10/20 Zeus AMPS 251

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
10/19 Condo

Happy Saturday Morning, LL! ~O)

Hope you all are doing well and seeing great numbers for your kitties. Mr. Zeus is good, he ate VERY well this morning. Lots of presents in the LB. only a mid yellow to start the day. We saw some mid blues in the PM cycle, I was so happy for that. And the really great news, another successful flank shot :smile: I have bee so nervous about it because of the first unsuccessful shot. Zeus didn't seem to mind it either, so that was helpful. I really hope the switching sites will bring more consistently lower numbers.

Hope everyone has a great day,

Kathie
 
Hi Kathie!

I hope you were able to get some tests in today. I've been studying Zeus's SS and also read back through a couple condos.

First...please do not let your vet talk you into another fruc test. It's money down the drain. You are getting real time tests and you don't need the fruc test. I would be insistent that if he wants to know how Zeus is doing, he can look at his SS. It will tell him far more that a fruc test.

Second...shooting in the flank "might" increase the rate of absorption but it won't lower his BG. To tell you the truth, I shoot scruff, chest, and flank and alternate and I don't even see a difference in the rate of absorption. Studies have shown that, regardless of where you shoot, the degree of absorption in the same dose in the same cat can vary as much as 25-50% from day to day. So...shoot where you and he are most comfortable and you have the least chance of a fur shot.

Third...I read you want to get him regulated. I think there is the potential that he needs more insulin but there are several cycles where there are no tests. . Overall, I think you err doing a great job of testing but cycles like the pm of 10/18 where there is no data leads me to wonder what he might have done although it looks like he just continued clearing the bounce.

Fourth...when you get a number you are worried about shooting, do not feed him but post and let us walk you through it. Skipping shots does not help him...the best way to work towards regulation is consistent shooting and learning to shoot low by having experienced members walk you through it. And we stay online with you....if you shoot low based on someone's advice, then that person will stay with you or hand you over to another person.

If it were me, if he did not get into blue or green today or tonight, I'd increase his dose in the morning and be sure you get a +2 and mid cycle tests. If the +2 is much less than the PS, you will want to get additional tests and there is potential for an active cycle.

If he came down into blue/green today or tonight, I'd hold the dose. Please let me know if you have any questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top