11/22 Simon PMPS 118 +2 231

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Oh dear -- just when I was getting ready to walk out the door to go to my in-laws for Thanksgiving, Simon has given a shock with this 32. I just gave him HC food and will re-test in another 1/2 hour. Delaying my visit for a little bit. Hopefully, my in-laws will not mind. DH is already there so at least that is good. I know the in-laws think I am crazy with the cat thing, but I'm not going to listen to their comments. ;-)

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32

Morning Georgia!

:shock: on that 32. UP Simon! Good luck Georgia. so hear you on not listening to others comments... ;-) it's that way here too. Until they walk the road they just don't know.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING! I wish you, your friends, and your furkids a very happy holiday.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32

Morning Georgia and oh my on Simon! :shock: That was a bigger drop than Maggie's! Simon, let's go up some, k. Mags will go with you! Hope you're not delayed too much longer, Georgia. Is Simon carb sensitive?
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53

Michelle, you are right -- until they walk in my shoes, although I don't think they would ever take care of their dog like I do my cats.

Ann, yes Simon is pretty carb sensitive so he already has gone up 20 points since I gave him the HC food. Normally, I don't like to give HC or even MC and prefer just giving him extra of his food, but today is different. I need to take a more proactive approach if I am going to be able to leave today.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53

:-D and YAY on that +4.5. Good job Simon, now up a little bit more so your mama can leave. Good luck Georgia. and I so hear you on care others provide.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58

Well he doesn't seem to be rising as fast as I would like. I have given him practically a whole big can of HC food. I think he will probably start rising from here, but I'm still a little nervous. I really don't have much more time before I need to be at my in-laws for dinner. I can't keep stalling because everyone will be there except me. The good thing is that Simon will keep eating food all day long if I put it in front of him. I am going to test him one more time, feed him a little more and then leave out food in his automatic feeder to go off in another hour and an hour after that.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58

Oh, gee. Just to entertain the in-laws, you could offer to bring Simon. But, you'll have to insist he has a plate and a seat at the table. THEN they can consider you the crazy cat lady!!

(I think that 32 was Simon's way of telling you to bring home turkey and stuffing.)
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54

What the heck am I supposed to do here? He went down instead of up!

Sienne, I wish I could bring Simon with me but my in-laws have a dog and their dog hates cats.

To top things off, Simon just pooped on the carpet. I think the HC food is messing with his tummy.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54

Oh no, Georgia, on Simon. I thought he would be rising by now. Could you try a higher carb and just feed the gravy and see if it helps.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54

Ann, I might just do that. I have been feeding him FF with gravy for the last few mini-meals and instead of leaving out his regular food, I may just have to leave out the FF for the rest of the day in his automatic feeder.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54

Georgia,
Once you leave, how long till you can be back home?
Carl
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Carl, it takes me about 45 minutes to get to my in-laws and then I need to be there for at least 3 hours so I will be gone for a total of almost 5 hours. I really can't believe that he is not going any higher with all the HC food. I am going to have to go ahead and leave in a minute and just leave out tons of food. I can't miss the holiday or I will be blacklisted from the family. I am praying he will be ok. He is acting fine, except for pooping on the carpet and he is very excited to be getting so much food.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Hi Georgia, you would think the HC would soon be catching up with him, but I'm guessing with the 32 it's taking some time.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Georgia:

Leaving out HC, or even adding Karo to Simon's regular food will be fine. He's gotten a dose reduction so it's perfectly fine to over-carb him at this point.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Sienne, ok I will leave out hc food with a little karo on it. Luckily, I just bought some for my pecan pies :smile:

I am going to test him one more time in about 15 minutes and then go ahead and leave unless he drops.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Hi Georgia. I hope Simon begins to respond to the HC. I had a similar thing happen on the 16th. PurrFace went from 106 down to a 56 so I gave him 1 tsp of HC. In an hour he was up to a 79, two hours later was down to a 61 so I fed him some MC with HC gravy. He came up to 156 and then pink at PMPS. Simon will most likely do the same thing.

I agree with you about not worrying about what other people think. I always believed you can tell a lot about a person by the way they treat their animals. You're doing the right thing by putting Simon first. I'm sure your in-laws will understand.

Come on Simon get into the blue zone for your mama!
 
Re: 11/22 Simon +6 58 +6.5 54 +7 59 +7.5 66

At almost +7.5, Simon is finally out of the 50's. He is now 66 so I am going to leave out HC food and go ahead and go. Yes, he will most likely be high 300's when I get back from all that food, but I will take it since the low numbers scare me alot more.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Ok, +7, 59.....
Carb him and go:-) And drive careful in both directions!
You'll be home just in time for PMPS.
Carl
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Georgia, yay on Simon coming up. Safe trip and Happy Thanksgiving! Don't forget some turkey for Simon! :-D
 
Re: 11/22 Simon +6 58 +6.5 54 +7 59 +7.5 66

Georgia and Simon said:
At almost +7.5, Simon is finally out of the 50's. He is now 66 so I am going to leave out HC food and go ahead and go. Yes, he will most likely be high 300's when I get back from all that food, but I will take it since the low numbers scare me alot more.
Remember, if he is up in the 300+ range you can shoot thru the bounce and reduce in the AM.
Carl
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

thanksgiving.jpg


Goodness Simon!! Someone wanted extra attention! Have a lovely day with your family.

I miss you big time!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Wow, Simon sure wanted you all to himself today. I hope you made it to the in-laws and were able to relax and not worry! Happy Thanksgiving!!
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Good job bringing Simon up to a level that you can leave and get some Thanksgiving dinner. Have a great day with your family.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

oh my gracious sakes... what a day for you! I am glad he came up enough that you can feed and go. I so understand on the family aspect of things. Try and enjoy your holiday.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon AMPS 231 +4 32 +4.5 53 +5 52 +6 58 +6.5 54 +

Georgia, Wow on SImon's numbers :mrgreen: :o , hope you enjoyed enough of the family celebration stay in their good graces and hope meanwhile Simon has sorted out his numbers with all the food options you left him.
 
Re: 11/22 Simon PMPS 118

I am really surprised at this PMPS. I thought for sure Simon would be in the 300's after eating HC food all day. I reduced dose tonight by 1/2 unit and will monitor closely tonight. I'm still thinking the bounce is going to come sometime soon. I can't believe that it wouldn't.

I barely made it to the in-laws in time. They were already dishing out the food! They aren't too mad at me, especially since DH stayed at their house last night and helped cook today. Plus, both my mother and father-in-law are diabetic so they kind of understand the whole blood sugar thing, although they had plenty of my pecan pie tonight. Talk about an overload of sugar!
 
Re: 11/22 Simon PMPS 118

Wow, Simon, you sure know how to surprise your bean! You did a great job today, Georgia, balancing all the family stuff and kitty stuff. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 11/22 Simon PMPS 118

What a great day for Simon! Sorry it messed with your plans at your in laws but at least you made it in time for the important stuff. :-D Happy Thanksgiving Georgia!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top