10/26 Benjamin AMPS 95 Update PMPS 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

cindyh

Member Since 2012
Last Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=81118

Good Morning!

A little update on Benjamin. He did great while I was out of town for 5 days, even with skipping a few AM shots. My son works long hours, so I told him just to skip the AM shot if it was less than 11 hours since the PM shot.

He went to the vet just before I left town for an exam and bloodwork. His teeth are just horrible! He won't let me near his mouth. His fructosamine level was excellent, the vet was really happy with that. He does have some renal insufficiency, but his BUN has gone down from 45 to 37 since his bloodwork in July. His phosphorus has increased though. In looking at the food chart, I realized that Fancy Feast is much higher in phosphorus than the DM, so I have switched him back to DM to see if that helps. If not, I will start adding Epakatin. Or maybe try other foods.

But the most exciting news for Benjamin is that he is going to get a dental cleaning next Tuesday. His owner can't afford to do it, and I can't afford to do it, but a group of my clients (from my animal massage and hydrotherapy business) who LOVE Benjamin have decided to band together and chip in to pay for his dental. The vet is also giving us a discount. I just can't tell you how much this warms my heart! I'm so happy for him, although a little worried about it. But neither his teeth or his kidneys are likely to improve on their own, and this can only help both. The vet is super careful and she is going to be very quick. And of course he will be on fluids.

I hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 10/26 Benjamin AMPS 95 Update

Cindy

Wow...his SS is looking wonderful!!! It's good he'll be getting a dental.

I would suggest that you put him on foods from Dr. Lisa's Phosphorus Charts. You can find some that are lower in phosphorus and lower in carbs. Many of our members are facing the same issues with CKD kitties....controlling carbs and phosphorus. DM is not a healthy food and, having a CKD cat myself, I think they need much better food...higher quality protein...than DM offers.

Are you familiar with Tanya's Comprehensive Site for CKD kitties? It is a great resource.

IMHO, I'd try the lower phosphorus foods first and if that doesn't pull down his phosphorus level, I think Aluminum Hydroxide is a better alternative for phosphorus binder. It is the gold standard. But....for a kitty in early stages and if the phosphorus level is not too high, you could do a lot to bring the numbers down with the low phosphorus foods.

Good luck!!
 
Re: 10/26 Benjamin AMPS 95 Update

(((Cindy)))
What a wonderful group of people you have around you! How generous and kind!

In case you've not seen it, here is info (there are lots of links) on dental procedures. Remember to check with your vet about whether he wants you to hold off on Benjamin's shot the day of the procedure. If Benjamin's teeth are as bad as you think they are, he may need pain meds and an antibiotic post-procedure. We strongly recommend that you tell (not ask) your vet to not give Metacam. The drug has an FDA black box warning for its use in cats -- it can cause acute renal failure. Most of our vets give buprenorphine for pain management. Also, we discourage the use of Convenia as an antibiotic. It is a shot that lasts for 2 weeks. Unless Benjamin has never had a problem with this antibiotic, should he be allergic, once a long lasting injection goes in, you can't get it out or stop it.

I don't know if you've seen Dr. Lisa's update of the food charts we use. She has a chart of low phosphorus foods.

And you're right -- Benjamin's numbers look great!
 

Attachments

Re: 10/26 Benjamin AMPS 95 Update

Thanks Marje and Sienne for all the great info!

I have seen the low phosphorus chart, and I will be getting some better food this weekend. I hope to be able to lower his phosphorus with food and avoid the meds. I will definitely check out the renal website too and get more info on that. I do realize that he needs a better quality food with his kidney issues.

Sienne, my vet (who I also work for) never uses Metacam in cats and doesn't even carry Convenia. He most certainly will need antibiotics, but probably amoxi or clavamox drops. With the very limited history I have on Benjamin, ok basically no history, we are trying to be super careful.

So he will not get his am shot or breakfast that morning, and his procedure is at 11am. I work that day from 1-5pm, so I will be there with him. He's also going to get some acupuncture in the afternoon to help with his recovery. I will read the info on dental procedures as well.

Thanks so much!
 
Re: 10/26 Benjamin AMPS 95 Update

Benjamin and I are so lucky to have such a wonderful group of people supporting us! From all the great people on this forum who give so much time to help us, to a local cat rescue group that donated a bottle of Lantus and syringes to Benjamin, another volunteer who donated a cat tree, and his wonderful fan club who is providing his dental, exam and bloodwork. The support has been overwhelming! We are so thankful for all of it. He is an amazing cat and apparently has tons of good karma! :-D
 
Re: 10/26 Benjamin PMPS 98

I did lots of reading on the CRF site today, especially about phosphorus binders. That is great information! I was also able to do some food shopping today and got several different cans of low carb low phosphorus food for Benjamin to try. Luckily he is a good eater, so is pretty happy with any food. So far I picked up Evo 95% chicken and turkey, Wellness core beef venison and lamb, and Pinnacle chicken and ocean fish. I just picked these from the food lists, but if anyone knows of any issues with any of them, please let me know.

Have a great evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top