12/10 Michelangelo AMPS 313

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

For whatever reason, my phone doesn't allow me to post or reply on here. I had such a hectic weekend, I never got a chance to get on a computer to post.

I'm thinking to increase his dose again tonight to 1.5u because we haven't seen blues or greens since Saturday and I'm working from home tomorrow so I can monitor him. Otherwise, an increase will have to wait till Thursday and will be occurring right before I leave the following week. And since I'm planning on having Mikey get a reduced shot while I'm gone, that means he'll be on perhaps WAY too low of a dose. Am I jumping the gun? Should I just keep him on the 1.25 till after I get back?

Someone asked me on a previous post why I thought he might be Acro/IAA and I never responded, but the reason I fear he might is that it seems every time I increase his dose, he does fairly well the first day or so and then...Nothing. It's as if I'm not even giving him insulin. All I seem to ever do is just increase it. Even with his growing, he hasn't gained too much weight since the beginning of the month (holding fairly steady at 7.8 pounds), so it's not another growth spurt.

Update on the whole business trip thing and my brother:
When I came home from work on Friday, he said he'd thought about what he had said and felt really bad about it and didn't mean it and he had gotten me a present. It was a Christmas stocking with "Have a Purrfect Christmas" written on it. Inside was a sudoku book for my plane ride next week and a bag of anchovie treats for Michelangelo. My brother even told me he made sure to check the ingredients before he bought it and it only has anchovies and water.

My brother also found out that his snowboarding trip might be postponed so he might be able to take care of Michelangelo for me after all. If not, he talked with our mutual friend and she's still willing to do it. Ideally, I'd rather have my brother do it because he'll do it for free (well, he gets free rent with me while he's in school, so not necessarily "free") and Mikey trusts him and is comfortable with him (for the most part).

Brothers! Sometimes you want to strangle them and other times, God love 'em! :lol:

Wendy&Tiggy said:
He also might calm down as he gets older and fixed ....

It was actually right after he had gotten neutered that I first noticed the PU/PD symptoms of his diabetes (probably before he ended up with UTI, as well). It was because of this that I hesitated on taking him into the vet because at first I thought it might be a side-effect of him getting fixed. (I had even called the vet a couple of days before taking him in and they said to wait another day or so to see if it cleared up on its own.)
 
Good news on your brother! Have you trained your friend?

I would increase his dose. You still have time to measure him etc before you go.
 
Since lantus can take several days to get stabilized after an increase, I wonder about changing the dose before your trip. It might just confuse matters more. Free rent? I should think he would apologize.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top