1/11 SimonB AMPS 113 +6 88 PMPS 95 +3 95 +5 83 Dental?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce & Simon

Member Since 2011
~O) ~O) Good Morning LL ~O) ~O)
Yesterday
AMPS 104 .25u
+3 112
+6 88
PMPS 101 .25u
+3 101
+5 97

Thanks everyone for your visits and congrats on the good bloodwork news.

Simon had an OK day yesterday, low blues & high greens, AMPS today 113.

Most of my dental questions were answered by reading and searching threads here,
(Sienne's links, "What to expect after teeth cleaning", etc.)

Our vet's day before fasting instructions are no food after 8pm, no water after midnight (?).
I may ask about this, as 8pm is only +3 in Simon's cycle... I want to miss as few shots as possible.
I'm definitely skipping the morning of, and depending on how he is when he gets home, very possibly
the PM shot also, I'd like to avoid potentially missing three. But safety first, so if it's 3, so be it.
I'd prefer just skipping to any BCS doses, as he's on such a low dose already. Want this as simple as possible.

Simon would go in at 8am, we call early afternoon for an update, usual discharge time late afternoon or
early evening. If it's early evening we'd have missed his shot time anyway...

Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions welcome

Have a great day! :-D

Continuing prayers & good thoughts for kitties & beans needing them. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/11 SimonB AMPS 113 Dental?

With my vet, she asks that there's no food after 6:00 AM the day of the procedure and water is OK. I think they actually start the day's procedures mid-morning to early afternoon. They used to ask for no food after midnight and this then changed. I believe the change was due to research that found that due to a cat's faster metabolism and relatively shorter GI track, the issue with when food was given were too stringent. Unfortunately, I don't have any of the research links. No food after 8:00 PM seems rather severe. Even with humans, usually the instructions before surgery are no food after midnight.
 
Re: 1/11 SimonB AMPS 113 Dental?

Hi Bruce,

Don't know if this answers any of your worries, but just an example of what was done dental wise recently in Molly's case:

Molly's dental late last October was how we found out she was diabetic. (I asked them to check her urine while she was out) Her BGs were almost in the 400s.
Fructosamine in the high 500s so it had been going on a while.
So I can tell you of one diabetic kitty who did very well with a dental on no insulin (and had an extraction)....actually her health and general well being improved immensely after the dental (BGs still bad though). The feeding instructions were no food after midnight before the dental....so I gave her a big heap o' food around 11 and she did fine. I did ask that the surgery be early in the day. And they fed her as soon as she roused from the anesthesia too (fancy feast classic....since they realized she was diabetic) No restrictions on water before surgery. We didn't actually start insulin for several weeks after that as I wanted to try changing to canned only before giving insulin. They seem to tolerate the high BGs fairly well.

Good luck to you and Simon. It is nerve wracking! But they do feel so much better after reducing the bacteria load in their gumlines!
 
Re: 1/11 SimonB AMPS 113 +6 88 Dental?

Thanks Sienne & Alanna :smile:

I spoke to the vet's assistant and she said their instructions are not "written in stone", but are designed to minimize vomiting during the procedure (obviously).
I can feed Simon his regular 10pm mini-meal, I'll just not leave anything out overnight (civvies won't be pleased).
They always do their procedures in the morning, that's probably a factor in their more restrictive fasting rules. He can have a bit of water even in the AM,
Simon's pu/pd is minimal so I'll just withdraw the water at 4:30 am when i get up....
So I plan to give him a shot the PM before, skip AM, and PM day of procedure "we'll see".

And yes, it is nerve-wracking nailbite_smile :lol:
 
Re: 1/11 SimonB AMPS 113 +6 88 Dental?

Hi guys
Nice numbers this morning. Scrabble had a dental done in October and they told me no food after midnight too and I actually gave him so freeze dried chicken about 230am because he was really hungry and he was fine. It is worriesome when they go in for their dental but I am sure he will be fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top