1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitten!

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous AMPS condo and PMPS condo because it was my first time posting for help on a 150 PMPS number and I didn't know any better. :oops: Sorry Sienne!

I am soooooo glad I didn't skip last night's dose. He still had a slight bounce, but he still hit blues again! His numbers are slightly higher this morning than I'd prefer, so I'm preparing myself for another cycle of yellows for today, but I'm hoping he'll still hit some blues (and maybe some greens) sometime today/tonight.

Another "Oh, Mikey!" :YMSIGH: story: Last night, after I got his +6 at 195, I realized I'd probably have to either stay up till his +7 and/or +8 to make sure he wasn't still falling and ending up in dangerously low numbers. So, I set my alarm to wake me up at 2:30 am (his +7) and went to bed. Around 2:15 or so, I'm awoken by this Thunk! Thunk! Thunk! noise. I called for Michelangelo to get him to stop whatever he's doing and the noise abates and I fall back asleep. A few minutes later, the Thunk! Thunk! sound returns. This finally motivates me to get up and turn on the light to see what the heck is going on. I find Michelangelo has somehow managed to wedge himself behind my books on the bottom shelf of my bookcase and has proceeded to knock Every. Single. Book. off the bottom shelf and onto the floor. He looks up at me innocently from his perch behind the last two books remaining on the shelf as he slowly pushes one of those books off the shelf. Of course, since I was already up, I figured I might as well get that +7 test in...and re-alphabetize my books while I was at. Michelangelo + OCD + Insomnia = 4 hours of sleep last night. :lol:
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

Introducing the newest member to our house! His name was Merlin, but he's definitely not a Merlin. Gotta figure out what to call him....
 

Attachments

  • merlin.jpg
    merlin.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 359
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

Mickey, you are a rascal! Will his antics get better or worse with his new buddy? Does the kitten formerly known as Merlin have any physical disabilities? He sure is a cute fellow. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

Beas adorable! He reminds me of Tarragon!

How is Mikey doing with him? Glad you saw some blue last night after I passed out on you :smile: ;-)
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

Hopefully, Michelangelo will come down from that pink perch tonight!

So, what's the story behind the he who shall not be named Merlin?
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

I've been trying to get another cat (special needs or rescue) for the last several months and I guess no one around here updates their lists because every single one of them was already adopted out. I even fell in love with a beautiful 3-year-old diet-controlled diabetic boy...but he was adopted out 2 months prior to a family with a diabetic daughter. :sad: With Mikey getting older and more and more anti-social and especially with the incident over the weekend between him and my brother, I really felt that window of opportunity narrowing fast, so I sped up my search and expanded it out to pretty much anyone who would respond that they still had a cat or kitten available. Out of over 20 emails I sent this weekend and today, he was the ONLY ONE still available! Not the fate that brought Michelangelo to me, but some sort of fate, nonetheless. :lol:

Mr. Tuxedo's story (not his new name, just something to call him till I can figure out what it's going to be): he and his two litter mates came as a surprise to his original owner who hadn't gotten their mother fixed yet (money issues). Mr. Tuxedo (MT) was born September 8th and the original owner was planning on keeping all three...but then she just recently got diagnosed with kidney disease and couldn't afford to get them their shots and get everyone fixed because of her medical bills. She was only charging $25 per cat because she's going to use that $75 to get the mother fixed. Aside from his birthday, I have no idea how much of the rest of that story is true....

Either way, I have Michelangelo "locked up" in my room (actually, he's not even noticed he's not being allowed out yet) and the little one downstairs, getting acclimated to his new home with Michelangelo's scent everywhere. I want to hold off on introducing them till I take MT to the vet and get him checked out and he has his first round of shots.

MT has already proven to be quite a little lover. He's been rubbing up against me all night and rolling around on the floor and purring like a little motorboat without the least sign of aggression or irritability. He's still a little skittish, which is to be expected since I only brought him home two hours ago, but his curiosity seems to be helping with that. I have a feeling my brother is going to love this little guy (which was one of my ulterior motives in getting another cat, btw). On the other hand, I have NO IDEA how Michelangelo will react. I'm really hoping that it's not too late and Michelangelo will like MT, or at the very least tolerate him. And I really, really hope MT will help Michelangelo burn off some of his energy!
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

SOOO cute! He does look like little baby Tarragon!!
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

Hi guys .. oh man, what a cutie!! I hope your guys will get along and become best buds!
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

How about getting a sock and rubbing it all over MT and then bringing the sock to where Mikey is and rubbing him with the sock. It will get him used to the kitten's smell. There's more info on this website about introducing a new cat into your home. I like the author -- she's a feline behaviorist. You may need to dig around the site to find more info.
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 351, +7/247, PMPS 348 - New kitte

Yep, I actually was thinking along the lines of what I used to do when I had my previous two cats and would have to take one of them to the vet: swap scents and/or neutralize the smell. In this case, I took one of Michelangelo's spare mice (he has three of them now :roll: ) and played with Mr. T with it for a bit. Then, I went upstairs to my room and casually swapped out one of the mice up there with the one the kitten had just been chewing on and playing with. Michelangelo was very interested in it (doing that mouth open, smelling thing that cats do) and eventually started playing with it like normal. I did this a few more times throughout the night and every time, both cats could clearly smell the other on the mouse, but weren't bothered by it.I think that this is why when my brother forgot to close Mikey in my room again and Mikey came wandering in on me and Mr. T, there wasn't a massive freak-out on either side. More of a wary, "new stranger so I need to stand my ground," attitude.

101_0413.JPG
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top