9/10 Checkers pmps 275 +3/285

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78774

Started new pen.

Checks ate beffis well, drank, threw up breffis, ate more. Second time in a week, he did this. I am going to stop letting him drink from faucet, mid-breffis. He didn't do this, when he just used bowl, or his own fountain.
He might be drinking more from faucet.

Questions
-How long should I expect it to take for a new pen to make difference, if it's going to?

-If the old pen wasn't at fault, and he just needed an increase, and is still good,
is new pen considered 'opened', even if it was used just once, and now must be used right away?
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338

My civvie Petey tends to do the same thing when he drinks from the faucet too soon after eating. Now, I don't let him drink from the faucet for at least 20 minutes or so after eating...it seems to help with that issue.

Turn it around ,Checks!!
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +3.5/277

Morning you two...glad to see he has worked his way down to the yellow floor...
good boy Checkers..! Hugs to you both! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +3.5/277

Morning Barb, my GA kitty loved drinking from the faucet, too, and also upchucked quite often. Does Checkers like his fountain? I was thinking of buying one for Maggie. It looks like Checkers is working his way down and maybe some blues soon. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +5/280 Q's in first post

Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the throw up :sad: Hope it's just the extra water issue and nothing serious .. Once or twice me and peter opened up a new pen for mocha, hoping the old pen had just lost it's potency .. after we realized her numbers weren't improving with the new pen there were times we went back to the old pen .. but it seems like never for long .. maybe only a week if that ..
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +5/280 Q's in first post

OK Checks! That's the right direction, keep coming down and bring Tess w/ you!

Once you breach the seal it is opened. How old was you last pen? If it was pooping out I think it would take 6 cycles, just like an increase, to replenish the shed w/ the fresh juice. Tess is due for a new one too.
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +5/280 Q's in first post

If the old insulin was toast, it will take a couple of cycles (anywhere from 6 cycles or more) to replenish the depot.

It also looks like when you reduced Checks dose on 9/7. you went from a fat 0.5u to 0.25u. That's more than a 0.25u reduction. You should have reduced to a fat 0.25u. With Checkers, I would also think about shaving the dose since he's a longer term FD kitty and with reductions when you're in these small doses, you want to keep the insulin around for as long as possible.
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +5/280 Q's in first post

Hi Barb - I agree with the others: if the old was toast it will take a few cycles, maybe even 6, for the new pen to kick in. On the pen: once the seal is breached, it is considered open.

Interesting on the faucet. no help here, none of my kitties ever drank frm the fountain. Mannie will drink after eating, from his bowl, no upchuck issues with him. Then again he's taking in such a small amount. And room temp water, if that even makes a difference. Now Elsa on the other hand.... the toilet bowl. :o :shock: I now have to keep the lid down on them all. Gross, silly cat.

SO Checks - Mannie has gone looking for you, and Tess, so you guys best make your presence known so all three of you can find the blue floor again. Word has it that the exit door is stage left.

have a great day Barb!
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +5/280 Q's in first post

Come on down Checkers! Tarragon does that with the faucet, which is why faucet drinking is no longer allowed in our house. I'm no help on your pen questions. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +5/280 Q's in first post

I have no way of knowing if the old pen is at fault. I guess it's gonna get tossed, either way. I started it on 7/31, and still have quite a bit left.
Too late now, but next time this happens, I'll try an increase, before starting an expensive new pen.


I really hate these fat and skinny doses, 'cause a skinny .5 is the same to me as a fat .25
Thank you ladies, for responses. :-D

If I understand correctly, it can take 3 days to see improvement in his numbers? Oy!

Oh, now I see what Sienne was referring to. I reduced more than .25u........thank you Sienne
 
Re: 9/10 Checkers amps 307 +2/338 +5/280 +8/241

Here you go. You may need these. ((((Barb))))



P.S. Those shoes are not comfortable. Try flip flops instead. :-D
 

Attachments

  • pants.jpg
    pants.jpg
    5.9 KB · Views: 380
Re: 9/10 Checkers pmps 275

Hey!! Melissa found my sexy yellow patience pants and I actually LOVE the shoes!!!!

Good luck with the new pen, Barb....I hope his numbers start coming down.
 
OK Checks--Time for you to Come On Down!! We want to see blue & green in the next few days-Is thsat OK?
We Lubs you & want you to swim in the Lagoon soon--OK? Hugs & love from us! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top