10/14 Charlie PMPS83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +6 131 +7 229

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by charliesmom, Oct 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Hi guys,

    Charlie is still on 1.25 units, and on Oct 7 and Oct 11, she went lower.

    However, earlier this week, I saw that Sienne had suggested that we consider increasing to 1.5 units. Sienne/Others: Do you think we should do so tonight? The 1.25 is having an impact, but we're not seeing much green.

    Thanks in advance for your advice, and have a great, lazy (or productive) Sunday. Whatever makes you happiest! :smile:
    Jill
     
  2. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 Dose increase tonight?

    Happy Sunday, Jill and Co. :mrgreen:

    Here is the last Charlie Condo.

    About the increase: I'd try it. Go for the 1.5u - but *only* if you are comfortable with the possibility that once the depot has re-adjusted, Charlie *may* dip into the greens while you are out at work. Bean Comfort Level is a definite factor. Her numbers aren't terrible, but I agree that there is certainly room for improvement and the 1.5u just might get her to try and settle into a better, lower range and reduce those pinks.

    Hugs
    Jane
     
  3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 Dose increase tonight?

    I don't disagree with Jane but I do have a slightly different perspective. First, each of our cats is inherently unpredictable so no matter how well we think they're going to play by the "rules," they won't! Charlie is seeing some blue nadirs on this dose. They are, however, numbers in the higher end of the blue range. I think a dose increase would, hopefully, lower the entire range. If it were me, I'd raise the dose.

    There is always the chance that Charlie could see green numbers when you're at work. Unfortunately, you could do everything humanly possible to try to make sure those drops occur at times when you're home. I experience the same concerns. If you figure out a way to insure that Charlie will only be dramatic when you're around, could you let me know? The way I look at it is that we do our best to keep our cats in healthy numbers and to keep them safe. Our kitties don't always make it easy, though.

    OT: Jill -- could you re-post your "roll call" info in the current thread? It's at: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79617#unread
     
  4. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 Dose increase tonight?

    It's nice to see some blues with Charlie.
    Hope the new dose gets you some greens ... safe ones....
    Have a relaxed day!
     
  5. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Friends,

    SERIOUS crisis on my hands tonight. At PMPS, I read the machine and must have overlooked. I thought it said 14.6 (263)when in fact, as I now look back at the history on my machine, it actually read 4.6 (83 in US numbers).

    I increased Charlie's dose as advised.

    Just now she was standing at her bowl and STARING at me at 1.5

    I went over and decided to test her as we had just fed her 50 grams at 7pm when we gave her the 1.5 units.

    I was thinking: WHY is she so hungry. This test she was at 1.5 (32 in US numbers). Afraid we're all in for a long Sunday evening. UGH.

    I would never EVER have shot the 1.5 units if I had noticed it was only 4.6 (83 in US numbers). I am a complete and TOTAL idiot. Maple syrup and beef right now. Please, if someone is online, can you hang out for a bit? This feline diabetes is going to give me a heart attack.
     
  6. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    i'm here.

    please retest in 15 - 20 minutes from when you gave the maple syrup.

    how is she acting?
     
  7. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Thank you so much, Jill. She is laying down on her chair at the kitchen table, sleeping.
     
  8. Camille and Cyclone

    Camille and Cyclone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    As long as she's not showing any symptoms besides hunger, you're okay. You can control this with high carb and Charlie will be fine.

    Do you have high carb cat food? That's really better than maple syrup, only because the syrup acts fast but wear off quickly.
     
  9. Deborah & Shasta

    Deborah & Shasta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    I'm here for moral support, but not one to give advise (still a beginner at all this stuff). Blame the misread on FD fog! Just glad you noticed something was off with Charlie's behavior. Any update?
     
  10. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    ok. let's see where she's at at the next test.

    how long will it take you to get to an ER vet should it become necessary? hopefully it won't be necessary, but i have to ask since she's low this early in the cycle.

    when you get a chance, please update your ss.
     
  11. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    I can offer you some moral support for a while. I can only give advice that I have read in other condos from the wise ones. Don't beat yourself up. We all do things like that once in a while. At least you caught it. Don't feed her too much at once or she won't want to eat later if you need her to. Test every 20-30 minutes until you get a couple of high numbers.
     
  12. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43

    This test she's at 43.
     
  13. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    sorry, but i have o disagree with camille's advice.

    it's too early in the cycle.

    we need a quick bump in sugar levels before onset. charlie was on a steady decline throughout the previous cycle.
     
  14. Camille and Cyclone

    Camille and Cyclone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Going in the right direction! Keep testing every 15-20 minutes and keep giving small amounts of whatever high-carb or syrup you have.

    Edit: You're right, Jill, a quick bump is needed.
     
  15. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Don't forget to BREATHE. You can do this.
     
  16. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43

    better!

    any chance you can rub a little syrup on her gums to spike her up a little more?

    we don't want to feed her too much this early in the cycle. if she gets too full she may vomit... and that's something we don't want to happen.

    please retest in another 20 minutes.

    we'll be here...
     
  17. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    ER vet is a 13 minute drive away according to google maps. I will quickly call them to see if anyone is there tonight (just as a backup plan). My partner and I will rub some maple syrup on her gums now.

    Charlie has moved to her testing chair in the living room, where she's laying down right now. I'm feeling very very worried right now. I must admit. I'm so sorry I shot this girl tonight. WHY!
     
  18. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    ER vet is open and we can call them anytime, they say, in case something happens. Charlie just got a little syringe of syrup in the mouth. A second ago, I saw her cleaning herself (her paw) so I hope it is trending upwards. Will test again now.
     
  19. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    good thinking.

    go easy with food right now. better to use syrup to spike her before onset. we'll want her hungry soon.

    breathe. no beating yourself up now. let's see where she is on the next test.

    i must tell you...
    i don't fool around with low numbers early in the cycle. if i think you'll be better off going to the ER i will tell you.
    that said, if you're more comfortable going to an ER now... by all means go. be sure to take the syrup with you to administer along the way.
     
  20. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Test came out at 45 even after the syringe of maple syrup. More syrup?
     
  21. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    yes, more syrup. try rubbing it on her gums...

    please retest in 15 minutes.


    ETA: what +hour are we at now?
     
  22. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43

    We shot PMPS at 7pm. It's 9:18pm now. Last test was at 9:10pm.
     
  23. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    last test result was roughly 45 @ +2.25.
    thank you!

    i'll be waiting for the next test result. not going anywhere...
     
  24. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    No. THANK YOU, Jill. I mean it. You guys are a Godsend.
     
  25. Sonia & Tom (GA)

    Sonia & Tom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Here for moral support. You have a great team online.
    Do you have chocolate? For yourself?
     
  26. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    no problem. we've all been in your shoes and someone has helped us through low numbers.
    just paying it forward. :mrgreen:

    btw, you're doing great!
     
  27. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    You're doing great right now. Just remember to keep breathing. Since you have Jill & Alex to help you out, I'm going to log off. I'll check back in later and see how you and Charlie are doing.
     
  28. Leslie and Jasper

    Leslie and Jasper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Jill you are doing great, and you have great support from Jill & Alex. Many others of us are here suppporting you behind the scenes while keeping out of the way while you tend to Charlie Kat.
     
  29. snorton

    snorton Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    You can do this!! Take a deep breath and a big cup of coffee. You are doing great.
     
  30. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +2.5 43

    at 9:26pm, she's at 43.2. @-)

    She is laying on her chair resting.
     
  31. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    ok, roughly 43 @ +2.5.

    decision time.

    we have a ways to go before nadir and she hasn't come up much.

    you may want to seriously consider taking her to an ER where they will put her on a dextrose drip to prevent her from bottoming out.

    what do you think?


    "IF" you opt to go to the ER (which is the safest thing to do)...
    take the syrup and your testing supplies with you. you may want to give her a little syrup on the way. from the looks of her ss, the dose shot tonight will be kicking in at any time now. keeping her numbers up may be an uphill battle.
     
  32. Courtney and Kismet

    Courtney and Kismet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Hi, I am here for moral support and can't really give advice, but Marje had me feed tsps of LC with a drop of syrup when Kismet had really low numbers. You might try giving a tsp of LC food and retest to see if you can get Charlie's numbers up and encourage a surf at a higher number.
     
  33. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    56 at 9:41pm

    Just gave more maple syrup from the syringe. Growl, says my sweet kitty.
     
  34. Courtney and Kismet

    Courtney and Kismet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Great! You're doing an awesome job! Have you tried feeding a tsp of LC?
     
  35. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    courtney, thank you for offering your support, but charlie is not in that type of situation right now. her numbers have been dropping steadily since the last cycle.
     
  36. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Spoke to my Danish partner about the ER option. The Dutch healthcare/vet care system is not very preventative. They do not like taking measures until they deem them to be absolutely necessary. My partner thinks if we go there, they will not put Charlie on the dextrose drip if her number is in the normal range, which it is at this very moment. I will call the ER back once more by phone just to see what they say and find out how much that would cost and if they'd consider it.
     
  37. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    56 at roughly +2.75.
    better! 50's are so much better, but we have to remain vigilant because this is all syrup talking.

    at this point, i'd offer a couple teaspoons of hc. recent nadirs have been close to +5 from what i can see. so, there's a ways to go yet.

    please retest in 20 minutes...
     
  38. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    ok. it's your call.

    here's the thing...
    you want to balance syrup and food to keep her up high enough so that when she nadirs it won't be too low.
    we also want to feed judiciously as we don't want her to become so full that she'll vomit.
     
  39. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    jill, how are you and your partner doing?
    can you stay awake if you attempt to manage this from home or would you be better off taking charlie to an ER?
     
  40. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Hi Jill,

    The ER vet receptionist has me on hold while she goes to speak to the ER Dr.

    MY partner just tested Charlie again now at 10pm and she is at 52.

    We are not really feeding Charlie a lot right now. We give her a bit of tuna each time we test, and thus far, every single test is followed up with a bit of maple syrup from the syringe.

    ER vet's assistant says they sometimes give glucose fluids if necessary via IV. I'm still on hold waiting to see what she advises us, but she does not seem so concerned.

    I am drinking a cappuccino, though I'd really much rather have a strong glass of wine at the moment. My better judgment has me with espresso.
     
  41. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    ha! you're making me laugh! yes, put the wine on hold for now. :lol:

    you're doing a great job! all we want to do is keep her numbers high enough so that she won't bottom out at nadir. we also don't want to feed her too much because we don't want her to vomit. it's kind of a balancing act with food and syrup.
     
  42. MelanieAndRacci

    MelanieAndRacci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

    Here in the background also watching. I would also add 1 tsp LC with syrup the next test. When was her last test?

    Melanie & Racci
     
  43. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52

    My partner has been feeling sick with the flu all day. I am doing fine, other than the stress feeling.

    Vet's assistant says I should check his sugar, but that testing once an hour is enough. What do you think?

    They say I should give her syrup and food, and keep testing and stay awake until her nadir if I keep her at home.

    If I go there, it will be minimum 300 euros and they will keep her overnight.

    Right now Charlie has moved to the floor. Think she has now associated the chair with being bothered.
     
  44. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 5

    in this particular case, i'm not comfortable testing at hour intervals until after nadir, but that's just me. she's been trending downwards since her AM shot... which has added a little oomph on to an increased dose. imho, you should attempt to keep her numbers up... i'd like to see them a bit higher yet before she nadirs.

    jmo.
     
  45. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

    RECAP:

    PMPS (7pm) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30pm) = 32
    +2 (8:52pm) = 43
    (9:10pm) = 45
    (9:41pm) = 56
    +3 (10:00 pm) = 52
    +3.5 10:30pm = 54
     
  46. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

    Completely agree with you Jill. That is the plan. We have enough test strips.
     
  47. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

    GMTA! :lol:
     
  48. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

    I have no clue what that means. Let me guess.

    GMTA: get me to alcohol!
     
  49. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

    lololololol! i like your definition better than mine!

    GMTA = great minds think alike!
     
  50. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    RECAP:

    PMPS (7pm) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30pm) = 32
    +2 (8:52pm) = 43
    (9:10pm) = 45
    (9:41pm) = 56
    +3 (10:00 pm) = 52
    +3.5 10:30pm = 54

    By the way, I think the reason I misread the number at PMPS is because I read that a man was about to jump out of a plane from the stratosphere to earth. That was on TV at the moment I did Charlie's test tonight. I think my mind was off worrying about that nutcase. Now I think: What an accomplishment (for him, not me, obviously).

    We will keep testing at home until you tell us it's OK.

    Meantime, we usually give charlie 50 grams of food before bed at 10:30pm. In this case, should we give food as normal? Or keep doing what we're doing (bit of tuna, test .. if needed... more maple syrup)?
     
  51. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    hmmm... since she hasn't come up much how about feeding half the normal lc amount now with a drop of syrup mixed in OR feed a little hc rather than the lc.

    i'd like to see a bump in numbers... 60s would be nice... before nadir.

    you don't want her to get a full tummy before nadir. in other words, let's keep her a little bit hungry "in case" you have to get her to eat again soon.

    all we're trying to do is bump her up a little before nadir and keep her from getting too full right now.

    if i were in your shoes, i'd retest in 30 minutes.

    thanks for recapping along the way. it's very helpful.
     
  52. knolet

    knolet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    Here for moral support too, you are doing great! Keep up the good work.
     
  53. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54 +4 47

    RECAP:

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup

    She only ate about half of the food. Think she's getting sick of the maple syrup taste. I know I would be.
     
  54. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    Those 40s are pretty persistent today. Glad you gave some syrup, since she seems to need those extra carbs right now. I know she has had a lot of it but it's better than trying to cram even more food into her when she is full. Is she acting ok?

    You're doing great!
     
  55. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    do you think she's not enthused about eating because of the syrup or that she's simply not hungry?

    you could try a teaspoon of hc food if you think she'll eat it... or let her lick a little gravy from the hc.
     
  56. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    how are you doing, jill?
     
  57. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54 +4.5 6

    Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Just off the phone with my parents, had to test again, and saw my sick partner off to bed.

    Back in action.

    RECAP:

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68

    Checked the food and what actually happened was that Charlie ate 3/4th's of it. She licked all the gravy and maple syrup off the meat. What was left was just a bit of the meat. I still have 1/2 portion left of Charlie's normal, nightly meal that we usually feed at 10:30 PM.

    Let me know when you think it's a good idea to give that. I will stay awake for as long as necessary. I'm tired, but I can manage.

    Thanks for sticking by my side tonight.

    Charlie seems to be doing OK. Laying on the chair under our kitchen table resting.
     
  58. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    More moral support!!
    You are doing great!
    I'm so very glad you caught this!
     
  59. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +4.5 68

    Me too, Rhiannon. From now on, my motto is: Trust thy cat.

    She was sitting at her bowl looking up at me at +1.5

    I thought, NO WAY are you hungry Charlie. I JUST fed you. Then I thought, well, she usually knows when she needs food. Guess I should test her.

    Glad I did, and VERY glad Jill was online when the crisis hit.
     
  60. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68


    awesome! she got a few more carbs into her! i'm liking that 68! :mrgreen:
    i'd hold off on additional foods at the moment and retest in 30 - 40 minutes.

    happy to hear you're managing. i know it's tough when our kitties drop at night.


    unfortunately, i can't stick with you any longer due to some previously made plans. however, i've been in contact with libby (libby/lucy). she posted earlier in the thread. she'll stick with you for now. i've also heard from marje and sienne. they're both aware of what's going on with charlie and will be checking in. so, i'm leaving you in very capable hands. you and charlie will be just fine with them.

    i'll check back as soon as i get home.
    hopefully, this will be over and you'll be sound asleep.
     
  61. Sonia & Tom (GA)

    Sonia & Tom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    Numbers are looking up! Good work.
     
  62. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    moral support - you're doing great!
     
  63. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
    +5 (12 AM) = 72

    Thanks for all your help Jill. Glad there are others in the neighborhood to keep up the coaching. For now, I will not feed the rest of the food. Will only feed tuna treats at next test. Didn't give maple syrup this last test at +5. Let's see how things develop. I will retest again in 30 mins.
     
  64. Tara & Buster

    Tara & Buster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    Great job to both Jill's! Don't you love how Charlie naps while you're freaking out? No advice from me, but looks like you're in fantabulous hands. Sending well wishes from overseas!
     
  65. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    That sounds like a good plan. I'll be popping off and on and keeping an eye out.
     
  66. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
    +5 (12 AM) = 72

    This is encouraging! Did she receive any food after the 68?

    I know how tired you are (trust me, I know, Lucy LOVED to throw low numbers at her "before bed" test so there was no before bed). Hang in there, you're doing great.
     
  67. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    Don't think she had any more food after the 68. She did, however, have a LOT of maple syrup until now. When I fed her just before that 68, there was also maple syrup on her LC beef.

    Tara, you are SO, SO RIGHT. I freak out. Charlie yawns. When she gets to the point where she rolls on her back and starts purring and sunbathing, I'll know it's time to go to bed. Haha.

    For now, still resting under the table on one of the kitchen chairs.
     
  68. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +5.5 9

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
    +5 (12 AM) = 72
    +5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
     
  69. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    awesome!

    I would really like to see at least one more test before calling things off for the night. If you set an alarm for 1 hour, will you wake up?

    If so, then I would give a little low carb (if she is hungry) and doze for an hour. Hopefully that number will be up and you can go to bed for real.
     
  70. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    Great catch today, Jill and also great job. Sienne and I have been waiting in the wings and staying out of the way but just wanted to let you know we are both still around. Looks like everything is good. Because syrup tends to wear off in about two
    hours and it looks like you last gave her some at +4, I might get one more test at +6 and if she's still coming up, I'd rest a bit.

    eta: libby and I cross posted. If she's ok with an hour until the next test, I'd do that.

    One other thing....could you please take off the 911 before you go to bed? Rebecca, the webmaster, prefers those don't get left up once things are resolved. thanks, Jill. sleep well.
     
  71. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    I wanted to add that the reason I'm looking for a little more cushion in the numbers is that sometimes Charlie drops later in the cycle. We want to leave enough room for her to be able to drop again if she wants to, but still be high enough to be ok.
     
  72. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    Libby: You are so on top of things, and that's my worry too. I'd love to go to bed soon, but I'm also a bit worried about Charlie's late cycle activity that always seems to come. I will test her now and then you guys can give me advice on next steps. First things first.
     
  73. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    Just checking back in to see how you and Charlie are doing. It's good to see her numbers are coming up. Keep it up. You're doing great.
     
  74. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6 131

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
    +5 (12 AM) = 72
    +5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
    +6 (1:02 AM) = 131
     
  75. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

    let's see what the number is. Once the bounce starts, you're in the clear. The main reason I suggested waiting an hour instead of 30 minutes is to give the carbs a little time to clear out so we could see if the increase over the last couple of hours is a real increase (like the beginning of a bounce) or if it is still carb influenced. But testing again now certainly won't hurt anything, and if she IS bouncing then you can get to bed that much sooner.

    Hindsight being 20/20, it looks like what happened tonight was that you increased her dose right when a bounce was clearing. Downward momentum from the bounce clearing + dose increase = a whole bunch of momentum. I know you misread the PMPS number, and I have totally made more than my share of mistakes so I can understand how that happened. :? I would have increased too, if I thought she was at 263. I would go back down to 1.25 tomorrow, though.
     
  76. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
    +5 (12 AM) = 72
    +5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
    +6 (1:02 AM) = 131

    we cross-posted! No food since the 47, right? Or at least not much. She has come up from 72 to 131 (almost double) in the last hour, without food. This looks like she is probably starting to bounce. I think you're good to feed her and get some rest. Maybe grab a test in the night if you're up, just to be sure. You could even give her a higher carb snack before bed. That's what I used to do when I knew I *should* be ok to sleep, but I didn't trust Lucy. It can't hurt to be conservative, given Charlie's history of drops at +7-ish. What do you think? You know Charlie best.
     
  77. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

    I'm thinking of going back down to 1.25 tomorrow too.

    Just for my learning, why did you say you thought Charlie was clearing a bounce when she had a low number at PMPS tonight? I didn't see a significantly high number prior to that so I'm not sure i get it.
     
  78. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

    Think I'll do 1 more test in ten mins, and if it's still going up, I'll give the rest of the LC plus some maple syrup so there's a tiny bit of a cushion. There have been a few times when Charlie dipped at +7 and even +10 so this will keep things a bit on the safer side. If I can wake up in the night to test, I will.
     
  79. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

    sounds like a plan.
     
  80. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

    Like I said, it's all hindsight, which would be a lot more convenient if it would happen in advance. :lol:

    Looking just at today, she was high this morning, blue in mid-cycle, then green at PMPS. Filling in the blanks, it looks like she probably took one big slide today, rather than going down and back up like a normal cycle. So it looks like she was clearing a bounce. A bounce from what? I'm not sure exactly, but there could have been some lower numbers on 10/11 in the AM cycle. She was dropping into +2 so probably went green, then she shot up from there. She could have even been bouncing from something yesterday.
     
  81. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6 131

    PMPS (7 PM) = 83
    +1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
    +2 (8:52 PM) = 43
    (9:10 PM) = 45
    (9:41 PM) = 56
    +3 (10:00 PM) = 52
    +3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
    +4 (11 PM) = 47
    Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
    +4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
    +5 (12 AM) = 72
    +5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
    +6 (1:02 AM) = 131
    +6.5 (1:35 AM) = 158

    Just put out the rest of the LC beef with a few drops of maple syrup. Will go to bed now, and if I wake up to go to the bathroom, I'll test again in the middle of the night. If not, I'll test in the morning before Charlie's morning shot of 1.25 again.

    Thank you all for your vigilance and support today. I appreciate all the experienced eyes, the advice, and even the support from those of you who just dropped in to give me a few words of encouragement. It helped me get through. Thanks for that.
     
  82. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

    ni-ni Jill. Good work tonight. :mrgreen:
     
  83. Deborah & Shasta

    Deborah & Shasta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

    Jill, hope you're asleep by now, but just wanted to say GREAT JOB TONIGHT!!!!! Sleep well and sweet dreams!
     
  84. charliesmom

    charliesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    10/14Charlie PM 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6 131 +7

    +7 = 229

    Now she's eating the LC with maple syrup, so I think sleep is definitely in the cards, and I'm not so worried about the need to wake up and test.

    Thanks again for being there, guys.

    Jill
     
  85. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +6 131 +7

    yep, there's the bounce for sure. Sleep well!
     
  86. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +6 131 +7

    Zoom!!

    Have a good night's sleep.
     
  87. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +6 131 +7

    Good job and good night....sleep tight!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page