9/12 Leo AMPS 423 3/163 6/182 8/362 +PMPS 485 +2 433

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's summary

AMPS 395
+5.75 416
PMPS 421
+2 351

Leo insists he's now partial to the red and pink pants. What a sissy, you little boy! Sigh. Mommy no like that!

I'm changing his feeding cycle today and looking for comments. The last one isn't working either for BG values or his hunger routine.

Old (all 3-4% carbs)
PS +0 3/4 can FF (he often finishes this)
+3 1/2 can FF (he's stopped eating this one, and sometimes has not finished his +0 by now either)
+6 1/4 FF (he often touches this one, rarely eats all of it)
PS ... the +0 is gone, the +3 remains (usually uneaten lately), the +6 somewhat eaten.

He used to eat more out the feeder until maybe 3-4 days ago. Perhaps to coincide with the roller coasters but I don't remember.

It was suggested (oh gosh, can't find the post) by Marje? Sienne? Anyway, it was suggested that I front load his food more, and perhaps consider a higher carb food to coincide with his nadir. Something like this:
Suggested?
+0 1/2 can (3-4%)
+1 1/2 can (8% ?)
+3 1/2 can (3-4%) [edited to give all of last 1/2 can at #3 rather than split between +2 and +3]

He's not interested in eating so much after his breakfast, so he's not getting the carbs to prepare for his nadir. If I get some higher % carbs in him around +1 or +2, that could help.

Comments on this schedule/carb change?
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423

Hope Leo quits bouncing for you soon. I can't give you any advice on a feeding schedule, but when Furball is in higher numbers she doesn't eat as much. Hope you have a good day.
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423

Hi guys .. ok leo, no more red or pink pants for you, that is just silly! We front loaded mocha as well, and it seemed to help her out .. hope the same happens for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331

Hey Peter - he must have listened to you. He went upstairs in his room while I went running and put on his big boy blue pants! Shocker!

And for the food - I'm also shocked. Using the schedule above, he ate nearly all of breakfast #1, most of #2 and just woofed most of #3!!! Maybe he was clearing the bounce and started to get hungry like Furball on lower values.

Now what affect that has on his BG remains to be seen ... especially since I thought he'd be higher right now and he's at 163 ... after a 7% meal #2. Hmmmm.
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331 +3 163

It will take more than just one or two cycles to see what the food schedule change does, but that's an interesting +3 he gave you!

This could be a pretty active cycle, but it could be that it was going to be just as active using the "old schedule" as well. If you see this become a trend, then you'll be able to make conclusions based on that.

Regardless, that's a pretty significant drop from 423 to 163, so a +4 might be a good thing. ;-) He just ate at that test, so that might slow things down.

Carl

edit - all of that assumes you tried the "new schedule" today? If not, what did he eat and when?
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331 +3 163

Hi Carl - those little four-leggers are always a surprise, right? :smile: Little Stinker

I just took a +4.25 150 (just saw your note. Was going to wait for +5ish, but he's being a reasonably good boy about testing ... because I whipped out the TUNAFISH!

I think you're right that he was going to have an interesting cycle, since he comes off bounces pretty strongly. I just wasn't sure how much of his reds/pinks were bounce and how much were new lower dose. I wonder if the 150 wouldn't have been lower if I hadn't changed his cycle!

I did the new schedule today ... I edited since I first posted it ... to recap:
+0 1/2 can 3% (ate most of right away)
+1 1/2 can 7% (ate some right away, most of it by +3)
+3 1/2 can 3% (ate most of right away)

It is unusual that he ate this volume. Lately, when it was spread throughout the day, he didn't eat it.

This is all of his food before PM mealtime - no more except testing treats (protein). He's been on 1.5 cans a cycle - so same volume, but this is just 1) *radically* changing when he gets the food, and 2) giving him more carbs at +1.
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331 +3 163 +4.25 150

OK, it looks like the feeding at +3 did slow things down, and gave you a nice number for +4.25. It will be interesting to see how the numbers play out between now and PMPS, since none of the numbers should be influenced by food.

Carl
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331 +3 163 +4.25 150 +6 182

Yup - he's doing nicely! Of course, the little stinker will probably shoot back up into reds, but this was a nice curve. Maybe because he's already had all his food, it won't be so dramatic. Thanks for chiming in!
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331 +3 163 +4.25 150 +6 182 +8 362

Well, he little stinker put his pink pants back on, skipping RIGHT OVER the nice yellow tie. Sigh. He had his last food at +3 and it was eaten shortly after, so this is all non-food numbers.
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331 +3 163 +4.25 150 +6 182 +8 362

I did not see that coming. Up to now, it just looked like a nice surfin' the blues day.
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 +1 331 +3 163 +4.25 150 +6 182 +8 362

Well, I have to admit I was a little surprised at the blues, given the bounce and the extra food at the start of the cycle, so we may just be back to pinkie/reds at PS times. He's still settling into this dose, so let's give it a couple more cycles. But fingers and paws crossed he's heading down overall!

I would gladly give up seeing greens for a while if he would settle into a pattern of yellow/blue that didn't have such radical swings from high to low.

The food experiment seemed good, so I'll repeat it tonight. HOWEVER, I will have to do some surgery to the feeder. Since he gets the food within a couple hours, I don't want the feeder advancing and moving precious food away too soon if he's asleep or wandered off somewhere. He'd have to eat all the +1 medium carb food in 2 hours, and I suspect he won't as a general rule. So, I think if I cut out the top of the feed to expose two bowls (out of 5) at a time, he can get the +3 meal and still have the +1 meal available at the same time. Then I'll have the feeder rotate both of them away by around +6ish.

Oh happy day - dancing_cat - time to go Dremel into or melt away some plastic! I suspect this will make the feeder non-refundable ...
 
Re: 9/12 Leo AMPS 423 1/331 3/163 +6 182 +8 362 +PMPS 485

Wow.... Construction Project. Let us know how it goes.
Come on Leo..... Please come down and stay down in the greens.
 
Hi Shannan - the construction will wait until at least tomorrow. I have to find my Dremel - somewhere in the basement! I'll be sure to post before and after pics if I do it!

Sadly, greens are not in the forecast. Not even a real string of blues. ::snif snif:: But if the feeding schedule would even his curves out at something less than reds and pinks, I'd be happy with that!

Thanks for stopping by!
 
I can relate. We have a cloudy forecast here as well. I can't seem to get my little striped tigger evened out either. He just likes to bong, bong, bong..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top