Re: 8/29 Charlie AMPS 371 +2 439 +4 416 +6 427 +9 418 PMPS 3
MelanieP and Ninja said:
Jill: This is fascinating. So if I am understanding you correctly, you are saying: Cases like Charlie's could be caused by a chronic low-level overdose of insulin (for various reasons) over time, and that when this condition continues long enough then "glucose toxicity" sets in, meaning the cat has developed a level of tolerance for the insulin - at which time, a reduction in insulin may or may not bring the blood glucose back into alignment. The owner could try a reduction, which sometimes works (however, exposing the cat to possibly higher BGs and DKA in the interim); but that in most cases additional dose increases are needed to break through the toxicity -- kind of like a sledgehammer effect (so to speak). Once the owner reaches the sledgehammer dose to break through the toxicity, then he/she will start to see more green numbers and can begin lowering the dose again according to the guidelines of the protocol. Am I understanding this correctly?
yes and no. :mrgreen:
charlie's response to date has not been caused by what you've called a "a chronic low-level overdose of insulin". imho, charlie is not over dose. that's not to say the dose may eventually get up to or surpass the vet recommended increase to 2 units BID from 1.25u, but going up the dosing scale in a systematic and methodical manner has proven to be safer for kitty.
imho, charlie's initial starting dose was too low (based on previous data while on caninsulin). for various reasons, the dose was then held far too long (approximately 17 days). when a dose is held too long, it's very common for glucose toxicity to set in. as already mentioned, once glucose toxicity sets in more insulin is required to cause a break through.
a better example of the possibility of a kitty requiring more insulin to break through what some call the "glass ceiling" (glucose toxicity) can be found on ninja's spreadsheet. for whatever reasons, ninja was brought all the way up to 3u bid without sufficient data to support the decisions. another red flag is increasing in increments of 0.5u regardless of nadirs. these things alone *can* contribute to the possibility of any cat becoming over dose. is ninja over dose? it's impossible to draw any concrete conclusions at this point. ninja may just need more insulin than others.
MelanieP and Ninja said:
If so, let me ask you Jill, is there a way to identify this overdose situation sooner so that a dose reduction (say, a month ago) might have resulted in a quick realignment of the BG? This is not specifically related to Charlie, but wondering about the other cats who come to the board marginally overdosed (the 25% of cats who would otherwise be diet controlled, but perhaps started by their vet on a low level, say .25 or .5, of insulin concurrent with diet change. Is there a way to spot this syndrome sooner (telltale signs) when the level of overdose is not significant? Jill, thanks so much for explaining this! Very helpful!
unfortunately, there are no "quick" fixes when you're dealing with feline diabetes.
when i look at a spreadsheet for the possibility of kitty being over dose i begin with looking for things like an initial starting dose which was set too high to begin with, increases often/always made in increments of 0.5u or more, dose adjustments made based on preshot numbers, dose increases with inadequate data to support the decision,
and/or failure to take appropriate reductions. i consider these all to be "red flags". from there i pay particular attention to the "Remarks" section on kitty's spreadsheet. if i have more questions i'll read back through the caregivers threads to help put together the pieces (it's why we ask everyone to include a WCR [whole cat report] in their daily threads. sometimes there are reasons for actions taken. put all these things together and a picture emerges.
if a cat is truly over dose it can take weeks or many months to cause a break through... which is why we're all about getting nadir checks and adjusting the dose in small increments as outlined in the TR Protocol. while reducing the dose IS an option in *most* over dose situations we've found (generally speaking) reducing the dose actually adds more time onto the process for the reasons we've been discussing (mainly glucose toxicity).
MelanieP and Ninja said:
Jill, one final question related to this: can you speak to your position on dose reductions when the owner does not necessarily see (though suspects) that the cat may have gone below 40. That is, particularly in the early days of treatment, many owners are not able to get consistent readings but may catch, for example a pre-shot number of 48 - indicating the cat likely went lower earlier in that cycle. I am wondering if this inability to test frequently causes some owners to miss dose reductions early on, thereby setting up situations like you describe above related to chronic overdosing. Thanks again for any input on this. And thanks to Jill and Charlie for allowing us to explore this topic here.
lol! we call this "reading the invisible numbers".
i have to be honest and i hope this doesn't come off as sounding arrogant. it takes an experienced eye to read the invisible numbers on a spreadsheet. i can only think of a couple of people who post in this forum who have that experienced eye. a very experienced eye only because *most* caregivers have not studied enough spreadsheets or have seen enough variations or exceptions to the rule. they also may not have a full understanding of the action of the insulin used... as it pertains to an individual cat. after all, ECID is not just a slogan. it's probably truer than any other words spoken here.
"for example a pre-shot number of 48 - indicating the cat likely went lower earlier in that cycle"...
a preshot number of 48 can be indicative of a few things. one possibility is kitty went lower earlier in the cycle. another possibility is kitty simply has a late nadir.
some kitties can nadir at +12. and yet another possibility is kitty was rapidly clearing a bounce. this combined with the previous shot could cause kitty to drop low at the end of the cycle. interpreting the data correctly is imperative. in order to do that a caregiver must look back to what led up to the event. *usually* data accumulated over the last 3 days will offer a clue. we call that analyzing "waves of action". because of the cumulative nature of lantus and levemir the past explains the present
in most cases. sometimes, we don't see any rhyme or reason. it's just a cat... being a cat. in any case, a drop below 50 is cause for a reduction with a newly diagnosed kitty.
on a side note: when faced with an uncharacteristically low preshot number, we usually suggest newbies drop the dose in order to be able to comfortably shoot the cat twice a day.
having said that, the first and foremost priority here is keeping kitty safe. caregivers should feel comfortable with whatever dose they're shooting. there is no fault in taking a reduction based on suspicion. the caregiver will find out soon enough if their suspicion pans out and if doesn't... no harm done. the caregiver will simply increase to the last good dose.
hope this helps...