12/27 Papaya -1=146 AMPS=304 +1.5=490 PMPS 392 Pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Last post Dec. 22

Just when I was starting to really question whether this dose is too low, down Papaya went to greens. And bounced. Repeat . . .

Last night by +4 she was in nice mid-blues. This morning she woke me up an hour too early for her shot, but I tested to see whether she was too low or really high - one never knows with Papaya! To my surprise she was at 146. I haven't had to think about shooting that low of a preshot value for a while! But since it was too early anyway, I gave her a small portion of low carb and went back to bed. I know, I know, you shouldn't feed that close to a shot. But try telling a cat that. I figured a bit of LC wouldn't bump up her numbers that much anyway, plus the number was already shootable and it would be going up.

Then when I actually got up at shot time and tested, she had shot up to 304! No way that was from the LC. An hour and a half after the shot, she was looking for food again, so I tested again to make sure she wasn't doing one of her dives. Nope - up to 490 now. Of course this is still before onset of the insulin, but it looks to me that she was just heading into a bounce when I tested first. I wonder if she went lower than I realized late in the cycle?

At least bouncing yellow to pink or even blue to red is an improvement over the green to black routine. And if she had to bounce, this was a good day for it since it's my only day of work over the next week.


cat hot spot by ehmeelu, on Flickr
 
Re: 12/27/12 Papaya -1=146 AMPS=304 +1.5=490 and Pic

Wow! Papaya certainly does keep you on your toes. Hopefully she will start to flatten out soon. She's beautiful - nice pic!
 
Re: 12/27/12 Papaya -1=146 AMPS=304 +1.5=490 and Pic

Boy Amy, Papaya IS channeling Leo! I responded in my Condo. Papaya looks like my civvie Molly - what a pretty kitty!!! I hope she settles down for you but like you said, it's pretty hard to predict these bouncie kittehs!
 
Re: 12/27/12 Papaya -1=146 AMPS=304 +1.5=490 and Pic

I hope Papaya (what a pretty girl!) starts to settle down for you. Some cats are just addicted to bounces, but you are in the early days still so paws crossed. Love the pic, my Cleo(GA) used to love sleeping on the radiators when we lived in MN.
 
Re: 12/27/12 Papaya -1=146 AMPS=304 +1.5=490 and Pic

Thanks for visiting, Tara, Lisa and Ann. Best wishes for your kitties, too!
 
Re: 12/27/12 Papaya -1=146 AMPS=304 +1.5=490 and Pic

Papaya certainly likes to bounce! She also looks a lot like my George (GA). His photo is in my profile.
 
Re: 12/27/12 Papaya -1=146 AMPS=304 +1.5=490 and Pic

Wow, so unusual to have had a male calico, Sienne! He had such pretty eyes!

My first cat when I lived on my own was a dainty little calico from the humane society in Calgary, poor thing, I called her Callie until I thought of a better name but that one ended up sticking! I had already arranged to take Papaya from the previous owner without knowing what she looked like, so when she turned out to be a calico too it has kind of started a pattern.

Plus I've found that calicoes seem to be less allergenic - I can't pick up a black one without sneezing my face off.
 
Hi Amy,
What a cute picture of Papaya snoozing on the radiator. She is soooo pretty. I hope she clears her bounce soon for you and gets back to those pretty greens and blues.
take care
mary and oliver
 
Thanks, Mary! I think your Oliver has a rather similar disposition to Papaya - I totally get the telling strangers the cat "has been known to bite"! He's very distinguished looking!
 
My vet described the disposition of calicos as, "Fractious." And yes, George was a mutant. Cornell tried to buy him from me but that just wasn't going to happen. He was the furthest thing from fractious that you could imagine. He was an outgoing and very friendly cat who was delighted to have anyone scratch his belly. He was a very special cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top