9/9 Yahtzee AMPS 89 Whoa!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Yahtzee

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

So all my wishes for green and blue came true this morning! But come on Yahtzee, wait til +6 or +7!!

I chickened out on shooting through this number, as I have never experienced a PS number anywhere close to this and don't know how he would respond. I fed 1/4 can FF and retested in one hour. 193, ok that's better, I can deal with that. Shot normal 0.5 dose and fed 1/2 can FF. Also caught a urine sample with KetoDiastix and, for the first time, no glucose! Wish I had gotten a BG test during night to see where the nadir actually was. He seemed perfectly fine this morning 2 hours preshot, so I didn't suspect anything but our recent norm of yellows and pinks.

I'm expecting lots of bounces for the next couple days. This is why I'm nervous to increase his dose. He is just so unpredictable sometimes (typical cat ;-) ). He was on the same feeding schedule last night as any other evening, so I don't think food was playing a factor. Any thoughts on whether the green +12 could still be a reaction from changing from SID back to BID a week ago?
 
After a week, it's unlikely that it's a reaction to the switch to BID dosing.

Just a few items on housekeeping. The 89 is your +12, not your AMPS. If you didn't shoot on that number, it's not a "pre-shot" test. You can put it in the +11 column from last night and note the +12 time. (You can look at Gabby's SS to see what I do. You need to manually change the color in the cell if that's how you opt to note the number.)

If you shot an hour later than usual, your PM shot is now due 12 hours from when you shot. You can move your shot time back by 15 min. at each shot time until your caught up. Alternatively, you could move your shot time 30 min. earlier once a day.

When you get a lower than expected pre-shot number, you have several options. You might want to take a look at Libby's post on handling low pre-shot numbers. One thing though, to keep in mind is that if you're stalling, you don't want to feed.
 
Re: 9/9 Yahtzee +12~89 AMPS~193 +3~166

Thanks Sienne for the note about not feeding when stalling! I thought I read somewhere to feed a small amount and test again. I have Libby's post in my favs now and I reread the "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" sticky, which includes much of the same info.

So far at +3 we're at 166. I like the direction this is heading. Knowing Yahtzee, he will continue to drop for another 4 hours or so. I will be testing throughout the cycle to be more "data ready" for tonight's shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top