Teronto's AMPS 389

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teronto and Pauline

Member Since 2012
I just took Teronto's AMPS and he is at 389. Last nights PMPS was 579 (I didn't do another test because he just looked fed up with me last night) I also changed his diet last night no more Friskies dry food. We are on Wellness canned food now.

So with just the food changed his number dropped significantly. I have to work today so no one will be home. My question, should I give him the 1 unit shot this morning? I won't be able to monitor him or see him until lunch today. And with the significant drop... I'm afraid to give it to him and have something go terribly wrong while I'm not here to keep a close eye on him.

Any idea what I should do? We give his shot at 7 am. I planned on a BG test at lunch today.
 
If you decide to shoot, I would leave Teronto a snack. Lantus usually starts acting 2 hours after injection do if you are planning to check at +4 you should be okay. Have you read the stickies at beginning of Lantus land? They contain a lot of valuable information.
 
Pauline

That is not a big drop over a 12 hour period especially with meter variance. I would shoot 1u, feed, leave some food out, and check him at noon. If there is any way to get a +2 before you leave...or any test...a +1 even..and post it, that would be great.

We are going to need you to please get more tests regardless of how high he is. A +2 test tells us a lot and at night, a +2 and before bed would be great.

So...just to confirm...no dry food at all right? And you won't give it to him? That would be great.

Just post and Jane can help you...I'm visiting my mom and have to sign off...if I can check in later I will.
 
I'm glad you dropped the dose.

I think Teronto should be OK with 1.0u. I would leave food out only because we don't know much about Teronto yet and the food will act as a buffer. Are you able to get any tests before you leave the house (e.g, a +1 or a +2)?
 
Hi again Pauline

I was checking to see if you'd been able to get any spot checkes after all during the night.

There is no way to know, now, whether he dipped lower than that AMPS and came back up again, or whether there has been a steadily dropping BG from last night's PMPS to this morning's AMPS. (That's why night-time spot checks are hugely valuable.)

We treat a true, steadily dropping BG differently than a normal "rise, dip, rise" cycle, because shooting a dropping number can be dangerous and requires close monitoring and more experience.

I would urge you to try very hard to get spot checks whenever you can, including at night. With the overdose background, we have to be extra careful. And I would try to check his urine for ketones. Remember my long post in your previous condo, where I mentioned DKA, which is extremely serious?

When you have time, please go over that previous thread again. There is a LOT of info for you to take in.

Especially also taking into account Teronto's huge previous dose, and since you cannot monitor at all today, I would most likely not give insulin this morning.

Any questions? (Marje/Sienne are on, let's also see what they think. I'm going on a discussion with Jill/Alex and my own thoughts.)
Hugs
Jane

Edited to add: Pauline, 1u is probably fine too. I tend to be extreeeemely cautious :lol: Thanks, Marje and Sienne!
 
Hi Pauline,
I'm so glad you came and posted here today. I hope you will keep doing so.
There is so much info coming at you now @-) but you will start absorbing it, I promise. :-D

+2 tests are really helpful to indicate possible active ( bg dropping) cycles.
And the other test times are really helpful for a newbie to learn their own cats rhythms. ECID. ( each cat is different)
You will need that data when the time comes to shoot a lower number, it really helps to have that data.

Be sure and go get some Ketostix asap if you don't have them. They are with the diabetic supplies. Some states keep them behind the
pharmacy counter. I hope Teronto is cooperative with getting urine samples. If you have problems with that one, post it and there
will be lots of help for that, just like everything else.

I wasn't on much today but I usually am here.. a lot. So I will be watching for your posts and checking to see how you are holding up.
cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top