10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=417,+2=375

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

Yesterday 10/16

Hello, couldn't post at work today as no internet.

Recap of yesterday:

AMPS = 389
PMPS = 317
+2.5 = 322
+6.5 = 358
+10 = 350

Today:
AMPS = 356
+5.5 = 350 (DH had trouble with the test and took 5 tries)
No testing after this as Scratchie wouldn't let DH test
+11 = 21 - gave gravy and karo - waited 20 minutes
417, immediately tested again - 381

Currently waiting another 20 minutes to see what's up. Tested meter on myself and my number was 99 - he's bouncing all over the place!! No symptoms again, absolutely none. Playful and eating a lot - that's it.

Haven't updated SS but will when he is stable. Do I shoot?? Do I shoot full 3u?
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=21 - Shoot ques

did you re-test the 21 right away to see if it was an accurate number? Or just the re-test after 20 minutes, at 417? Anything weird about the test, like too much blood, too little blood?

I'm inclined to think the 21 was a bad test. He has risen quickly before at +12, but not THAT fast. What does your gut say?
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=21 - Shoot ques

Jo

I have to think that 21 was a strip error. Especially since you retested the the 417. It would have been better to retest the 21 before you gave the karo BUT I don't believe the karo/gravy would have taken him up that high in 20 mins ....I don't even think a bounce would take him that high in 20 mins.

I'd test again...if he's still in the 300s, I'd shoot his full dose. And be sure and get a +2. If you get another wonky number when you test, then retest.
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=21 - Shoot ques

Thanks Marje, weird and you're right - I panicked and should have just pulled another.

He's at 420 again so I'll shoot the full 3u?
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=21 - Shoot ques

Yes....give that boy his 3u of juice :-D

Any time you get a low number like that, take a breath and retest. It's shocking and scary but one extra minute won't matter. Good job!
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=417,

Thanks Libby - both you and Marje are right, I panicked and should have immediately retested now he's showing high.

Ok, full dose now.

Thanks and sorry I'm such a loser and screwed up! :oops:

Jo
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=417,

You are not a loser and you did not screw up! The first time Gracie gave me a 39, I did not retest. I pumped a ml of karo in her mouth ...and she was that low...but I didn't need to give her that much karo.

It's always smart to be cautious...insulin is wonderful for our little diabetics but it can also be dangerous. Ni don't think you spiked him that much with the karo and it will wear off. Everything is absolutely fine!

You did great...do not beat yourself up.
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=417,

Don't beat yourself up over what happened. It's easy to panic and just react. I still have to stop and remind myself to take a breath before I react to a lower number. If you see a number that seems out of whack (low or high), it is always best to retest right away. I learned that the hard way too. You're doing a great job with Scratchie and I'm sure he knows what you're doing is to help him.
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=417,

Thanks everyone, now if I can get DH to not be mad at me, things will be fine.

Have a nice evening.
 
Re: 10/17 -Scratchie-amps-356, +5.5=350, +11=417,

I don't know why your DH should be mad at you!! Scratchie was clearly not amused with DH.

We've all been there -- see a low number and react. No worries.
 
Is DH not liking the drama?
If that had been a real number, that would have been scary.
I think seeing low numbers makes everyone flinch and forget for a minute or two what they should do next.
Our brain is filled with that , "oh crap, what do I do now?" flight of thought.
I think it takes more than once for most of us to start thinking instead of panicking.

And every thing we do seems to always have a lesson attached.

I hope DH is giving the treats.
I had recently discovered that if I picked up the bag of treats while I'm putting the strip in the meter getting ready to test that I had
all of her attention and she was anticipating her reward.
I hadn't been doing that. Just shaking her little bag she chooses to participate.
Maybe that would help him ( DH, that is....)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top