DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME ENDS 11/4 ***TIME CHANGE***

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Oct 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 4th at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule, but we can deal with it.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

    If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
    • Friday AMPS at 7:15
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    (Please bump this post until 11/4.)
     
  2. snorton

    snorton Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
  3. ecurie

    ecurie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    thanks and
    bump
     
  4. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Thank you, and bump.
     
  5. squeem3

    squeem3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Bump.

    Don't forget to disable the DST setting in your User Control settings here on FDMB as well :smile: Otherwise you may become confused when you see that all posts are off by an hour.
     
  6. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    This is very useful thanks - its also useful if you have to move the time for whatever reason.

    I usually shoot at 9am and 9pm but over thanksgiving I needed to be out later due to visiting family etc so I gradually pushed out the time to 11 and 11 so I could be home later. and then moved it back after. Maybe this merits a sticky?
     
  7. knolet

    knolet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    This is awesome, thanks! I was just wondering about this over the weekend when i noticed it was dark soooo early! How did others handle the time change.

    Thanks again,
    Kathie
     
  8. Donna & Doogle

    Donna & Doogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Thanks for the info ! I was wondering what to do on that day, now I know. ;-)
     
  9. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
  10. Barb & Checkers (GA)

    Barb & Checkers (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks Sienne. Once again, I don't have to figure it out myself. :D
     
  11. Thanks Sienne, hope you've had a great day. Thanks for keeping us in line!!

    Jo
     
  12. ecurie

    ecurie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
  13. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
  14. Pam & Hoot

    Pam & Hoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
  15. MelanieAndRacci

    MelanieAndRacci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
  16. ecurie

    ecurie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
  17. ecurie

    ecurie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
  18. Mike and Bj

    Mike and Bj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Crap, I never thought about this. Thanks, Sienne!
     
  19. GregFurBall

    GregFurBall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
  20. Natalia & Enana

    Natalia & Enana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
  21. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  22. kay&junior

    kay&junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Thanks Sienne, would have gone right by me....
     
  23. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
  24. Natalia & Enana

    Natalia & Enana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
  25. snorton

    snorton Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Don't forget the autofeeders as well!! [​IMG]
     
  26. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  27. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
  28. Frosty

    Frosty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
  29. Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

    Michelle & Scrabble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    BUMP thanks for this, forgot how to do it, guess I will have to choose option B
     
  30. RockStar033

    RockStar033 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    I totally forgot about this...

    Im a little confused, haha

    I normally shoot Annie at 11/11

    I just shot her now(11), can i shoot her at 11:15 tonight, then 10:30 tomorrow morning, then 10:45 tomorrow night, then back to 11 monday morning??? does that make sense?? i can't wrap my head around this.
     
  31. squeem3

    squeem3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Reminder for anyone who forgot :smile:

    Also, disable the Daylight Savings Time option in your user settings so that the board time isn't off by an hour. It's under Board Preferences in your User Control Settings. Select NO for the Summer time/DST in effect option.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page