungry. At what point do I let him free graze again?

Thanks!
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63

Jane - Thank you for the full explanation. I think I understand. I *really* wish I could be here for Leo 24/7. :(
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 Potential Hypo Advice!!

Welcome to LL! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :thumbup You and Leo are doing great. It is overwhelming at first, but things will start to make sense soon. Leo looks like he is surfing nicely now, paws crossed that he continues to do so. Things can be confusing at first and we all misinterpret advice. If it helps don't think of it as two reductions , think of it as n extra step in getting to where you were headed in the first place.

Yes, keep updating that first post subject line w/ every test. Sometimes we run out of room, then you can remove some of the earlier tests.

BTW one thing I would add to Lu's advice 4) EAT CHOCOLATE!!! It helps everything look better! :lol: :lol: :lol: But really, you have to take care of yourself too, because if you don't there will be no one to take care of Leo. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63

Surfing the 70s or 80s or 90s or even 100s would be wonderfully fine, too. Maybe he'll surf more in that range, when you go back to the 2.00 unit dose.

I'm more afraid of the 130 point drop in the first two hours of this cycle, that will trigger a bounce to higher numbers. Paws crossed he doesn't bounce, but if he does, it's just a natural thing for the liver to do.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63 +5

So yay, I learned something else! Leo's having a great surf! (And heck, I didn't even KNOW what I surf was until about 2 hours ago) :-D

Update Summary:
AMPS 192
+2 64 (1tsp HC)
+2.5 49 (1tsp HC)
+3 65
+4 62 (1tsp LC+little HC gravy)
+4.5 63 (1 tsp LC)
+5 79

Thanks Ann and Lu ... Chocolate solves many of life's ills. As soon as Leo stabilizes, I've got errands, and one of them is ICE CREAM! (Then mommy will be surfing as well :razz: )
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63

Lisa & Leo said:
Jane - Thank you for the full explanation. I think I understand. I *really* wish I could be here for Leo 24/7. :(

Hang in there, Lisa. You are doing a GREAT job with Leo! Life happens, we all know that, and we make a plan to keep the FD treatment on schedule as best we can. Be kind not only to sweet Leo, but to yourself too! This is a rough ride, especially at first! Breathe. It gets easier!

Dyana makes great points about the bounces. Not only LOW drops but also FAST drops (even less low ones) can trigger bounces. No way to tell. We'll have to watch Leo and assess as you get more and more data. We'll learn together how fast is too fast for comfort, for Leo (and hence how it will be possible to slow drops by adjusting feeding schedules). Dropping into the 50s, 60s, 70s should ideally eventually start to feel normal for Leo, since those are healthy, safe ranges. (Normal range is considered 50-120. Some, eapecially some vets, are more cautious when defining safe ranges, but 50-120 is how we play it safe here :mrgreen:). SHOOTING safely is a different story especially for newbies, as you'll learn as we go on.

Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2 64 +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63 +5

..and Leo continues to ride the wave ...

Update Summary:
AMPS 192
+2 64 (1tsp HC)
+2.5 49 (1tsp HC)
+3 65
+4 62 (1tsp LC+little HC gravy)
+4.5 63 (1 tsp LC)
+5 79
+6 76
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6

summer_33-1.gif
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6

Surfing continues ... +7 72. Running out for some quick errands. Should I test every hour until the next dose or can I give his ear a little break until +11 or so?
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6

A bit of clarification and some summary...

  • We consider "normal" BG to be in the 50 - 120 range. I'm not sure where you saw 70 as the lower end. We use 50 since below that number is what qualifies as a dose reduction.
  • For a newly diagnosed cat (i.e., within a year of diagnosis) a drop below 40 ALWAYS signals you need to reduce the dose. It took Leo 2 cycles to clear the bounce off of the 38. It can take up to 72 hours (6 cycles) for a bounce to clear. Knowing that, it's not a surprise that you're seeing green numbers today since you did not reduce.
  • The issue of the reduction is a little complicated. Like others said, we were taking Leo's safety into consideration with the suggested reduction to 2.0u because it looked like you were unable to test. In most situations, we don't suggest taking reductions back-to-back. I think in this case, it would be safest to take the dose down to 2.0u. I honestly can't predict whether the reduction will hold but I'd rather see you err on the side of safety.
  • There's no way to accurately predict if a cat will bounce. They bounce until they don't!
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6

Sienne and Gabby said:
A bit of clarification and some summary...

  • We consider "normal" BG to be in the 50 - 120 range. I'm not sure where you saw 70 as the lower end. We use 50 since below that number is what qualifies as a dose reduction.

I saw that here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/dummies.htm
"Normalization" is the term used when the control is perfect and the BG stays in the normal range around the clock (normal BG for the average cat is 70 - 120 mg/dL -- yours might be higher or lower).

Sienne and Gabby said:
There's no way to accurately predict if a cat will bounce. They bounce until they don't!

:-D

Sienne - Thanks for the summary. In a way, I'm glad abut what's happened over the last few days because it's helping me understand the relationships between what's going on. It sure is complicated! I keep reading and reading, and it's starting to sink in.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +2.5 49 +3 65 +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6

Lisa & Leo said:
Surfing continues ... +7 72. Running out for some quick errands. Should I test every hour until the next dose or can I give his ear a little break until +11 or so?
I would test again, since he was going down a little at +7. Did you get your errands done?
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88

Hi Dyana - Yes, just got back and tested .. +9 88. He's been so smooth ... I'm concerned about his next shot. I'll keep testing, but is his BG going to go up enough to shoot? We'll see so please stick around!

(And taking care of myself...somehow a package of chocolate and a container of ice cream made it into my shopping cart :razz: )
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88

Lisa & Leo said:
……..(And taking care of myself...somehow a package of chocolate and a container of ice cream made it into my shopping cart :razz: )
:thumbup :thumbup :thumbup
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88

Leo is getting hungry and hasn't had all his food today. He's owed perhaps another half a can of FF. He got a can at AMPS, and then about 4 tsps throughout the early hours to stabilize him. Now that it appears his numbers won't tank, does he get the rest of his food now? Should I have given some already? He needs to eat something I think.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88

If it's only +9, then you can give him a snack. You want him to still be hungry enough to eat his dinner at PMPS, and you don't want to feed him after +10.
I'll be around for awhile.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88

How about 1/4 can of FF?
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88

Sounds good. I gave him a little scoop which he scoffed up, and I just gave him the rest of 1/4th. Which interestingly, he walked away from.

It makes me wonder though ... his values went down starting around +6 for a couple hours - should I have given him a snack before that? I know he started going up at +9 on his own and the snack will take him up more. I guess since I didn't feed him, do I know now that insulin starts to wear off around +8? Is that a valid conclusion?
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +4 62 +4.5 63 +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88

Lisa & Leo said:
Sounds good. I gave him a little scoop which he scoffed up, and I just gave him the rest of 1/4th. Which interestingly, he walked away from.

It makes me wonder though ... his values went down starting around +6 for a couple hours - should I have given him a snack before that? I know he started going up at +9 on his own and the snack will take him up more. I guess since I didn't feed him, do I know now that insulin starts to wear off around +8? Is that a valid conclusion?

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

He could have also come down around +6 because you were feeding him and his pancreas may have been kicking in a little bit.

I'm running out to the grocery store, but will be back for your PMPS.
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +5 79 +6 76 +7 72 +9 88 +11 86

+11 86.

He's been flat all day ... I'm going to need some shooting advice. Dayna - I know you're coming back. Anyone else going to be around in an hour for PMPS? Thanks - Lisa
 
Re: 8/25 Leo AMPS 192, +6 76 +9 88 +11 86 +12 75 ShootingAdv

+12 75

Ok - he's been flat all day - wish his whole life was like this. What do I do? I read about stalls, and it appears I need to do a stall. Let me go read about that, but post this message so my question is out there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top