1/20 Jackson PMPS 72+1 59 +2 80+2.5 52+3.5 59+4.5 62 +5.5 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksonCatson

Member Since 2012
Jackson had a blue night last night and his AMPS was high enough that I felt comfortable starting to move up shooting time to make up for our cumulative 2.5 hour stall over the past few days.

I don't know if it was that or something else, but he was at 75 at +6 and was still there at +11.5 (I was going to try for another 15-min shooting move up tonight, but don't think I'm going to chance it while he's that low) and was 70 at +12. Ideally, I'd like him to come up to 100 before I shoot, but I'm not sure how long that's gonna take and how far off schedule that's gonna throw us.

My options seem to be skipping or stalling, yes? 70/75 seems awfully low to shoot at this point. Both cats are going crazy with hunger...I'm gonna wait 30 mins and test again...not sure I can make them wait much longer than that to eat. I hate to skip and lose momentum -- thoughts, anyone?

PMPS: 139
+4 139
+6 131
+9 190

AMPS: 278
+6 75
+11.5 75
+12 70
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 Stalling...

Remember if you stall that you want to shoot the full dose. But why don't you test him at +12 and if he's surfing, shoot ....as long as you have supplies and can stay up to test. I'll stay up with you again if need be?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 Stall or sk

Still surfing. If you are up for it, are rested, have supplies, you could shoot and get some food in him. He either hit his nadir around +6, came up and then got a second dip or he dropped to +6 and has been surfing.

Wanna strap on those BOS?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 Stall or sk

Sarah

I called in for take out dinner and need to go get it....I was waiting for his +12.

If you stall too long, he might drop to the point where you can't shoot. So it's better to shoot and feed him. I'll check back with you as soon as I get back.....10 minutes.

If you've stalled longer, get another test before you shoot, ok?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

Thanks, Marje.

I was waiting for +12.5, which was 72. I'm going to feed them now and if you're back soon, I'll wait until you get back to shoot.

THanks!
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

No no no :-D Don't feed! Shoot...you can do it. You don't want a food spike now. Shoot, feed. I will brb.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

Ack -- confused! I didn't see your message until I started feeding him, so I ended up shooting him as he was eating -- that should be OK, yes?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

Yes....perfect. I'm back. Grab a +1 ok? I'll stay with you tonight. And as soon as I eat...you'll get your BOS.

Please tell me how I confused you so we make sure next time is better for you.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

Shooting while eating is fine!! That's what I do routinely with Gabby. I test, her head goes into her bowl and she gets her shot. The entire process takes less than 5 min.

You'll want to get a +1 and a +2.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

Great -- hope you have some good dinner!

You didn't confuse me so much as I don't understand why I shouldn't have feed him before shooting -- is it just that you didn't want me to feed him and wait too long to shoot? Or is there some magic that happens in this situation?

Also, I don't exactly understand the suggestion that he might have kept dropping if I kept stalling. So much to learn...

Thanks for staying up with me! I had a feeling it was going to be a long night and I have plenty of work to do on my dissertation, so I won't be twiddling my thumbs between tests. And thankfully, I took a nap this afternoon. :-D

Will post a +1 -- about 30 mins from now.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

What concerned me was it sounded like you were going to feed him but continue to stall because you said you'd wait until I got back to shoot. So I misunderstood. Just to be clear, if you are stalling, don't feed. But as long SS you test/feed/shoot within about 15 mins of each other, you are good. And mostly, it's testing and shooting. Because lantus "typically" doesn't onset for a couple hours, it's not as important to feed right when you shoot as it is if you are using one of the quicker acting insulins. But I also shoot Gracie while her face is in the plate :-D

Sometimes if they are dropping and you are stalling (and thus not feeding) the carryover from the previous shot may allow them to just keep dropping. When you feed, that can help slow down that carryover. But we don't feed when we are stalling because it can artificially inflate the BG. Better to know you are shooting a true number and then feed then to feed and later shoot a food spike.

Make sense?


See you soon!
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

Sarah

Could you also please update your subject line with your PMPS? Thanks!
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson AMPS 278 +6 75 +11.5 75 +12 70 +12.5 72

Yikes, at 1.25ish, he's at 59. Should I give him some food to start shifting him up?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 Feed some HC?

I wondered where you were. How about a tsp or so of gravy. Normally we would not feed HC for a 59 but it's early in the cycle. Retest in 30. I'll be here. It's ok!
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 Feed some HC?

Sorry to worry you. A friend of mine was over to watch Masterpiece Theater and the story was so good I lost track of time! It's over now, though, and I've set an alarm for the 30-minute mark. Will post soon.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59

Not worried :-D Just wondered ;-) thanks for editing the subject line.

And here are your honorary BOS.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    8.3 KB · Views: 460
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59

Bwah! I was wondering what that stood for! :lol:

Just tested -- he's at 80, which is just about at +2. Test again at +3?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80

You know, I might be being a little overcautious but the 80 is a food spike and he's going to likely onset between now and +3. So I would probably be more comfortable if you got a +2.5. Unless you feel you know him well enough to let him go an hour.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80

I am fine with overcautious. Will test again at +2.5, which is in about 15 mins.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52

Yes....let's give him a few tsp of LC and see if he can come up a bit. See you in 30.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59

Nice that he responds so well to LC. I didn't think we waited an hour between +2.5 and +3.5....my how time flies!

What do you think about one tsp of LC and test in an hour? Or, since he eats at +4, you could not feed now, test and feed then. Whichever you think is best for him.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59

...when you're having fun, right?

I think I'll give him a tsp. now and test in an hour. When I feed him at +4, should I give him the normal amount (1/2 can) or should I adjust for all the other food he's had (meaning that he'd get less than normal)?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59

We want to be sure we get his normal portion amount in him so adjust it as you need to. I'll see you in an hour.

Yes..having fun! :-D
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59 +4.5

Little dude is still hanging around 60.

I didn't end up giving him all that much at +4 because of all the other teaspoons he has gotten throughout the night.

So he still has several hours in which he can drop -- should I just monitor and see what he does in the next hour?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59 +4.5

Let me look at his SS again really quick. BRB. But, yes...I'd let him go an hour and see where he is. But like I said, I'll brb.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59 +4.5

Ok...while he could drop again, yes, it looks like once he gets to this time in his cycle, he surfs for a couple hours and then goes up. AWESOME!

I'd check him in an hour and if he's come down a bit, give him a little more LC. But you don't want to feed him after nadir unless he comes back down. That way, he may surf a little longer.

One thing I want to recap: we fed him HC at +1.25 because he was at 59. It's not normally something I recommend but because we didn't have much data for him at low numbers and because it was your first green shot, and because it was EARLY in the cycle, it was the best choice. So you want to look at where in the cycle you get that 50 number. If it's really early like tonight, you might need a little HC or as you get to know how he responds as you get more data, you may find that LC brings him right up even early. If you get a 59 late in the cycle, you are probably going to try and let him just surf unless he's been clearing a bounce and is headed straight down with no upswings at all. Does all that make sense?

Shall I set an alarm and get up with you in an hour?
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59 +4.5

That's really helpful -- thanks for the recap and for pointing out patterns in the data -- good to get more understanding of what I'm looking for.

If you don't mind checking on me one more time, I'd very much appreciate it and then I'll let you go to bed for good! I think I'm likely going to stay up till +6 and then get up and test at +9 -- just so I can call it a curve and send it to the vet. :smile:
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59 +4.5

I certainly can! I'm waiting for my husband to get home anyway. So i'll check back with you when it's been an hour. See you soon!

PS...I'm going to log off but don't worry...I'll be back. I want to spend some time with Gracie.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59 +4.5

One more question, which can wait until tomorrow (well, later today) -- what does this mean in the larger scheme? If it took us steering him like this -- and after stalling -- is this suggesting that I should think about reducing his dose? I know that one of the ways to earn a reduction is a number below 50, but I can't remember the others.

I'm not going to be able to stall much more -- it's already going to be problematic later in the week with some evening obligations. I guess this means that I need to get comfortable with shooting green and really earn the BOS? :o

Thanks!
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72 +1.25 59 +2 80 +2.5 52 +3.5 59 +4.5

No on the reduction. He will tell you when he's ready by dropping below 50.

Yes you will have to learn to shoot low to stay low but only if he is above 50 , you have supplies, and can monitor.

Eta: reductions are earned for a newly dx cat by going below 50 or spending one week in normal numbers.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72+1 59 +2 80+2.5 52+3.5 59+4.5 62 +5.

Just as I thought... Surfing. Love it when my crystal ball works.

Do you want me to check in with you in an hour. I'd like to see him head up before you totally call it a night but you can sleep/ test or if you know him well enuff to wait two hours that's fine.
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72+1 59 +2 80+2.5 52+3.5 59+4.5 62 +5.

We're surfing -- 63!

Sigh on the reduction...OK. Then I think my question becomes what my options are in terms of finding a reasonable rhythm, as I can't keep stalling and I really can't keep staying up this late on a regular basis. Maybe as I better understand his patterns I'll be able to shoot green without having to do so much testing at night? Questions to be answered when it's not 3:30 am!

Thanks so much for all your guidance and support! Hope you have a good night's rest!
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72+1 59 +2 80+2.5 52+3.5 59+4.5 62 +5.

Lets brainstorm it tomorrow. There are solutions.

You both did great! Ni ni ... Hope you get some zzzzzzz
 
Re: 1/20 Jackson PMPS 72+1 59 +2 80+2.5 52+3.5 59+4.5 62 +5.

No, I think you can get to bed! I will test again to get him through +6 or +7 or at least till his numbers go up.

Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top