1/12 Pepper AMPS 375, +3.5 348, PMPS 435

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/12 Pepper AMPS 375

come on down, Pepper!

I can't remember (sorry, my brain is fuzzy these days), has anyone ever talked to you about using Humulin R along with Lantus to try to bring his numbers down?

He gets a little green here and there, and I can see why you are waiting to do increases (waiting for bounces, etc.) but to me it still looks like he needs either some R, or more frequent increases to help get him into better numbers more consistently.

The nice thing about R is that it is in and out of the system in a few hours, no insulin depot to worry about, so on those days when he gives you a low preshot, you could just give the Lantus dose and skip the R. Then if he skyrockets toward the end of the cycle, you can give a little R then to help keep him from going quite so high before the next Lantus shot. For the higher dose cats, R can be a tremendous tool.

If you're interested, I can give you some links to some other cats' condos where we talked about starting using R. The idea is to use the faster-acting insulin to pull those really high numbers down into a range at which the Lantus can work better. You can buy it at the pharmacy without a prescription. I paid around $50, but I think you can find it for less if you call around.
 
Re: 1/12 Pepper AMPS 375, +3.5 348

Hi Libby. I'm sorry it took me so long to respond. This is getting more overwhelming by the day. One person from the acro group mentioned R but didn't go into any detail. I am really afraid of using R. And can you really walk into a pharmacy and get R without a prescription? Then why do I need a prescription for Lantus?

I did hold the last dose for a long time. He seemed to be dropping to blue almost every day for a while. Then I waited for the bounce to clear and he had a really good day. So then I waited a little too long I suppose. Do you think it would help to increase more often even if he has hit green? Am I supposed to increase by a whole unit now that he's at 10 units?

I suppose you should send me the links to the condo discussions about R, but I'm really very nervous about it. Thank you for taking an interest in Pepper.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top