10/21 Zeus AMPS 225 +4 104 +5.5 65 +7 74 PMPS 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
10/20 Condo

Morning all ~O)

Thanks for stopping by yesterday Angela. And Marje, wow, thanks! I really appreciate you going back through all of that stuff and studying the SS. That is awesome, and thanks for all of the info and suggestions.

I did get a few extra tests during the AM cycle yesterday, Zeus decided to surf in the pinks. I got one test in the PM cycle... Had fallen asleep really early on the sofa, but woke up just long enough for another pink number, and back to sleep - didn't wake up once.

Yeah, I don't really understand why the vet wants to do a fruc test again in 3 weeks... He hasn't wanted to do anything since May. I am not going to go back for the fruc test, will just send him the numbers. The only reason I brought Zeus in was because I thought he was going to run some other tests to see if something else was going on with Zeus... Had I known all he would do was the urine and fruc I would have opted out.

We haven't gotten too many low numbers, but I have posted for help a few times. I really hated to skip the shot on the 14th, unfortunately there was another crisis at the same time, topped with the fact that Mr. Zeus was not coming up at all in his numbers (without food). By the time he started to rise, I knew I couldn't change his next shot time as I would be at work.... But believe me, I beat myself up over it, I felt so bad, like such a bad mom. That fur shot on the 17th killed me as well.

I did not get your message about the increase in time for the AM shot. I will try to get some additional tests today, and if we don't see better numbers I will increase tonight. I have to admit though, I am nervous about it. I increased it on the 14th and then got a 52 at +8, and then 65 at +12, this was the night I skipped the shot. I won't be able to get any extra tests in tomorrow during the AM cycle.

As for today, all is normal in Zeus Land :smile:

Hope everyone is having a good day,
Kathie
 
Re: 10/21 Zeus AMPS 225 +4 104

Marje offered some great suggestions. The only thing I would add is to not hold on to doses for overly long when they are not bringing Zeus into good numbers. Three weeks is a long time to be at one dose if your cat isn't already tightly regulated. You end up risking glucose toxicity. If glucose toxicity develops, it makes it even harder to get a good response to insulin.
 
Re: 10/21 Zeus AMPS 225 +4 104

Thanks Sienne, just a clarification question if I may. I thought that if I skip a shot or if I give a fur shot/reduced shot that the timing starts over? I have had a couple of fur shots, and one skipped shot during that three week period. When I increased on the 14th, I saw low numbers and ended up skipping the PM shot. Someone told me that I probably increased too quickly. Sorry for all the questions... Just wanting to understand. Thanks for your help, I really do appreciate it.
 
Re: 10/21 Zeus AMPS 225 +4 104 +5.5 65

Ok, another clarification question... Based on a green 65 at + 5.5, do I still increase tonight? I can monitor tonight, but not tomorrow during the AM cycle.
 
Well Mr. Zeus had a nice string of greens today, and now a blue at PMPS. Pretty happy with that. I will get some tests tonight as well to see where we are at.

Hope everyone is having a good night,
Kathie
 
Hi Kathie,
seems you didn't get an answer for your questions....
It really helps to go back down to that original post and add a question mark or change the subject to question ? or dosing??

There is sometimes so much going on that it is easy to get missed.

Nice cycle today. Hope Zeus keeps it up tonite.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top