8/30 Max AMPS~137 PMPS~80 +1.5~98 +2~93+3~93+3.75~93 Q?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 +2~102 +3~75

Does this seem like a big drop from +2 to +3 that might turn into a below 50? I need to go somewhere for a couple of hours.
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 +2~102 +3~75

hmmm... can you get a test on the way out the door?

Carl
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 +2~102 +3~75

max&emmasmommie said:
Does this seem like a big drop from +2 to +3 that might turn into a below 50? I need to go somewhere for a couple of hours.
sorry, there's no guarantee he won't drop below 50.
if i were in your shoes, i would (and have) carb alex up a little before i left the house rather than take any chances.
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 +2~102 +3~75 +4.25~74

Thank you, Jill. I waited to get this +4. Looks like he has leveled out. Whew!
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 +2~102 +3~75 +4.25~74

Pretty exciting stuff!! Glad it worked out with the leveling out :razz: hugs from us! Alexa (Zar)
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 +2~102 +3~75 +4.25~74 PMPS~80

. . . and I said to myself, "What would the Borg Queen tell me?" Then, I gave Max 0.25 units, I hope. I can't really see the difference between 0.25 and 0.25F and 0.25S.
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 +2~102 +3~75 +4.25~74 PMPS~80

"Resistance is futile!"

Another really good day for Max. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 4.25~74 PMPS~80 +1.5~98 +2~93

Max is acting very anxious. He seems to be looking for a place to go to the bathroom. He's looking everywhere but his litter box, and when I put him there he seems to consider it for a while and then gets out. I gave him some Crisco by mouth as I don't have anything else like Vaseline. I also put some you know where. Ugh. I gave him 100 cc of fluids on the 25th in the evening. The next day, his litter box was outside, and the door was open, but he peed on my bed.

I thought it was because he had to go really bad and didn't want to go out outside. However, then he poo'd there before I had a chance to move the towels that he peed on. It wasn't a hard poo, but it had a hair ball in it.

There was a less than perfect poo in the LB today, half normal, half a little bit harder, but not really hard. Now, he just ate a bit, and he's gone outside. I don't usually let him out after dark, but the door's open. Maybe he can poo somewhere that he doesn't associate with constipation. His BG is fine.

I guess he really needs fluids every 4 days now or more. I usually give him 50 cc. I thought the 100 cc would hold him a little longer, not much, but it probably doesn't work that way at all even a little bit. He just pees out what he doesn't need if there is any.
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 4.25~74 PMPS~80 +1.5~98 +2~93+3~93

Max's numbers are odd tonight, but he keeps eating every hour or so. He isn't feeling normal, I can tell. He just tried to jump up on the kitchen counter, something he hasn't done since he was a teenager, and he fell. I don't know what to think. Earlier tonight he climbed up on the butcher block and then jumped over to the counter, and walked along it sniffing as if he's looking for something. He has food, and there isn't any up there. Now, he's in my lap. My husband mentioned earlier that when his BG is in the 60s, he's lethargic, but when it's around the 90s he is anxious and active. Why would this be? When it's really high, he's quite dull, of course, but that hasn't happened in a long time.
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 4.25~74 PMPS~80 +1.5~98 +2~93+3~93

That does sound a bit odd! I'm sorry he fell, poor (((Max))) and poor (((Max's Beans)))!

The only thing I can think is that possibly surfing the 90s feels more "balanced" to Max than the 60s or high BGs, so he has the best kind of energy in this range to try things like jumping on the counter and whatnot, but that he's not quite relaxed enough yet about that energetic feeling he seems to be getting in those 90s to be calm about it - instead, it makes him a bit anxious. Best guess.

Lovely numbers, anyway!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/30 Max AMPS~137 4.25~74 PMPS~80 +1.5~98 +2~93+3~93+3.7

Thanks, Jane, that's good to hear. I need to hear that there is a benign explanation. I'm not really worried too much at this point, but it's strange. I'm going to be worried about him from now on; it's just the way it goes. He's old, and he's lucky to be as healthy as he is.

Oh, my, I see a hemorrhoid! That's the problem! It's swollen and red. Poor baby. I'll have to find out what a safe treatment for a cat with hemorroids! Anyone know?
 
I would talk to your vet about what you can put on a hemorrhoid on your cat. I'm not even sure the Crisco was okay.
But I have no experience with hemorrhoids on my cat or using Crisco like that.
 
I didn't see a link, so here's Max's 29th August Condo.

Oh, poor Max! Sorry about the haemorrhoid! (You're certain that's what it is, yes? Not an anal gland issue, small abscess, irritated/inflamed anal membrane, that sort of thing?)

You're giving him fluids, I know, but you were saying you thought he needed a bit more - I think you may be onto something. (Is he *drinking* water also?) I may have missed this, but he's not on any meds right now, is he (that could dehydrate his digestive tract)? I'm wondering about that slightly hard BM he had, that may have caused some irritation/inflammation of the mucous membranes as it passed towards and through the anus. Hairball-BMs can also caused irritation, and you mentioned he'd had one of those recently.

Lots of random thoughts, sorry. But they're why I'm asking whether you're certain it's a haemorrhoid, and not something that might look similar (but that would essentially be down to the effects of less-than-perfect hydration, as in, hardened fecal matter: slower/difficult passage/irritation or even inflammation/straining at BM, etc.).

Thoughts?
Hugs
Jane
 
Thanks, Dyana, Jane, and Carl,

It could be from straining. I didn't know a hairball could do that, but that could have caused it. He jumped when I touched it. The red part was outside, and then it went back inside later. That might be because he poo'd last night outside the house. I put some anbesol on it, and I hope that helped him poo.

It looked more normal (less swollen) around +4, and this morning it looks swollen again, but I don't see the red part outside. I don't think it's an anal gland issue because it's at the top of the anus, near the tail, that is swollen. Maybe I should take him to the vet just in case.

I don't know about the Crisco either, but I'll check before I give him any more.
 
Is he otherwise acting normally, or still a bit strangely like you noticed last night?
Carl
 
He's normal, Carl, thanks for asking -- except for the swelling. I don't mind the poo, but the pee is such a chore to get out of things. I think I'll just throw the blanket that was on the bed under the towel away and treat the towel. I really like that towel! He peed on another towel that was on the floor, too. Better those than the Persian carpet. He just barfs on that, which he did by the way this morning.

He wants to lie in the baby blankets on the floor next to Emma's crib again this morning. He slept on the bed with us last night, and he didn't wake me up for food, but waited until I got up. I don't know if he got up and ate earlier. I didn't make it up at my normal 7:00 to pick up his bowl. He probably did eat based on his 132 at Pre-shot. He eats such tiny amounts at a time that's he's starving at shot time. Then, he just eats a little and walks away, and comes back later asking for fresh food again. Silly cat.
 
Dale --

Please make an appointment to take Max to the vet. Anbesol may not be safe for cats. You don't know for sure what this is or how to treat it. (For example, someone had suggested using Tea Tree oil for fleas. It's toxic for cats and dogs.) Rather than risk making things worse, please get a professional to help.

Also, are you moving Max's litter box around? You mentioned it was outside. If you move a cat's box, it's bound to make the cat anxious. Cat's like routine. Disrupt their routine, and they are not happy. Peeing on your bed is one way to let you know something's wrong.
 
Yep, anbesol can be used on a cat ONE TIME only. Probably not much use in that case, and not worth the slight risk that once is too many times. It may cause a serious condition that is fatal, but vomiting is not a symptom of it. Confusion is. However, he was acting strange before I put it on him, and then he stopped acting that way afterward. He's a cat, that's for sure. He's going to the vet just in case.

As for the LB, it was put outside while I was cleaning, and it was left there longer than normal. Plus, he had had the fluids the night before.
 
Dale, just catching up with your condo. I'm so sorry to hear Max is having a hard time with a poo and the wetting and his off behavior. Sending him lots of feel better and healing vines. Let us know when you can how Max is feeling. Thinking of you and Max.
 
Max did go to the vet on this day, the 30th, and I posted about it, but why isn't it here? Odd. FOUND IT: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78210

He was fine. He had a big poo in the car on the way there, and it was definitely more than a day's worth, but it was normal, not dehydrated. The vet didn't think his bottom looked bad at all; no problems with his glands; no serious issues; just a little swelling. She said that I should give fluids more often if he is having issues like this, and that as far as she can tell it must have been a tear that I saw. No hemorroids that she saw, but they could be on the inside.

Other good news is that Max's weight has remained steady at a whopping 10.3 pounds!!!! Very happy to find that out. He always stayed near there before he gained to 14 pounds a while before he was diagnosed with diabetes.

He never had any ill effects from the anbesol, but I won't use it again just in case. (I remember my post about this and getting a response from someone; Where did I put it -- on a different thread probably.) This vet had never heard of anbesol being bad for cats, but it is, I believe. I saw information on the net about cats, children and even human adults having a very serious reaction to the active ingredient in anbesol, and being critical suddenly without warning due to a severe malfunction with the blood hemoglobin. It can kill. Scary stuff, and I can't believe it is not sold in child-proof containers!

We saw a different vet because I wanted to get in at noon instead of waiting until 5:30 for my regular vet. This vet was very surprised to find out that I had Max down to 0.25u. I asked her to help me get syringes with 0.1 unit markings, and she said she'd look into it.

She called me later that day. She said my regular vet had never heard of these rat syringes. She asked me to give her more information about the Roomp/Rand protocol I had mentioned to her when we were talking about how low Max's dose is now. I gave her the names of the doctors/scientists Roomp and Rand the web site addresses to the German study and the Queensland U. information. She said thank you. I hope she's genuinely interested.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top