12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 PMPS 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
12/29 Condo

Good Morning LL,

All is well in Zeusland... After dipping down to 42 and keeping his Momma up all night. He left me some stinky presents, has eaten breffis and has gone btb. I need to go out and shovel again... For the 4th time. I sure do feel it in my lower back this morning though and would rather go btb too, but I want to head out to the grocery store before the crowds hit. I am planning my nap today though ;-)

So, I again have a dose reduction question. We earned a reduction last night, and could have possibly earned one on the recent mornings that we had green AMPS... Don't know for sure since I didn't catch it. I know we earned a reduction on 12/19 that I didn't take. I did shave the dose this morning to 1.5 from a fat 1.5, but I am wondering if that was a good move. We are still seeing a lot of yellows and pinks during both cycles. Looking at those numbers (bounces maybe) it appears that I should increase, not decrease the dose. Any suggestions from the experts would be wonderful.

Thanks so much. Hope everyone has a great day, hugs to all,
Kathie
 
Re: 12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 dose reduction?

Morning guys wow that is a lot of shoveling ugh! Hope you are able to get out to the store. I will leave the dosing to the experts but hope you figure it out. Nice amps this morning!!! Enjoy your nap later today! Have a happy Sunday!
 
Re: 12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 dose reduction?

I, too, would leave the dosing question to the experts.

I hope that you don't get much more snow. Stay warm, but don't overdo it outside as if you sweat outside, and then come into a warm house, you may come down sick. I've done that, and it's not pleasant. :lol:
 
Re: 12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 dose reduction?

Hey Kathie, Sorry, i can't tell you anything about doses. Just wanted to say Hey and send hugs and scritches. Did you want to put a question mark in your subject line? maybe it'll stand out more? later dudette mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 dose reduction?

Ok from what I can tell you earned a reduction on the night of the 29th when he dropped into a green 42, so you reduced the dose from a fat f1.5 to 1.5. I would hold this dose now unless you see another drop under 50. You are seeing higher numbers today because it looks like he is bouncing off the 42/greens.

If you hold the dose you will see where he is when he comes down from the bounce. If he drops again under 50 then you reduce again immediately, if not wait the six to 10 cycles depending on his numbers before changing the dose again.

Yuk on the shoveling, my DH is currently just driving over the top of it and hoping it melts but we have a huge ridge where the plow came past at the end of the drive so I think he is not going to be able to avoid it much longer!!
 
Re: 12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 dose reduction?

Since you're taken the fat off of the dose, I'd use that as your current dose and see how Zeus does. It looks like he's bouncing.
 
Re: 12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 dose reduction?

Ok I hit submit before I meant to. I do see you have been going up and down quite a bit in dose. Maybe you want to try waiting till he goes three times under 50 or once under 40 before reducing dose next time? He doesn't seem to hold reductions well..
 
Re: 12/30 Zeus AMPS 156 dose reduction?

Hi Everyone, thanks for stopping by today. It was a pretty lazy day around here... the kitties slept off and on all day, and I took a short nap as well, then went back out to finish shoveling. My back feels much better tonight then it did this morning, I am just kind of stiff tonight. Did I say this stuff was pretty? ohmygod_smile And now the temperature is dropping and the wind is really strong and cold. Hope my car starts tomorrow, it chugged and groaned a little this morning and we were above zero... will be below zero in the morning. Brrr.

I sure do hope that Zeus will settle into the current dose and stop bouncing, would love to see pretty blues and safe greens. I ended up shooting myself with the first syringe and had to draw a second one tonight. I didn't actually push the plunger but the needle got stuck in my finger and I bent the needle. Argh! Has anyone else done that? I wonder what would happen if I did give myself any insulin? Probably not much since it's such a small dose, but just curious.

Have a great night everyone, hope all the kitties stay in safe numbers. Hugs and prayers to all.

Kathie
 
I wondered about that too, I don't imagine less than a unit will make any difference to an adult human if you did shoot yourself but more than that and you'd probably have hypo symptoms like a cat.. Shaky hungry and spaced out... And all the rest depending on how your BG is to start with etc.. I had an aunt who was diabetic and kept a mars bar around for hypo emergencies..
 
I don't think Id start using three times between 40-50 or once below 40 for reductions just yet. He hasn't been on leve that long and it can take weeks or longer for them to get where they were on the previous insulin. I'd give him just a bit more time before you change your reduction strategy. He is newly dx and the method above is aggressive.

It is a good idea to hold this dose for at least 6-10 cycles if he gets below 200 but doesn't earn a reduction.

Have a great evening and hope you don't have to shovel again tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top