12/7 Chip PMPS 279 AMPS 255 +6 186 +9 117 +11 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale 'n' Chip

Member Since 2012
Looks like another day in the Emerald City. :mrgreen:

The mandatory reduction is looking good so far, but at this point likely still under heavy influence from the depot.

Chip's 12/5
 
Re: 12/7 Chip AMPS 89

Pumbaa said:
Dale 'n' Chip said:
I really think Pumbaa can follow the same path, you just need to hold the dose for 7 days total (at this stage of the game), and then increase.
You might have explained this before, but why hold for seven days if Pumbaa isn't staying under renal threshold? I'm itching to increase him tonight due to his high numbers at the 2.75U dose, as Pumbaa finished his 10th cycle at 2.75U this morning. Are the 7 days just to make sure they've settled into the dose?
Pumbaa said:
I will go up to 3.0U tonight because I am concerned about the amount of time he's been spending above 250 on this dose.

Thank you for responding, Chippendale's! :-D
I see Pumbaa got some green afterall. :mrgreen:

Great shooting BTW. Shoot low to stay low. Pumbaa and Chip both had the same AMPS. And we both shot the full dose. :thumbup

You are always welcome to hijack my condos if you feel more comfortable (heck I did that for weeks in relaxed) but I hope you will consider starting for Pumbaa his very own condo so he can get the maximum eyeballs?

Until then you can always post here. ;-)
 
Re: 12/7 Chip AMPS 89

Dale 'n' Chip said:
I see Pumbaa got some green afterall. :mrgreen:

Great shooting BTW. Shoot low to stay low. Pumbaa and Chip both had the same AMPS. And we both shot the full dose. :thumbup

You are always welcome to hijack my condos if you feel more comfortable (heck I did that for weeks in relaxed) but I hope you will consider starting for Pumbaa his very own condo so he can get the maximum eyeballs?

Until then you can always post here. ;-)
Pumbaa has had some wonderful numbers in the last 21 hours! :-D

Sheila thinks that Pumbaa responded nearly immediately to the increase to 3.0U, and I have to agree, considering his history at 2.75U. While he may have gone green last night on the 2.75U, he most certainly would have bounced this morning, and not had another green mid-cycle, and would not have stayed below 250 all day so far.
antijinx-emoticon.png


Thank you for the "great shooting". I've learned from the best on these boards! :) Worst case is that I dose too high and feed Pumbaa honey until he resembles Winnie the Pooh! But that hasn't been necessary because he instinctively eats more when his numbers are low. So I didn't even break a sweat when he hit 46 last night. I didn't even chase him around the house and test him every 15 minutes like I would have done a few months ago. *LOL*

I should post over here for maximum eyeballs, but to be very honest (without attempting to offend anyone), when Pumbaa and I were new to this whole FD thing, and Pumbaa wasn't himself (I'll never forget the cat fight I had to break up!), and we were both under immense stress, I found the TR boards to be even more stressful, when they shouldn't have been. People were offering help, but due to where Pumbaa and I were in the process, it stressed both of us out too much. I need to go back and read all of the comments to posts from the early days, and I'll bet you anything they will all make more sense now! And I'll bet you that the recommendations wouldn't stress either Pumbaa or myself out now. Now that we have a routine in place, and he's not starving anymore, and he's not fighting shot time anymore because the Levemir doesn't sting him like the Lantus did. (Seriously, this is the best result of the switch from Lantus to Levemir, because now, on the Levemir, Pumbaa barely acknowledges that I've injected him, rather than stopping eating, looking at me accusingly, and running away instead of eating what he needs to eat to feed the insulin.)

Suze
 
Re: 12/7 Chip AMPS 89

Pumbaa said:
...I should post over here for maximum eyeballs, but to be very honest (without attempting to offend anyone), when Pumbaa and were new to this whole FD thing, and Pumbaa wasn't himself (I'll never forget the cat fight I had to break up!), and we were both under immense stress, I found the TR boards to be even more stressful, when they shouldn't have been. People were offering help, but due to where Pumbaa and I were in the process, it stressed both of us out to much. I need to go back and read all of the comments to posts from the early days, and I'll bet you anything they will all make more sense now! And I'll bet you that the recommendations wouldn't stress either Pumbaa or myself out now.
Suze
Same here. I was just overwhelmed with everything. For my first thread in LL, Sienne and Marje were on the case almost instantly with one two punch of state of the art comprehensive advice. I boldly set out on course but then I got blown off track by some differing opinions. I had a whole list of questions for Marje that first week or so but due to lack of inertia never got them posted. Had I taken her up on that one offer, things may have been very different.

I can't have a do over now, but after making every mistake in the book I can (and did) promptly "get with program" after all I've learned the hard way. I hope Chip can forgive me. And a few others as well. ;-)


Pumbaa said:
Pumbaa has had some wonderful numbers in the last 21 hours! :-D

Sheila thinks that Pumbaa responded nearly immediately to the increase to 3.0U, and I have to agree, considering his history at 2.75U. While he may have gone green last night on the 2.75U, he most certainly would have bounced this morning, and not had another green mid-cycle, and would not have stayed below 250 all day so far.
antijinx-emoticon.png
That was a great cycle! You did everything just perfect and I believe you were correct on those two 5 day intervals for those increases. The impending first set of greens overnight were obvious from the flat yellow as I posted here. What you mean by *immediate* I'm not clear, but certainly the increase had the desired results, and carried the following cycle as you would expect with Levemir.

I don't care so much exactly when it kicked in as much as that it worked. Hopefully you will be able to stay on track and see more of the same. :smile:
 
Re: 12/7 Chip PMPS 279

So much for the Emerald City.

Chip is headed up the yellow brick road to I don't want to know where. :sad:

This is not looking so good for the decrease, but I'm going to try to let the bounce clear and see where we are at then.
 
Re: 12/7 Chip PMPS 279

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Chip is headed up the yellow brick road to I don't want to know where. :sad:
Not caused by a partial fur shot or anything else you can think of?

That would be sad if this was caused by the slight reduction to a SK2.75. :sad:
 
Re: 12/7 Chip PMPS 279 +6 257

When he saw 38 a couple days ago, there was no bounce. If this is a bounce from the 40s a couple cycles ago.... what's different?
Did you react differently to one low or the other?

Carl
 
Re: 12/7 Chip PMPS 279 +6 257 AMPS 255 +3 226

Nope this shouldn't be a bounce off a low, or a steep drop.

Last suspected fur shot about a week ago.

It's likely either Chip being a cat or something to do with the reduction.
 
Re: 12/7 Chip PMPS 279 +6 257 AMPS 255 +3 226

Hello
Love the pics of Chip.. a chip sandwich- yummy! In my home country we have "chip butties" which are french fries on a bun...

Not looking good for the reduction so far but he is coming back down - paws crossed he goes back into green!!
 
Re: 12/7 Chip PMPS 279 +6 257 AMPS 255 +3 226

Unless something happened later in the cycle, I'd be giving serious consideration to taking Chip back up to his last good dose.

Is there any chance he found some contraband?
 
Actually Chip did cruise gently back to green, so perhaps he likes the reduction afterall. :mrgreen:

The decrease is only 0.10 mm less, which is like a couple of drops less than 2.75U, so not much.

I also wanted to tell Wendy I've been following Baily and Tiggy at least weekly since the meter change.

Poor Tiggy I really hope he gets a break from all the troubles. And Wendy too.
 
Re: 12/7 Chip AMPS 89

Dale 'n' Chip said:
I can't have a do over now, but after making every mistake in the book I can (and did) promptly "get with program" after all I've learned the hard way. I hope Chip can forgive me. And a few others as well. ;-)
I go back now and look at Pumbaa's SS, the early months, and see things that I would have done differently, with the knowledge and history I now have. But I also remember the fear that caused me to make the decisions that I did, as well as being in tune with what Pumbaa was going through/experiencing at that time. As well as the conflicting information, as you stated.

To this day, I know that some people think that a current dose can affect the current cycle, and others firmly believe that only the shed affects the current cycle. But, if only the shed affects the current cycle, I don't see how stalling a shot to wait for a rise in BG numbers does any good, as the shed is going to release the stored insulin anyway. And I don't see how a BCS or skipping a shot does any good either, other than wreaking havoc on later BG numbers because the shed was depleted temporarily. I don't like being confused, and there is enough ECID and cat inflicted confusion already for all of us to deal with. *LOL*

Right now, following Tilly's is so much easier with Pumbaa. He's a fat (not really fat, but solid), happy, cat who is now used to testing/feeding/shooting, and who sometimes complains when I tent him (because he doesn't have much loose skin anymore), but never complains when I shoot him, like he did on the Lantus. He and I are both used to the routines now, and Pumbaa even eats more, instinctively, when his numbers are dropping too low. In the last month or so, he has even stopped being overly lethargic/grumpy when his numbers are high. And I don't stress seeing the low numbers because we have history which says he can drop down to 38 without showing any signs of going hypo.

I hear Frank Sinatra in my brain right now..."Mistakes, I've made a few, but then again, too few to mention. I did what I had to do and saw it through without exemption. I planned each charted course, each careful step along the byway. And more, much more than this, I did it my way. " ;) Maybe not the best way, or the right way, due to hindsight, but we can only move forward and try to change the future, 'cause we can't change the past. That's what I'm trying to do with Pumbaa, and what you have been doing with Chip. :)

Suze
 
Re: 12/7 Chip AMPS 89

Pumbaa said:
...Right now, following Tilly's is so much easier with Pumbaa. He's a fat (not really fat, but solid), happy, cat who is now used to testing/feeding/shooting, and who sometimes complains when I tent him (because he doesn't have much loose skin anymore), but never complains when I shoot him, like he did on the Lantus. He and I are both used to the routines now, and Pumbaa even eats more, instinctively, when his numbers are dropping too low. In the last month or so, he has even stopped being overly lethargic/grumpy when his numbers are high. And I don't stress seeing the low numbers because we have history which says he can drop down to 38 without showing any signs of going hypo.
I'm so glad to see you sticking with it. And I'm sure Pumbaa is too with the great numbers! I know you are not getting enthusiastic support for it, but that is easy to remedy.

Over here Tilly is not a 4 letter word. ;-)

And if you don't get enough green in the next 3 days, you can stick with the 5 day interval before your next increase. If you see significant green then hold for 7 days (or more) total. That next increase just might be the breakthrough, we just have to see the numbers. Ask here if you have any questions.

BTW since you left food out I wouldn't worry if Pumbaa did go green late overnight. Great if he did. :mrgreen:

Congratulations for sticking with the program. :-D
 
Re: 12/7 Chip AMPS 89

Pumbaa said:
...To this day, I know that some people think that a current dose can affect the current cycle, and others firmly believe that only the shed affects the current cycle. But, if only the shed affects the current cycle, I don't see how stalling a shot to wait for a rise in BG numbers does any good, as the shed is going to release the stored insulin anyway. And I don't see how a BCS or skipping a shot does any good either, other than wreaking havoc on later BG numbers because the shed was depleted temporarily. I don't like being confused, and there is enough ECID and cat inflicted confusion already for all of us to deal with. *LOL*
I have very definite opinions and theories about that. Of course every cycle and every cat may be a little different as there might be a number of factors involved. Even the size of the dose.

In my experience there clearly is an expected difference between Lantus and Levemir in that regard. Lantus is known to have an earlier nadir. And I think Lantus may have more impact during the current cycle from the current shot. Some of the Lantus may go directly into the blood instead of into the shed from that shot. I don't see that happening with Levemir. So the whole process is a little slower with Levemir, and I feel the current shot has more impact the following cycle and after with Levemir. However there is no black and white answer for either one, you just have to find the answer for your cat.

You are correct, how it works would impact skipped shots and chicken shots. That's why (with Levemir) I'd rather just shoot the full dose since I have plenty of data to support that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top