3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41~+6 45~+9 97 PMPS 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterdays' Condo

PMPS 273
+2 151

No other checks were made. I went to sleep and DH tested the +2.
When I heard this morning that he was 151 last night at +2 I did a check at +11 this morning to see where he was heading for shot in one hour.
59

He obviusly heard Libby & Sienne last night, lol.
I do not know what to do. He will be alone for an 1.5 hours until DPS comes in if I shoot him his 5.5.
I am not sure I have BOS this morning, he really seems to be on a roll down.
Max was so happy this morning though so I guess the low numbers did not affect him.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

I'm good for at least 45 minutes. I normally don't do a +11 since its early but Max has been stalled several times this week so the +11 was the same time as his normal AMPS.
I wanted to see what the number was so I didn't have a 10 minute panic. Now I have an hour panic, with kids need to get to school.

I will test at +11.5 and see if we are moving.Last time I shot a 73 at 5.75u and he crashed to 35, pretty quickly.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Hmm.....things seem to be changing in this condo.
I would not advise to shoot your dose with a ps this low. I looked at your ss and he did drop pretty fast on the last low ps.
Your DPS does test correct?
Post the +12 and see if he has moved. I think you may have to BCS dose this one.
See if anyone else has any thoughts.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

I know Max's condo has become like the mad hatter ride at disney.
DPS tests, no problem as much as is needed and we have gravy already in the fridge.
I'll teste gain soon but I do not think he will have a huge leap in time for shot and not too
many people are around at this time.
I might have to BCS it. I have no idea how that effects anything in the longer run by
nit giving full dose but I have to keep him safe/
I don't even want to think that he fell below 40 overnight while I was asleep.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Randi, I am not really good at dosing another cat, but here are a few options to think about. I know when I am freaking out it is a lot easier for others to come up with options than it is for me to figure out what to do next.

1. Skip the shot, which is probably not the best idea since Max has run pretty high and he is just starting to get the hang of these lower numbers.
2. Give the regular dose, at the regular time along with some medium or high carb food. And if it were me I would probably leave some low carb food out as well.
3. Give a slightly reduced dose at the regular time, and feed with Low carb in the 10% range, or a medium carb. Or maybe mix the two so you have something right around 12%.

I know this is a difficult decision and when you won't be around to monitor it makes it even worse. I wish I could teleport myself over there to give you a hand until DPS arrives.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Let me see if I can get another opinion here.
Is there any way your DPS can come a little earlier? I don't want you to lose this momentum you have going but the first thing is to keep Max safe.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Randi & Max said:
I don't even want to think that he fell below 40 overnight while I was asleep

Randi, I wouldn't know for sure, but based on what I have seen around in SS if Max had fallen below 40 over night I think you might be seeing a bit of a bounce this morning rather than the 59. My guess is he has been surfing. Which is excellent.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Cant get DPS in earlier but I could stall my departure but there will be some time alone.
I was thinking of BOS around 3.5 u or his regular dose with MC. I don't want to skip
entirely because we know Max has a strong liver and I do not want to deplete his shed.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Post your +12 and we can see which is the best option. I would not skip the shot and if you can stall and there is only a little time in between when you leave and DPS comes it may change what you can do.
Does DPS stay as long as needed?
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Going to check again. DPS is here all day. She is not really a DPS as we call her.
She is my housekeeper who has nursing training so she is excellent with Max. All those day readings are hers, not mine. I work.
I don't want to skip either so it is a question of waht Tina suggested, smaller dose or feed some MC and I am not even sure the %'s of what I have. It's all FF marinateds or grills gravy.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Randi & Max said:
I am not even sure the %'s of what I have. It's all FF marinateds or grills gravy.

Randi, I think the FF grills are around 15-18% carb. I am not sure about the marinates.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59 - Shot advice please

Miriam and Putty said:
Post your +12 and then we can make a decision. Don't fee Max yet.

Done. and no food was given and no shot. He came up a bit. That's good.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 - Shot advice please

DPS should be here at his +2 to 2.5 depending on if I shoot soon.
I can wait until 9:30 (she gets her by 10:15)
I must get to the office a I am leaving for vacation but Max is my priority.
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 - Shot advice please

If you stall another 30 minutes for shot will that throw your schedule off? I am thinking if Max goes up, stalling is like a reduction so you may be able to shoot full dose and leave food. It is only a short time before DPS gets there and she can test. You need to be comfortable though. If not then you can always shoot a reduced dose....what do you think?
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 - Shot advice please

Miriam and Putty said:
If you stall another 30 minutes for shot will that throw your schedule off? I am thinking if Max goes up, stalling is like a reduction so you may be able to shoot full dose and leave food. It is only a short time before DPS gets there and she can test. You need to be comfortable though. If not then you can always shoot a reduced dose....what do you think?
I am already at the stalled 30 minutes which is 8:30 so you mean stall from the +12 right?
I check at +12.25 and he was at 69. Will test in 5 minutes and my plans are to shoot the 5.5 and see where today goes.
What do you think?
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 - Shot advice please

I am confusing myself here......get a +12.5 and see what the number is. I think if he has gone up you will be able to shoot regular dose since you stalled...and have someone to check. Max may be going for another reduction. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 ~+12.5 70- Shot advice please

That's what I thought you meant Miriam.
He is slowly edging up.
I will shoot the 5.5 and hold my breath.

Good plan?
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 ~+12.5 70- Shot advice please

Nice BOS, Randi! Max is going great. It's so nice to see him respond so well...although maybe a little too well, at times. :lol:
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 ~+12.5 70- Shot advice please

Nice hooting Randi.
Max will be fine....he is lucky (or you are lucky) to have someone to watch him while you are gone.
I have to leave in about 45 minutes for a couple of hours. I will check in later.
Have a good day. :-D
 
Re: 3/3 Max +11 59~+12 67 ~+12.5 70- Shot advice please

Kelly & Logan said:
Nice BOS, Randi! Max is going great. It's so nice to see him respond so well...although maybe a little too well, at times. :lol:

A little bit too well Kelly. It's like a light went on in him and he is on his way down and down.
I think he is looking for that reduction but I still want to take it slow on the way down as we did on the way up. Now I understand why the move down is harder than the move up.

Miriam, thank you so much for your help this morning. Everytime I think I know what I am doing Max pulls another trick out of his hat.
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70

Look at me. Late to the party. Great hooting!! It looks like Max was serious about wanting another reduction.

You did great. I'm assuming you'll get a test before you're out the door?

A couple of points to clarify. Given that you had what was initially an unshootably low number, you could have taken a reduction this morning. I'm not exactly sure how long you stalled and that may have needed to be factored in, but the reduction is a consideration. Whether you skip, stall, or shoot a BCS dose has nothing to do with the carb level of food that you are feeding. With this PS, you can comfortably feed LC unless you need to leave, in which case you can opt to feed MC or even HC.
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70

Max's pancreas has awakened!!!!!!!! haha_smiley haha_smiley :RAHCAT
Yes the light seems to have gone on!! How happy are we for you dancing_cat party_cat dancing_cat
Go Max GO!!!!! Will be watching today!! HUGS! --BOS again!
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70

I told you he was going to hear you yesterday Sienne.
DH wanted me to reduce to 5.25-he feels at these higher doses that the % of .25 is not all that great compared to a 2u dose, of course.
I was afriad to have too many reductions so close together since Max is responding very well but every day is new to me.

The stall was half an hour so maybe a tiny reduction, I don't know. He was slowly coming up in the time between 11 and 12.5.
If he has another crazy day today I might need to consider a reduction as you know I am leaving town tomorrow afternoon and as good as DH is, it will be difficult for him to sit on the board like I do. I better show him tonight, just in case. At least he as been around for all of this craziness so he does know what to do. Worst is Max goes up when I am away and I will get him back down again.

I will do 2 more checks before leaving. +.5 and +1. DPS should be in by then.
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41

So as expected, Max dropping like a stone

recap so far:
+1 83
+2 53
+2.5 73
+3 43
+3.5 41

Problems at home with phone line, thank you Bell Canada - so it is hard to find out what is going on there. I now HC is being given but not sure if it's straight gravy or mixed
with LC.

Anys suggestions on what to feed him so early in this cycle?
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41

I swear I am gonna have to call him Mad Max from now on; he's all over those low numbers.
And boy you sure are tough. I worry about shooting a yellow haha_smiley
If I ever wake to a Shadoe with :mrgreen: I'll know who to call for help to pick me up off the floor!
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41

Unbelieveable!!! Mad Max is going green!! Looks like maybe the dose crease Really Worked flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
Now we will see what's next for Max!! The light Really Did go on :idea: :idea: :idea:
One more cycle on the new dose...Let's see where he goes :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41

Roni and Moonie said:
Now we will see what's next for Max!! The light Really Did go on
One more cycle on the new dose...Let's see where he goes
Poor DPS has not stopped testing Max since she got it.
Poor Max too. Plus there was a serviceman so he got under the bed too. From what I hear
he is not having a good time of it all.

I really cannot think of giving him this dose again tonight. It is the second time he hit the 40's (once in the 30's which could have been shed from the 5.75)
I am leaving town tomorrow afternoon and leaving Max home with DPS and DH.

I think he should be brought down to 5.25 or even 5.
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41

If you bring him down to 5.0, he's likely to lose momentum BUT you will be more confident in his being in safer territory. It's really no different than if you had a petsitter coming in. It's what will allow you to be comfortable since you are Max's bean. I'd ask about this later on when more people are around to give input. I do think he's earned the 5.25 reduction. I think the question is whether to drop to 5.0 while you're away.
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you bring him down to 5.0, he's likely to lose momentum BUT you will be more confident in his being in safer territory. It's really no different than if you had a petsitter coming in. It's what will allow you to be comfortable since you are Max's bean. I'd ask about this later on when more people are around to give input. I do think he's earned the 5.25 reduction. I think the question is whether to drop to 5.0 while you're away.
Thanks Sienne. I am hesitant at dropping him to 5 since he is doing well (a bit too quickly for me). We will be going into the weekend so DH should be okay with him and then DPS will take over on Monday (She is there weekdays only)
I will ask the question later on when everyone is PMPSing, lol.
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41

Nice job this morning, Randi! I think it's a great idea to start calling him Mad Max! It's like he's gotten a taste of the greens and never wants to leave. :)

No dosing advice from me, but I know it must be a tough decision when you're going to be gone for a week. Hopefully DH will jump on here if need be. Fingers crossed for a good cycle for Max and a low but not too low PMPS tonight. :)
 
Re: 3/3 Max AMPS 70~+3.5 41~+6 45~+10 97 - Dose Question

I would love to do an entire recap of the events today but the amounts of tests were extreme
Max's ss says it all.
Basically he was low 40's and 50's most of the day.

This is a very short time on the 5.5 but he has had 40's on it on 2 different days plus a 34.
I believe he has earned a decrease.

I will be going out of town for a week tomorrow. Max will be with DH and usual DPS. I cannot leave him at this 5.5.

My question is do I decrease to 5.25 or to 5? I don't want to lose momentum but he is really responding to this insulin. I will have full contact with home and the board (althogh not as much during the day)

Max does not look very happy when I came home. He gave me such a sad face. I cannot bear
having poked like this every second day.
 
I decreased dose tonight to 5.25.
It is funny how relieved I was to shoot a 142 where just at the beginning of the week panicked shooting 169 for the first time.
I was also happy to see that he went UP to blue. Funny how we are wired.
I hope Max can get a little more comfortable with his dose and surf clamly.

I still don't know if I should have reduced to 5, since I will be going out of town but we can always go down if he earns it.
 
I know how you feel with the poking Max like that--I have been doing it to Moonie a lot lately. Their poor ears, but it is necessary..
Go with the dose that you will feel that Max will be safe on..After all, our cats' safety is a major concern when we leave them..you can always do a little work to get him back there...
Listen to what's recommended by the people you trust here, & you'll come to a decision.
You will be away, & even though capable peeps will be there, you & Max need to be comfortable.
I will miss you--a week?? when to when??
 
Nice surf today!

I believe the 5.5 dose that Max was on is considered a high dose, so maybe you could drop to 5.0, but I really don't know. Maybe keep him at the 5.25 if DH and DPS will be around to monitor and will be able to catch a low. Then if he falls below 50 again in the next few days you could go ahead and drop to 5.0. I just don't know for sure. The highest dose that Sami was on was 1.5 units so anything over 2 is way out of my knowledge range. I am going strictly on what the protocol states.

You are lucky to have a family and DPS who are willing to take some of the responsibility of the testing. My DH didn't want anything to do with it, he kept saying that it would hurt her and he didn't want her associating pain with him. The thing about it was that Sami and I grew even closer during this whole process so his thinking was totally off. At least you don't have to worry about Max while you are away. That was the one thing that I feared if Sami stayed on insulin, I just didn't think I would ever be able to leave her home alone.

No matter what you decide to do it will all work out in the end. You now see that Max is starting to respond to the insulin. Such a huge accomplishment in the last week or so.

I hope the trip is a fun one.
 
Roni and Moonie said:
You will be away, & even though capable peeps will be there, you & Max need to be comfortable.
I will miss you--a week?? when to when??
Thanks Roni as if I won't be on the board, lol. I will miss being on it as much since I won't be at a desk with a computer on and it's hard to type on my berry. You think I would not check on my dear friends here and make sure Max is not forgotten?
Leaving tomorrow afternoon, back Wednseday afternoon.

I am still not sure whether at these higher dose the decrease should be more, like .5.
I asked this earlier but did not receive any replies before shot time and I could not stall. We are already way too late for me to attepmt to get any BT checks.

Tina, thanks for bringing that up as well. Wish I knew. If DH is not happy with his low numbers I am sure we will reduce again.
 
So glad to read that Max has "settled up" a bit! I just caught up with your high drama of today. No wonder you don't have time to go skiing!! I hope that Max's vacation dose will work out and that you will have a good week away. The kitties will keep their eyes on big, strong "Mad Max". (Thanks for taking a break from your green watch to look in on Stu, who sends his best to Max.)
Ella
 
Randi, here's my thinking about Max's DH/DPS dose:

First, 5.25 was the right choice tonight. Here, we do reductions by 0.25 units, regardless of the size of the dose (an exception would be some acros/IAA cats, who get to make their own rules).

On to the DPS dose issue: Max is on roll, which is AWESOME! I really hate to see him lose momentum right now, but he is on SUCH a roll that I'm almost positive he will keep going low. I would bet he would earn another dose reduction to 5.0 before you get back. Are your DH and DPS comfortable lather/rinse/repeating the way you are? What about at night, would they stay up at night like you do? What about stalling shots? I don't think most people's spouses would do that. For that reason, I'm leaning toward a dose while you're gone of 5.0, to make sure Max stays safe. I know they will be testing so if he goes too high (or too low) we can adjust, it just seems a lot to ask them to test all night every night. You know your DH best so if you think it's ok, then I'll go with what you say!
 
Libby
Thanks so much. I'm glad I made the right choice in reducing tonight to .25.
We have followed the protocol starting at 1u working all the way to 6u.

DH is very devoted to Max, I am very lucky. It's funny that the past 2 dramas Max had, he was home with DPS too and was busy straining cans of gravy to keep in the fridge.
He has watched me stall the shots as well these past few days. Worst case is he would shoot a reduced dose or call me. He doesn't want to start with the board (I tried, lol).
DPS is probably better then I am. She was in full control over Max today.
When I came home hugged and thanked her so much and hoped she wasn't "mad" at me for having to tend to a cat all day (she is not really a typical DPS but my housekeeper so a little beyond her call of duty)
She told me that she loves Max and that she loves to take care of him so not too worry.
I think we will stick to the 5.25 for a bit and see how that holds. DH would never let anything happene to Max or I will come home and kill him. (okay I won't). If he gets uncomfortable, he will reduce.
 
Have a wonderful trip and try not to worry too much while you're gone. It sounds like you are blessed to have DH and DPS who are so willing to care for Max and invested in this like you are (well, maybe not QUITE as much as you, but still :smile: ).

Mad Max will do just fine, and think of how happy he will be to see you when you get home. We will look forward to you checking in here while you're away so we can live vicariously through you. Or something. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top