10/22-Tip-...PMPS-180...+4-50 +4.5-58 +5.25-80 +6-97 Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
10/21 condo

AMPS - 465
+2 - 371
+4 - 260
+6 - 139
+8 - 123
PMPS - 180
+2 - 100
+3 - 51
+3.5 - 46 (also tested at 44)
+4 - 50
+5.25 - 80
+6 - 97

I was so very out of it this morning, couldn't remember what she had, was 400 and something though. Been a bit of an easy-going day here, not sure how the cats are faring at home, but I imagine fine. Though they'll be unhappy little kitties because they get another dose of revolution for the fleas. I don't think there's any left, but the vet said that I should go another round just to be completely sure they're gone.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51

Oh wow, I gave Tip some low carb food at her +2, and it looked like it didn't do a thing! I gave her some more low carb food, more this time. Hopefully that stops her from going lower, or at least slows her down a lot.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51

I'll say.
If the food you gave did anything to slow it down, it would be even more dramatic.
Tip is going for the drama award tonight.
I'd be checking that one again.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46

I checked her again, and seems she's aiming for the drama crown. I tried to slow her, but apparently that wouldn't stop her....I went ahead and gave her a little high carb. Hopefully that'll do something.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46

Yikes Tip. It does look like you are going for the drama queen title. Lets hope the higher carbs stable her out.

Hang in there. Karen
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46

I would give her more than a little high carb. Give a good glob of gravy to stop this drop.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46 +

The high carb seems to have done it for now. I don't have just gravy, would honey be a good substitute? Or do you mean gravy sauce from the high carb can?
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46 +

yes, I meant the gravy from the HC food. That's where most of the carbs are, so it's good if you want to get the numbers up quickly. without them getting too full.

Since low carb doesn't slow her down, never hesitate to go directly for gravy food. You don't want to lose control of the numbers. If her pancreas is working at all, sometimes the numbers can actually DROP from food instead of rising, so you might need higher carb food to be able to bump the numbers up enough to overcome the fact that the pancreas is trying to pull the number down.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46 +

Yes, Cindy. When we need to raise their bg quickly, high carb is needed. The gravy in canned food is HC. If you dont have that gravy canned in hand, you can feed drop of honey or syrup mixed with Tip's LC canned food. Dont overfed because we dont want kitty to be fulled & refuse food in case you need to constant test & feed to bring up their bg.
If Tip refused to eat, you can mix honey or syrup with a bit of water & syringe feed. Tip need HC FOOD to raise & surf on higher bg level. The pure sugary water will loss it's "power' fast.We need green but not numbers below the 50.
When you buy the canned food from stores, shake the can a bit, feel if there is gravy inside. That's how you can get those gravy canned. I am using the Wiskas small canned "premium" which got thick gravy inside , that is real HC. Hope this helps.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46 +

Woohoo! More blue and green from the Tipster! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Libby, would that be another reduction?
Liz
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46 +

What Helen posted is not always accurate. Some of what may look like "gravy" is broth. The gravy based foods (e.g., Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers or their roasted, marinated, etc. varieties) are HC foods. If you look at something like the FF appetizers, they look to be in gravy. They are pure protein and very low in carbs despite what looks to be gravy. If you have HC food, spooning off the thick liquid (which is what we refer to as "gravy") is what we're referring to as a means of raising Tip's numbers. If you don't have HC canned food, adding a drop or two of Karo or honey or other syrup to a teaspoon or two of LC food will do the job.

For me, I don't think we can make assumptions about whether Tip is hitting a breakthrough dose or if this is a response based on a high dose condition. You need to be very alert and cautious if Tip isn't responding as expected to food. For a cat whose pancreas is working, LC food can kick the pancreas into producing its own insulin and drive numbers even lower. For now, when you see numbers in the low 50s, I'd start thinking about using HC. In fact, if you have even the slightest thought that LC isn't slowing things down, pull out the HC. You do not want to be in a situation where you can't pull the numbers back up.
 
Re: 10/22 - Tip - AMPS-465...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46 +

You should be able to find these at any grocery store or walmart , might want one of each in your hypo kit ..... 50 cents each.

Friskies Turkey and cheese in gravy dinner is 14% carbs
Friskies Meaty Bits chicken dinner in gravy is 17% carbs
Friskies Tasty Treasures Chicken an cheese in gravy is 20%
Friskies Selects Indoor chunky chicken and turkey casserole/brown rice and greens is 32%

Write the carb % on the lid with a sharpie for quick reference....
 
Re: 10/22-Tip-...PMPS-180 +2-100 +3-51 +3.5-46 +4-50 +4.5-58

Well, what I've got is special kitty chunky chicken in gravy. The "broth" or "gravy" is really thick. So I'm pretty sure it's gravy and not just broth.

But I'm wondering, should I hold the dose tomorrow morning? Or should I lower it?
 
Re: 10/22-Tip-...PMPS-180...+4-50 +4.5-58 +5.25-80 +6-97 Dos

Bump, I'll be going to bed, but I'm unsure if I should lower the dose tomorrow morning or not. My grandpa has a dr. appt tomorrow, so I'm not sure how well he'll be able to monitor her.
 
Re: 10/22-Tip-...PMPS-180...+4-50 +4.5-58 +5.25-80 +6-97 Dos

I'm not sure what time you shoot, but feel free to post the number for help. If Tip bounces like yesterday, then I would probably go ahead and shoot the full dose in the morning to help with the bounce. Then I would see how that cycle goes to evaluate what to do in the PM.

There are a few concerns, one of which is that her depot is very full and Tip is kind of getting ahead of us, so we are probably not seeing what the 7u dose would do on its own (there is still influence from the 7.25u and the 7.5u doses going into these cycles - it takes a long time to drain a 7.5u depot). The other concerns, though, are that if Tip happens to have a high dose condition, then sometimes larger/faster reductions really are needed to be safe. We need to find a balance that will keep Tip safe but hopefully not cause her to lose this great progress. I'm leaning toward skipping a shot to help drain that big depot a little, then either try 7u again or a little less. But if she is pink or red today because of a bounce, then this would not be a good time to skip. Make sense?

I'm leaving for work so probably won't be around to post again for a while, unfortunately. Use your judgment!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top