1/27 Ruben 145 +3 216 +4 265 +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
going to give .75u
should i leave his food out for a few hours or pull it up. hoping to go back to sleep? not sure what to do?
does this still sound like a "bounce" < ? I feel like I monitered him good last night, got tow reading at +4 and +5, plus gave him food before bed.
ugh. Im gonna give him his shot and try to rest some more but i will be on here. I will try to get a +2 or +3 later and post
love you guys, thank you
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

You did good last night.
Yes, this looks like a bounce.

Enjoy your back to bed.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

Yes, you can keep his food down.

We usually feed the first few hours, and then later after nadir is done, then we usually stop feeding, especially 2 hours before his next shot time.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

You're welcome. Have a nice couple hours of rest.
You can take the ? icon off of your first post, now.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

Hey there, Ruben likes to keep you busy at night eh? You did great again last night by the way. You are getting more data all the time so you start to see trends and know not to panic. Maybe next time (hopefully not tonite so you can have a nice well deserved sleep) he drops into blue at night and flattens out, you can snooze for a couple of hours and get a +7 or +8 to see if he drops again or starts to go back up.

By the way its nice to see all the blues greens - he is spending more time in lower, normal cat ranges and his body is starting to heal. He will slowly be feeling better!

Can you add a link in your condo each day to the previous day so we can look back easily?

thanks and heres hoping for a blue green day!
Wendy
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

Good morning ~O)

Just dropped in to say Hi and I hope Ruben comes down to those nice healing numbers again soon.
Good job :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5

296 +3.5 bf said he saw him eating a little when I was slepeing assuming around 9ish <thats good right, better than a plummit?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

wanted to test before I left just to be safe
378 +5 ? < whats going on why so high better high than low iguess but confused?
is this really bad? think i did .75u but its hard with no 1/2 syringes but feel it was consistant as the others
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

Yes, you're fine. Sometimes they do a little bump up...because they are a cat.

So you have plenty of time to run out for supplies.

Edited to add: I wouldn't worry about a +6 in this cycle. Just check him when you get home and don't feel like you have to hurry. He's ok for a few hours.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

just got back
322 +8.5 < good? better than low right?
how should I be feeling? < crazy question I know but its high?
bf said he was trying to "molest" my blanket (something he does once in a while, were all sexual beings. the reason I tell you guys is I figure he has to feel a lil beter if he feels frisky, right?
anyway got tuna for maple, just give her the water right? she still is in the litter box but nothing coming out, poor thing.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

Well....he's just fairly flat so we'll see if he clears this bounce tonight or not.

I don't know if we explained a bounce to you. When a cat is first dx with FD, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.

Be careful about the tuna juice if it is from human tuna. While the front of the can might state "tuna in spring water", check the back ingredients very carefully. If it has vegetable broth in it, don't give it to her. Most companies put soy in their vegetable broth and cats should not have soy. I would call the vet tomorrow about Maple if she is not markedly improved. If you are letting her have some of her dry food, you need to watch Ruben very carefully that he does not get into it.

You are doing great! I think if you just take a PMPS, you'll be fine. Same as before...if he's over 180, go ahead and give his .75u; if he's at or below 180, post first for help. :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

Marje and Gracie said:
Well....he's just fairly flat so we'll see if he clears this bounce tonight or not.

^how do you quote just one sentence- I always quote the entire post...duh?

so how should i feel about rubens numbers? and marje will you be on at 7? < your my security blanket. Feel soooo much better when your on. my mentor.
((((((((((((Marje))))))))))) < look at me sending you big hugs...lol if I was there w you I would squeeze the shite out of you so you could feel my gratitude. Im a cuddler...lol

also my friggin tuna does have soy and veggie broth...thank goodness I asked first....I did give maple a lil reg dry and made sure ruben didnt get any.
why would both of my cats be falling apart at once..ugh she was fine. it has to be the food change or ruben brought home a virus. i told the vets and they say they follow a strict disinfectant .
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

You can quote the entire post and just delete the part of it you don't want but be sure before you hit "submit" that it ends with [/quote].

Yes...I'll be watching for you. I'm just doing chores around here but I'll pop back on to see what he's doing.

I'd like to see him a little lower but he's just bouncing like most do at first so we just give him time. We will tell you when to change the dose.

Thanks for the hug...I can always use them. And you are welcome!

Don't you know it's just part of having cats that when something goes on with one, it goes on with all? :lol: :lol: :lol:

See you at 7 your time.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

I have a compressed catnip ball, he's licking it? is that okay? i left it with him for now, cause he seems happy.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

Could be the rapid food change. Could be something one picked up at the vet although the former is more likely.

I am very sure my Tiggy picked up something at the vet.. sure they follow strict disinfecting but when he was getting a checkup and while we were waiting for the vet to come in, Tiggy was wandering around and lying on the surgery room floor. I know they disinfect the surfaces but the dont clean the floor every time a customer comes and goes.

But like I said, its probably the rapid food change. Ruben seems to be coping better with it.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

yay ruben is playing!!!!!! :-D
catnip ball is ok or not to le him lick on it?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

Whats it made of? is it a sock with catnip in it or something like that ..?

Nice to hear he is playing...see??! He is doing good!
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

i do have a sock w cat nip in it but this is a compressed (assuming) pure catnip ball like it was compacted tightly to form a ball?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

not sure if its that exact one but it looks just like it. i got a long time ago. im gonna leave it out feel ok about it. plus it makes him happy. dancing_cat
almost time for pmps see you at 7 lets hope for good numbers not stable enough to handle low ones..lol
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

Cool. Make sure you put the playing in your "remarks" on your SS!

Time for a glass of wine?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

I find myself biting my nails waiting to see what Rubens 7 pm BG will be. I am hoping for the very best Sweety.Im here if ya need me..,
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

195 pmps
ugh i know its an ok number but sooooo nervous, dont want him drop after i shoot...ugh
holding on feeding til i get the re assurance its ok to shoot, i know the cut off was 180 but still need the affirmation. he growled again, getting sick of the testing, but he did get new treats...his ears dont even have that thin red line it then it goes to just blood then back to line poor thing, but think im getting better if only by a little
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Ok..I'm watching for you.

This is what we call a dropping number. Shooting dropping numbers can be very beneficial but it is very likely he will have an active cycle and you will need to test him more.

You can stall a bit and see if he comes up. You won't be feeding him because you dont' want to shoot a food spike. He might keep dropping and I don't know how long you can stall. Whatever time you shoot tonight, you will have to shoot 12 hours from that and it will
be your new time.

You can shoot this and feed him and then get a +1 and +2 test. Like I said, we'll have to monitor him closely.

You can shoot a reduced dose. The only problem with shooting a reduced dose is he is likely to have the same kind of cycle that he will anyway because of the depot. The effects of a reduced dose are usually seen late in this cycle or in the next one.

You can skip. You probably know I don't want you to do that but you hold the syringe.

What do you think?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

you tell me marje,
i think feed, shoot and test? is a hypo likely or very likely or not that much likely? stressed
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

You know I had a feeling... ;)

I dont want to skew your thoughts but I would shoot and feed.

He is making such great progress I would worry a skip or reduced dose might set him back. And by +5 he might be going back up again and finally you get a good nights sleep. Or if he drops under 50 you get a decrease in dose.

Up to you though. And again no need to be stressed.. at least you are half awake this time!

Wendy
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

what number is considered a hypo? is 50 bad? need to know ahead of time incase i test and get, need to know? what is the danger zone to when i need to go to vets?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

I like to keep them on track but I'm pretty sure he's going to come down. Are you up for testing tonight because you will have to get a +1 and +2.

Do you have lots of food and some with HC gravy? Lots of strips? Karo?

We can control the numbers as long as you test. If you don't have the supplies above, then I am reticent to have you shoot just now. If you do, then go ahead and shoot, feed him his normal portion of a meal, and I'll see you in one hour.

Please just let me know what you decide. :YMHUG:

And if you shoot....I will stay with you until he's coming up. Ok?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

i only have 50 test strips, and i do have karo and gl ff..oh god please no hypo....im gonna feed shoot and test. pray
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

If you are using an AT meter, the "low enough" point is about 70. On a human meter we say 50.

Carl
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

you still have your Relion with strips, right? We can switch to that if you run out of strips but you won't. I'm a bonafide testaholic and I haven't used 50 strips in one night. But you should get more AT strips as soon as you can.

Ok...so here we go but I need you to be calm tonight.

We were all nervous our first time of shooting a new number we hadn't shot before. But just post as we ask and follow instructions. And stay calm ;-) ;-) ;-)

See you in one hour, ok? Hang in there!! You are doing superb!
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Sam, Do you use the AlfaTrax 2 strips? I can order them for you now so you don't run out.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Dont worry - you will be testing and we will be watching him. Get a +1 and we will see how he goes.

Low enough as Carl says is 70 but that doesnt necessarily mean a hypo and it doesnt mean you panic. It just means you contact us and you feed a little high carb (Marje can give quantities) to bring him up before he gets too low.

So once you shoot make sure you read this since you have a little time... not to scare you but to prepare you... http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887

Good point Carl. If she is using an AT does that mean a reduction at 70?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Samantha (and Mom),

This is okay. It is "what we do" often, and we can walk you thru this. And we don't sign off until you tell us it's all good.

Carl
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Agreed - Ruben is doing really well and we need to keep pushing him to keep the progress going. We are all here for her. This situation is totally normal and we all have been through it a lot of times.

Mom - can you pop round and sit with Sam to give her moral support?

Wendy
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

he ate but only like 1/4 can leave food out right? i'm going to take 1/4 zanax (never take medicine, but think it will help-i would lie if i said i wasnt a sress case
all your words do help even if i dont reflect them in my language, just imagine this but worse, thats what i'd be...lol
love you (((((((((guys)))))))) thank you for being here. could NOT do this w/o all of you, stay with me please (i know you will but have to write it, makes me feel better)
its gonna be okay <trying to affirmate lol now i just gotta believe it
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

I am here all night in support of Sam. Thank You all for helping her (and me) through these stressfull times.
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Go Ruben Go! Go Sam Go! ;)

Take the Xanax as long as it doesnt make you sleepy.

I can be here till +5 but I am not a dosing expert - I am here for moral support!

Wendy
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Sam
Yes, leave the food where he can eat if he chooses. All you have to do next is get a +1 number.

Carl
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

i am the luckiest girl in the world. mom-you are my strength. with you by my side i know it will be okay, what ever it is
ruben does not like his treas...lol the beef is the only one he even smells...lol what ca doesnt like chix or talapia? lol
zanax down the hatchet, hopefully it will get me back to normal.
what is everyones thinking wabout what to expect?
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Sorry...I had to test Gracie.

I'd go easy on the Xanax if it will make you sleepy.

Everything will be ok; our job is to guide you each step and yours is to remain calm and alert. Think of how bonded Ruben is to you and so he needs you to be calm and light the way to him being calm.

And as Carl said...this is what we do and we've done it many, many times. When Gracie was on lantus, she gave me a dropping number more than not and I would shoot her in the 50s. But I know her and we will have to learn what Ruben responds to.

You are going to do great tonight and you are saving your beloved kitty. :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Sam...I never guess at what to expect with cats. We just deal with it as it comes when we are working with a new kitty with no patterns.

And "Mom" you are welcome :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

what is everyones thinking wabout what to expect?

I think a lot of us have crystal balls, but none of them are ever working!

Here's some things you want to make sure you do, Samantha.

Don't panic, no matter what the meter tells you. Get a test number, and post it here, and somebody will respond in mere moments to help with what to do.

Make sure when you go back to post a reply, that you scroll back up to the last time you posted something. You want to make sure and read any comments made since then, and it might help by answering a question before you even ask it.

Now, what time was it when you shot? I like to play "time-keeper" and post updated recaps, and I can watch the clock and prompt you when the next test should happen.

Carl
 
Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

Hey...and Sam...when you get a chance, could you just edit the subject line to

1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

You will need the room to add his numbers from tonight. Thank you. See you soon....can you please let me know exactly when you shot so I can be sure I'm here in one hour? Thank you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top