9/7 Leo AMPS 89.35.61.99.49.PMPS 103 +1 141 +2.5 127 +5 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Need dose advice now ---- shooting a falling number after a big bounce. His +10.5 was 162 - a BIG drop from yesterday...

I had just reduced to 1.5u... do I shoot 1.5 and just watch him, or do a stall? He's not too high but he's falling at a decent pace. Or chicken shoot? Advice???

Yesterday
AMPS 571
+2 507
+3 444
+5 438
+10 468
PMPS 432
+2 350
+10.5 162
AMPS 89
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

And dammit, I screwed up doing a stall correctly - I gave him his breakfast.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

This could be similar to 8/26-8/27 where he came back up after the shot due to the bounce. But this time he's in the green pre-shot rather than in the blue like that time.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

You've shot this range before (2nd September), while on a higher dose (2u). If you have plenty of strips, hypo supplies, and your BOS are in working order - I'd say you could shoot, watch him VERY closely, and let him earn what will likely be his next reduction.

Are you ok with that plan? You have the options to BCS dose him... You hold the syringe. What do you feel comfortable doing?

Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

Aug 25 I didn't shoot, but wanted to

Sept 2 I had to bring him back up with food. Is it okay (like, part of the protocol or common practice here) to go ahead and shoot, knowing full well that you'll be doing a "recovery" if you will, with bits of food and regular 20 minute testing? If so, and that's ideal for getting the reduction, then I'll shoot the full load. Let me know if that's a common strategy. I would like to get his dose down.

Thanks Jane, I was hoping you'd be around!
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

Yup, corrected the 25th-August reference. BOS = Balls of Steel :lol:

Were you advised to shoot, on the 25th? Trying to find that condo, need a minute...


PLEASE remember to link to your past condos... Makes finding old ones MUCh faster :mrgreen:

Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

No, I was more a newbie then, so Sienne (I think it was) was gentle with me. They were there to help me but I chickened out at the last minute because it was so late, I was tired and was nervous about it. In a different condo she said next time she would say SHOOT!
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

Quite so. That's what I'd say now, too - shoot it, be brave. Are you comfortable doing that? IF not, DON'T - it's you doing the shots, so it's you calling them too :smile:

Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

Sorry about the link. I copied it there but didn't do the URL correctly in my haste and it was broken.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

Lisa & Leo said:
Sept 2 I had to bring him back up with food. Is it okay (like, part of the protocol or common practice here) to go ahead and shoot, knowing full well that you'll be doing a "recovery" if you will, with bits of food and regular 20 minute testing? If so, and that's ideal for getting the reduction, then I'll shoot the full load. Let me know if that's a common strategy. I would like to get his dose down. Thanks Jane, I was hoping you'd be around!

Yes, it's alright to let a cycle play out IF it will be monitored closely, the bean has the right supplies, enough experience, has read the right stickies and understood them, and has someone else there to help out. Alexa/Reuben just had a similar notion come up - that when you feed/steer a cycle too early or too aggressively, one can *miss* a reduction that would have happened otherwise, through a drop into the low greens.

By now you've probably stalled about an hour. Onset will take a couple of hours too, and he's eaten a bit already (and will have his usual breakfast when you shoot), so food on board will help. You have the supplies. You have some experience. You say you want to see progress and be able to catch reductions. That's why I would suggest you shoot this.

Make sense?
Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

Jane said:
Quite so. That's what I'd say now, too - shoot it, be brave. Are you comfortable doing that? IF not, DON'T - it's you doing the shots, so it's you calling them too :smile:

Jane

I shot him up good. :-D

I kinda wanted you to tell me to do it, so I am relieved that I didn't do something stupid.

I was nervous this morning (obviously, screwed up the stall with the food, and then screwed up my previous condo link), but kinda wanted to do it to get his dose down. Told DH about the debacle of Sept 5th and he wants dose down as well ... although he's not been reading and understanding the protocol as I have. I hope Leo earns the reduction but shouldn't I be steering him so he doesn't get below 50? Should I actively try not to let him fall, or should I let him get there (<50 if he's headed there) without immediate intervention in order to earn the reduction?
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

Like Jane said, if you're comfortable with shooting, then shoot. One question -- you said you're already 45 min. late shooting but you have the 88 as AMPS +.25 -- that would be 1 hour and 15 min. late.

And it's common to shoot low PROVIDED you have the data to do so, you're able to monitor, and have supplies to steer the numbers (and test frequently) if you need to.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +.25 88 DOSE ADVICE NEEDED ???

See above posts :smile:

Hi Sienne :mrgreen:

Lisa, now that you've shot, could you adjust your subject line, please? Also, you know you'll be getting a (+1), right? Of *course* you know that! ;-)
GREAT shooting! Way to work those BOS! I'll be so interested to see where Leo takes this!! Has he had his regular breffis yet? (And did you see Sienne's question - by how much time did you end up stalling?)

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89

Jane - Thanks for the clarification on steering - looks like our posts crossed in the intertubes. Yes, Leo ate all his regular breakfast at 1:15 pre-shoot [edited to add that he ate at AMPS and then I stalled rather than appropriately withholding food].

BOS - yes, dammit, I'm a tough cookie! :-) As long as I have data. I am an engineer. We'll see what Leo does ... I'll be testing regularly, his poor little ears, but he's been purring when I'm warming his ear!

Sienne - yes, I ended up delaying 1:15, so I know it will take me a few days to get back on track, shooting earlier by 15 minutes each 12 hour cycle. That was ultimately another reason that I declined to shoot on Aug 25 ... the delay was going on 2 hours, which would have taken days to get him back on his regular cycle. But thank you both for bringing that up and confirming it with me.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89

REDUCIE!

+1 40

Break out 2 tsp LC and 2 drops of Karo? Since we are SO early in the cycle?
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89

Hi guys .. great advice going on in this condo, and great numbers as well! Congrats on the reduction, I hope leo can hold this next one for a few days .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89

Lisa & Leo said:
REDUCIE! +1 40 Break out 2 tsp LC and 2 drops of Karo? Since we are SO early in the cycle?

Hmm wait lemme think... :lol: Sure thing, Lisa!! And re-test in 15-20 please, k?

Woohoo, my crystal ball is working :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89

Great shooting Lisa! Leo, your turn to surf on the green, boy. Give us a green cycle!
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89

Jane said:
Lisa & Leo said:
REDUCIE! +1 40 Break out 2 tsp LC and 2 drops of Karo? Since we are SO early in the cycle?

Hmm wait lemme think... :lol: Sure thing, Lisa!! And re-test in 15-20 please, k?

Woohoo, my crystal ball is working :mrgreen:
Jane

Jane - I already gave it. My HC is gravy lovers but I can't drain the gravy out. So I give that with drops of Karo like I did last time. It stopped him but the Karo wears off quickly. If you look at my Leo's 9/5 Condo you will see what we did at that time. I would follow roughly the same thing, since I came upon the 36 about +1.75 in the cycle.

Yes, Ms Crystal Ball!!!! :-D
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40

Phew, look at him go. Good call on the more karo. Next test in 15 please, k?

Leo - WE GET IT. YOu dropped. Now up you come to the 60s or so, and surf. The 60s were cool, man. Think Elvis. :cool:

J
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40

Jane said:
Leo - WE GET IT. YOu dropped. Now up you come to the 60s or so, and surf. The 60s were cool, man. Think Elvis. :cool:
J

LOL Thanks for the stress-breaking chuckle! I'm stressed and anxious, but in control. Keep reminding me of what I already sort-of know, now that I am in stupid mode :lol:

He's at the back door, smacking his tail in the ground, stalking squirrels in his mind (he's an indoor cat). He did this the other day too. I wonder if it's a symptom with him. The other night I swear he was chasing bugs that weren't there.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40

Wow, Lisa, congrats to you and Leo on the reducie! :mrgreen: Cute with the smacking of the tail and squirrels and bugs.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40

AMPS 88
+1 40
+1.3 35
+1.7 51

Okay, the Karo is working. So, what to feed. The last time this happened and he got to 55, I had changed to 1 tsp of HC and started weaning to hc/lc too soon and he fell to 37.

Therefore, I will give 2 tsps of hc now (since he's earlier in the cycle).... and the next test (if he follows the trend) I will add back a drop of Karo since the first Karo will be wearing off.


(last time...)
PMPS unknown
+ 1.75 36 1tsp hc
+2 38 1tsp hc w/2 drops Karo (like little dabs from the end of a chopstick)
+2.3 37 2tsp hc + 2 regular drops Karo
+2.5 55 1tsp hc
+3 73 1 tsp lc + 1 tsp hc
+3.75 37 2tsp hc+2 drops Karo
+4 60 1 tsp hc+lc
+4.5 60 1 tsp hc+lc
+5 80 1 tsp lc
+6 162 food!!!

Thanks Jane for more bright sparkly encouragement!!!
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40

Lisa & Leo said:
AMPS 88 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.7 51 --- Okay, the Karo is working. So, what to feed. The last time this happened and he got to 55, I had changed to 1 tsp of HC and started weaning to hc/lc too soon and he fell to 37. Therefore, I will give 2 tsps of hc now (since he's earlier in the cycle).... and the next test (if he follows the trend) I will add back a drop of Karo since the first Karo will be wearing off. Thanks Jane for more bright sparkly encouragement!!!

Sounds like a plan. Re-test in 20 or so, k? It's early, like you said!

And you're welcome on the sparkles :-D I LOVE sparkles. Almost as much as we all LOVE sugar-cycle-drama :lol: Favourite colour for sparkles? Just so I know, in case I need to do a follow-up!
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40

AMPS 88
+1 40
+1.3 35
+1.7 51
+1.8 59

A little lower than last time around ... gave 1 tsp HC and 2 smallish drops of Karo. **deep breath** :-)

Jane said:
And you're welcome on the sparkles :-D I LOVE sparkles. Almost as much as we all LOVE sugar-cycle-drama :lol: Favourite colour for sparkles? Just so I know, in case I need to do a follow-up!

OMG - Drama you want, drama you shall get! You guys crack me up! And thanks to everyone who stopped by with encouragement - it really helps!

I'm partial to orange, and Leo has a delightful blue collar with waves on it. ;-)
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51

Jane said:
Dropping Low, Freaking Out Your Momma!
Dear, Look At Him Go! Don't You Just LOVE The Drama!


I had time for rhyme.
:mrgreen:

Jane

AWESOME!!! And excellent on the rhyming too! I'm thankful you're around to help - you've been a great source of info and guidance since the day I joined.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51

And he behaved as predicted ... falling back down

AMPS 88
+1 40
+1.3 35
+1.7 51
+1.8 59
+2.2 45 1tsp HC 3 drops Karo
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

Look who else is helping, Lisa :mrgreen: You've got a real, live Emperor watching over you!

644232_10100325320976563_692630035_n.jpg


:lol:
Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

Oh Karre - we are SO honored to have attracted your royal eye! We bow down humbly to receive your furry countenance upon our trials and sufferings, that we may rise with your guidance to forever hail your name!

Meow! Meow! Meow! All Hail the Emperor Karre!
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

Lisa & Leo said:
Oh Karre - we are SO honored to have attracted your royal eye! We bow down humbly to receive your furry countenance upon our trials and sufferings, that we may rise with your guidance to forever hail your name! Meow! Meow! Meow! All Hail the Emperor Karre!

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

Well, we're so early in the cycle, I'm breaking out the Karo a little more than I did last time. As soon as I see a turn again I'll back off again.

AMPS 88
+1 40 --- 2 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo
+1.3 35 ---2 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+1.7 51 --- 2 tsp HC
+1.8 59 --- 1 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo (added the Karo in anticipation of a drop ... which he did as predicted!)
+2.2 45 --- 1tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+2.5 48 --- 1 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

Good going so far, Lisa! Keep breathing :smile:

Is he still eating willingly? If he seems less interested already, we'll think of a contingency option instead of solid HC-food as a base for the karo... It is still early in the cycle, as you rightly remarked, and we may need him to keep taking the carb-boosters.

Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

Thanks Jane! Whew!

He's still eating normally so far. If he stops being interested, I can siphon off the juice from the FF classics as a base. Not sure what the carb level of that watery gravy is. What would your recommendation be right now, if he were to stop wanting to eat what I'm feeding him? Curious.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

AMPS 88
+1 40 --- 2 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo
+1.3 35 ---2 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+1.7 51 --- 2 tsp HC
+1.8 59 --- 1 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo (added the Karo in anticipation of a drop ... which he did as predicted!)
+2.2 45 --- 1tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+2.5 48 --- 1 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+2.75 61 --- 1 tsp HC + 1 drop Karo

I am stepping back slightly with the Karo for when he blasts off. This is exactly where I was last time around at +2.5 and I gave 1 tsp HC. Just trying to anticipate the fall he had last time by boosting a bit.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40/35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45 2.75 61

Karre, I am your loyal servant.

I will treasure forever the picture of you and your bean overseeing my care.

Leo+watching+Karre+1+sm.jpg
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40 +1.3 35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45

Okay, Lisa. Looking good. Let me answer your food question first: The FF Classics gravy/juice would, I suspect, most likely have whatever percentage of carbs the can is listed as. FF Classics are LC, right? So somewhere under 10%. For some reason I can't access J&B's lists at present. There was an interesting discussion on types of carbs (sugar-based, not sugar-based, etc.) in Alexa/Reuben's last condo too. In this case though, because we're very early in Leo's cycle and he's shown he can drop low again despite several karo-boosts, I would probably stick with HC for a bit longer. If he becomes relucant to eat solids, you could purée a tsp of the solid. Liquified, it might tempt him. You could water it down a bit (though bearing in mind that redices the carb content per amount fed). All the while adding a drop or two of karo while he still needs it. I think it's good that you gave him 1 tsp HC *with* 1 drop of karo. This way, we can compare it to the cycle you're referring to, where he dropped again later.

We'll see if the (+3) tells us to change our approach already in terms of % of carbs, k? Patience, grasshopper. This might take a while yet.
Jane
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40/35 +1.6 51 +1.8 59 +2.2 45 2.75 61

AMPS 88
+1 40 --- 2 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo
+1.3 35 ---2 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+1.7 51 --- 2 tsp HC
+1.8 59 --- 1 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo (added the Karo in anticipation of a drop ... which he did as predicted!)
+2.2 45 --- 1tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+2.5 48 --- 1 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+2.75 61 --- 1 tsp HC + 1 drop Karo
+3 78 --- 1 tsp HC + 1.5 drops Karo (little oopsie on the chaser droplet. But he'll probably need it's surfing power.

He's showing less interest in the food, but he ate it.
 
Re: 9/7 Leo AMPS 89 +1 40/35/51/59 +2.2 45 2.75 61 +3 78

Alright, Lisa. Good that he still ate it. Maybe consider some of the options I suggested earlier, for the next boost if he needs one. I think you could wait a *little* longer now before your next test. 20-30 minutes should be ok (no longer though, I'd say). Unless he's dropped again, I would try a medium carb or even low carb food boost at the next test. You can purée some HC as "gravy" and add it, but if he's still in a decent, safe range in 30 minutes, the LC will last longer and help as the karo wear off. It's impossible to say what will be best without the BG though, just mentioning options in advance, ok?

Could you maybe update the SS in the meantime?

How are you doing - alright? Got some tea/coffee/treats for yourself?
Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top