10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 +4 52 +4.5 67 +5.5 79 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 +4 52 +4.5 67 +5.5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member since 2012
Yesterday

Good morning everyone. Feeling like a major zombie after a work conference last night and not enough sleep. COFFEE!!!!

Charlie seems to be coming down from her bounce. Both of us are back at work today so I left out extra food, which Charlie devoured before I even left the house. Duh!

Cats will be cats. What can you do?

At least I got a GIANT snuggle this morning from the little diabetic bundle of love. That should get me through this work day.

It's WED already. Tonight we meet a potential cat sitter for when we go to Dk. Hoping for good luck!

Have a good one,
Jill
 
Re: 10/1 Charlie AMPS 310 +2 259

Good luck with the meeting with the petsitter. I hope it works out for you. I hope Charlie surfs safely for you today.
 
Re: 10/1 Charlie AMPS 310 +2 259 Tips for Cat Sitter?

Going to meet a cat sitter tonight? Does anyone have any tips for how to instruct her?

- Do cat sitters do blood tests too? Or just give insulin? I think I know the answer to this one, but as the woman will only come twice a day at AMPS and PMPS, I guess I will ask her to do a blood test before each insulin shot, and I will have her give 1 unit of insulin instead of the 1.25 we are giving now. I will also ask her to leave out a bit more food than normal at each feeding, since Charlie will only get meals 2 times a day at the times when the woman comes to my house.

- The cat sitter said she can only come at 8:30 and 8:30, so we will also need to gradually move charlie's shot times back from 7am. Should we do this by 15 minutes each day until the day we leave? Assume so.

Thanks for your input. Not sure what to tell the person and how to instruct them so we have the least amount of risk in this weekend away.
Jill
 
Re: 10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 Tips for Cat Sitter?

One thing I would definitely do is make a sample syringe that has your dose drawn. Use a colored liquid (milk, juice, colored water). Having a visual of what these little doses look like is a big plus so the petsitter doesn't shoot the wrong amount.

You'll also want to set a "no shot" number. In other words, If Charlie's pre-test is below a certain point, she should skip the shot. I would think a no-shot of 175 (or even 200) since you don't want her shooting green numbers.

I'm going back and forth about your dose. Charlie can dive. (For example from 329 to 29 on 1.25u). Having a petsitter give a dose that's on the marking of the syringe is a plus for the 1.0u. I'm just going back and forth about 0.75u since that really should keep Charlie safe.

Make sure you leave the phone number and location of your vet and emergency clinic. Tell her you want reports -- even if it's a 1-line text that Charlie's fine.
 
Re: 10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 +4 52 Tips for Cat Sitter?

That's very good advice, Sienne. Thanks for that. I was wondering the same thing actually on the dose. I actually told the cat sitter 1 unit, but then after she left, I said to Lona, "I bet you by the time we get ready to go to Copenhagen, Charlie will throw us another curve ball and already have her dose reduced to 1 unit. Then maybe the cat sitter should give .75"

Now, here we are and Charlie just pulled a 52 at +4.

Thought I was about to go to bed.

Thank you Charlie.
Jill
 
Re: 10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 +4 52 Tips for Cat Sitter?

So if it`s going to be .75u is there any way to draw an extra line on all the sryinges? Or fatten the 1.0 line with a fine tipped Sharpie so the end of the syringe lines up with it at what would be .75u? Just thinking out loud... :razz:
 
Re: 10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 +4 52 +4.5 67

Thanks for the tip, Alexa. Just might try that. Lots could happen between now and our trip. This is Charlie we're talking about. Maybe we'll be marking off .75 and maybe we'll be marking off higher? Who knows? Your guess is as good as mine. :smile:
 
Re: 10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 +4 52 +4.5 67

Wow ... Charlie is green and on a mission.
Hope Charlie can surf and enjoy some green for a few hours.

I would definitely want the sitter to communicate numbers with me. My dd always texts me the number so I know and can breathe.
 
Re: 10/17 Charlie PMPS 272 +3 101 +4 52 +4.5 67

when are you leaving, and for how long? You're right, lots can happen.

As Sienne mentioned, we usually suggest having petsitters give a dose that can be measured on a line. They are not likely to be as detail-oriented with in-between doses as we are. We also tend to procrastinate until the last possible minute before suggesting a petsitter dose, because cats love to make us change our plans. :roll:

It also depends somewhat on what the cat's numbers look like - a cat that is all pink on 1u probably doesn't need to be reduced much for a petsitter, but a cat that hits 52 on 1u might need to be reduced to 0.5u for the petsitter. Also consider how well Charlie usually eats when you're away, and what you want the petsitter to do if she can't get a test.
 
10/18 Charlie AMBG 175 shoot or stall?

Yesterday

Seems abit low. Think we willstall for 30 mins n hope she goes up a bit. What's the minimum number to shoot the 1.25 in your opinion? Or should I consider a dose decrease to 1 unit?

Jill
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top