Missed a Dose! Now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
We normally give Cinco his shots at about 6:30 am and 6:30 pm. Last night we were out a little too late and both overslept his morning, missing his am shot. It is now 9:45. I tested him and he's at 123. His numbers have been really good lately and I don't want to mess him up! What should we do? Just wait till 6:30 pm and give him his usual dose? We've never missed it by this much before, so I don't know how to handle it. I couldn't find anything in the literature about what to do in this situation. If there's a sticky on it, would someone please let me know? Thanks.
 
Whenever you do shoot, your next shot will be 12 hours from that time. So, if your schedule can accommodate that sort of shift in shot time, you could go ahead and do the shot now.

If you can't accommodate the shift in schedule, then wait till 6:30 for the shot, and yes - shoot the usual dose. We've all missed shots/done fur shots/have had to skip for one reason or another. I'm sure Cinci will get back on track in no time!
 
There's not a sticky so you didn't miss reading anythng.

For most people, once you're more than 2 hours past shot time, it's rough on your schedule to try to get back on track in 15 min. increments. I would suggest thinking about it like a fur shot and giving Cinco his dose at your usual time this evening.

Have you given any thought to fattening Cinco's dose? It may help to bring the overall level down a tiny bit.
 
Thanks, Sienne and Amy. I feel better now. I was feeling pretty guilty for being so lazy. His low number made me feel a little better.

No, I had not thought about fattening the dose, but was wondering what to do to get him moving again. By fattening, do you mean just a tiny bit over the 1.0? If so, do we do it for several days, or shot times, until we see a change? That's something we didn't have to try the first time we went through this, as he came down in a hurry once we got him under control. Thanks again.
 
Yes, if you regular 1.00 unit dose is with the plunger right in the middle of the 1 unit mark, then a fat 1.00 unit would be with the plunger just after but still just barely touching the 1 unit mark.
I would do the increase when you're going to be home to test.
Your ss for the past two weeks is looking nice.
 
Fattening Worked. Now Reduce?

Have you given any thought to fattening Cinco's dose? It may help to bring the overall level down a tiny bit.

For the first time ever, Cinco was very hostile when we went to do his PM shot. He growled and ran away, and when I tried to pick him up, he actually snapped at me! Guess he's really tired of this. I got hold of him and muzzled him. Was not surprised his PMPS was 153. We fattened his PM dose, just the tiny bit that was recommended, and when I checked him at 2.5 hours, he was at 35! No hypo symptoms - I had to wake him up to test him. I gave him some Fancy Feast Beef Feast in Gravy, which he loved. After he ate it, he was acting perfectly normal, cleaning himself, etc. I checked him after 25 minutes, and he was back up to 53.

Obviously he's earned a reduction. Question is, since we fattened that dose, should we just take him back to 1.0, or drop him to .75?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top