Re: 12/7 Chip AMPS 89
Dale 'n' Chip said:
I can't have a do over now, but after making every mistake in the book I can (and did) promptly "get with program" after all I've learned the hard way. I hope Chip can forgive me. And a few others as well. ;-)
I go back now and look at Pumbaa's SS, the early months, and see things that I would have done differently, with the knowledge and history I now have. But I also remember the fear that caused me to make the decisions that I did, as well as being in tune with what Pumbaa was going through/experiencing at that time. As well as the conflicting information, as you stated.
To this day, I know that some people think that a current dose can affect the current cycle, and others firmly believe that only the shed affects the current cycle. But, if only the shed affects the current cycle, I don't see how stalling a shot to wait for a rise in BG numbers does any good, as the shed is going to release the stored insulin anyway. And I don't see how a BCS or skipping a shot does any good either, other than wreaking havoc on later BG numbers because the shed was depleted temporarily. I don't like being confused, and there is enough ECID and cat inflicted confusion already for all of us to deal with. *LOL*
Right now, following Tilly's is so much easier with Pumbaa. He's a fat (not really fat, but solid), happy, cat who is now used to testing/feeding/shooting, and who sometimes complains when I tent him (because he doesn't have much loose skin anymore), but never complains when I shoot him, like he did on the Lantus. He and I are both used to the routines now, and Pumbaa even eats more, instinctively, when his numbers are dropping too low. In the last month or so, he has even stopped being overly lethargic/grumpy when his numbers are high. And I don't stress seeing the low numbers because we have history which says he can drop down to 38 without showing any signs of going hypo.
I hear Frank Sinatra in my brain right now..."Mistakes, I've made a few, but then again, too few to mention. I did what I had to do and saw it through without exemption. I planned each charted course, each careful step along the byway. And more, much more than this, I did it my way. "

Maybe not the best way, or the right way, due to hindsight, but we can only move forward and try to change the future, 'cause we can't change the past. That's what I'm trying to do with Pumbaa, and what you have been doing with Chip.
Suze