9/11 Max PMPS 94 +1.75 76 +9.5 115 +11.25 76 Strange.

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78837

Max appears to have had an inverted curve last night.

74 PMPS
68 +1.75
79 +2.75
90 +6.5
70 +10.5
65 AMPS

I reduced the dose just a smidge to 0.2 because he didn't actually earn a reduction, but I'm afraid of perpetuating glucose toxicity if I don't reduce when the curve appears to be inverted. We will see what happens now, and I am still looking for opinions on my post early this morning:

This appears to be an inverted curve to me. Should I get once more cycle of info - which may or may not confirm it? Or should I reduce the dose? He won't get glucose toxicity really fast right? If I get one or two more cycles at this dose would that be ok or would it be risky? Maybe it's better to go ahead and reduce and see what happens? (I have about 1 hour to shot time.) Thanks.

Here is the Borg Queen's esteemed opinion:
I'd let this dose go another cycle. One cycle with an inverted curve does not mean anything. If it is a trend, then shaving is a good idea.

Hmm, the Collective Mind did not allow me to know this is what you would be thinking before you posted. :o I suspect that Jean Luc was testing one of his Borg mind interference devices. He wasn't feeling too well this morning http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78878 So, please stop by and give his bean some support. He must be suffering from some side-effect of the use of the interference device!

Too late, Your Royal Highness of Borginess, I shot 0.2 this morning. You were busy with Reuben and Alexa, I believe. No problem. I was considering the fact that I reduced him by 1/2 a reduction the other day and he did this inverted curve again last night. Maybe that is back-butt-wards, but that was my thinking.
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94

Hello, I'm not sure that he had an inverted curve today or not. It could be meter variance, but I don't usually see an uptick at +6 this way with this meter that I have been using for months now. I gave him 0.25 tonight in case these are not inverted curves, but if it happens again, should I reduce, and if so, by how much? Thanks.
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 New question about inverted curve?

Good morning, Dale!

Regarding the inverted curves - do you remember the images I posted a few days back, of "standard" Lantus curves vs. an inverted Lantus curve? (It was in your 7th September Condo.)

Looking at your SS, it looks to me like you had three inverted curves in a row, the first one being the most prominent, starting from the PM-cycle on the 6th of September to the PM-cycle of the 7th. On the AM-cycle of the 8th, you shaved the dose (despite a lack of sub-50 dips, based on his flirting with the reduction several times), and it help beautifully, which is suggestive of an appropriate interpretation of Max's insulin needs based on his SS-numbers. In the last couple of cycles, I personally don't see clearly inverted curves (though there is the chance that he did go higher at (+5) - he did have slightly higher BGs in mid-cycle, both times). Especially since the last AM pre-shot was your lowest ever so far, what happened in that cycle may well be influenced by an interplay of action between Mr. L and Mr. P, in addition to the regular insuin action.

Based on all this, I would not reduce again until you either get a run of clear inverted curves (with a marked rise around mid-cycle), or a sub-50 dip, or possibly a run of surfs around 50. Given how close you are to the last "official" dose before You Kow What, and given how well Max responded to the dose-*shave,* I would suggest you try another shave (unless he dips notably low, or you really have to battle to bring him back up) when next it's time to reduce.

Jane
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 New question about inverted curve?

I don't see inverted curves. I think this is partly meter variance and more than likely a matter of when Max is eating. You note that he free feeds. I think the influence of food is the most likely explanation. These are also not marked rises in numbers. Yesterday's AM cycle was flat green. There's no spike into higher numbers.

I don't mean this to sound nasty. Max is doing great. Try to not micromanage his numbers.
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 New question about inverted curve?

I think the PM cycle on 9/10 *could* have been an inverted curve (74, up to 90 at mid-cycle, then back down to 60s). As others mentioned, one inverted curve by itself doesn’t mean a lot. We do sometimes consider patterns of inverted curves as a signal that it might be time to try a dose reduction. Usually it is something that we would look at more in conjunction with other signals rather than by itself. For others who are reading this, it is also important to note that usually this only applies when a cat is on very low doses and very close to going OTJ! Sometimes those cats stop dropping low and we have to look for other signs that a reduction might succeed.

For example, Max’s last few days on 0.25f definitely show a pattern of big inverted curves in several cycles. He had been on that dose for quite a while, getting good numbers all the time but not going low enough to “earn” a reduction. In this case, it makes sense to try a reduction to see if the inverted curves were indeed signaling a need for a dose reduction. Sure enough, Max’s numbers improved after the dose shave. Was 9/10 a sign that the same thing is starting to happen again? Maybe, but let’s wait and see if it becomes a pattern. There's no need to rush, his numbers are GREAT so sit back, relax, and watch Max surf like a pro. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 New question about inverted curve?

Sometimes the Borg Queen is not just being bossy ;-) ;-) ;-) :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 New question about inverted curve?

Dale,
I posted this at the tail end of Max's condo from the 10th when you asked about the "inverse curve". I think by that time you already had started a new one.
I wouldn't call it inverse. All the numbers are within meter varience. The 90 is the only "wonky" number. Other than that, with all those green numbers? Looks like a putting green to me. The 90 is a divot
.

Carl
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 New question about inverted curve?

Thanks everyone! As long as I don't mess this up by giving him too much insulin when I shouldn't, I'm cool. The only thing that bothers me is that he is so quite and boring. I'm not saying he's really lethargic, but he won't do much of anything except sit on the cedar chest in the upstairs bedroom or sit in the bathtub up there.

His spike right before the double dip was pretty high this morning. I suppose he may have eaten something, but I'd be surprised if he did go down the stairs and have a snack while we were sleeping. He was quite hungry when I got up.

Every 2 days or so, he has some interest in going outside. I don't think there is anything wrong with him, but if I bring him downstairs he will either eat, if I allow it, and go back upstairs or, if I don't feed him, he takes off to back up there pretty soon. He's not necessarily trying to get away from Emma. Sometimes he sits down right next to her!

Oh, well, we carry on!
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 +1.75 76 +9.5 115 +11.25 76 Strange.

Dale,
Did he hang out in the tub "back in the day", or is this something he just started recently? Is it a cast iron/porcelain claw foot tub? One of our cats, back when we had one of those tubs, used to do the same thing when the weather was warm, and we figured it was because the tub felt cooler, plus it gave him a sense of security because he was surrounded by "walls" and it wasn't likely another cat could sneak up on him. My two guys seem to find a "new favorite place" every couple of weeks in this house. I think part of the game is they want me to figure out "why" on the shelf under the computer desk is now better than on top of the fridge this week. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 +1.75 76 +9.5 115 +11.25 76 Strange.

Carl, you made me laugh! Isn't it the truth.... our cats have "favorite places" for only a couple of weeks at a time! Then they switch places for no reason, other than to confuse us beans! I've tried to discourage Tucker and Sophie from sleeping in certain areas, only to realize "why bother?" they will only be there for a couple of weeks.
Lately, Tucker has taken over spots where Sophie loved to hide, like in a box in a closet. That never used to happen..... I think since Tucker is feeling good now, he finds new things to occupy his time, like to aggravate Sophie!
 
Re: 9/11 PMPS 94 +1.75 76 +9.5 115 +11.25 76 Strange.

Hey, Carl, yes the tub, I think, started off as a cool place to be. Now, he just likes to be there, I suppose. Just like your cats and Chris' too, he moves his "place" around a lot leaving black fur all over the house! He's never hung out in the tub before, but we have never lived anywhere that gets so hot before except when we had clawfooted tub.

This tub's not clawfooted. That would be hard for him to jump into at his age. (I've had those, and I love them! I had a Victorian once in the Bay Area -- so neat! Nothing like a soaking tub. Mine is plastic, but I have to say that it is nice that there is no metal to absorb the heat from the water!). However, the tub upstairs must be metal as it's original to the house built in 78, and the room is completely dark -- no windows at all. It's on the South side of the house which has no windows on that side of the second story to speak of -- designed to keep the electric bill down quite nicely.

He also likes the cedar chest because it is directly in front of the window air conditioner. We don't need central air here, or at least we didn't until this Summer. So, we haven't replaced the 34 year old unit built by Singer of sewing machine fame! Pretty cool. The darn thing belongs in a museum, but we are going to have to cut it up into pieces to get it out of the attic when we do replace it. The lower level stays very nice and cool as we are in a little gully with a seasonal creek running by, and we had 12 vents cut in the roof of the attic to keep the upstairs from getting too hot.

Whomever built this house really knew what he was doing. I just wish the fireplace had a blower system so we could use it for heat. All the heat goes right up and out of the chimney! Good thing we can get really nice space heaters that have thermostats. We hang out in one room all Winter just like my great-grandparents did! We might install the blower system this Winter if it gets cold. Anyone heard what the experts are expecting for this Winter?
 
Not sure about the winter. I read yesterday that the experts are predicting a warmer than normal Autumn, due to the warmer than normal Summer we just went through. Oddly, it hasn't been "warmer than normal" here this Summer. I don't remember us ever getting over 100 degrees this year, and that usually happens a few times. I know it's been dryer than normal here.
Last year, we didn't really have a winter here. I remember the pear tree in the yard still having leaves and a few pears on it when the flowers started to appear earlier than they usually do. It never got really cold (for us anyway) for any length of time. We usually get sub-freezing temps for a few times in January or February, but not this year. I'm hoping for "mild" again this Winter.

Carl
 
Same here, a very warm Winter. I wish it would get cold because it worries what it means for Emma that the weather is so strange these days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top