Re: 2/20 Pepper AMPS 525
Nancy&Pepper said:
Is the resistance ever going to break, or this this going to keep going up and up? And I'm not sure I understand the up 2u then back off by 1u? Why would you go down by a unit after increasing by two? And what exactly constitutes good numbers all through the cycle?
Nancy,
I think it's likely OK to assume Pepper would be positive if tested for acromegaly, and maybe even IAA as well... the dose you are giving and Pepper's still alive, I think you got yourself an acro.
The 2u up and 1u down(if needed) is a way of trying to get in front of the train, the resistance, and there are times when you DO need to up the dose by 2u.... think in percentages if it helps.
If you are giving 1u and the numbers are high, you up the dose by .25u.... that percentage is 25%, yes?
If you are giving 10u and the numbers are high, you up the dose by .25u... that's a very tiny percentage, yes? As your total dose increases, you have to leave behind the .25u and .5u increases, and you have by going with the straight 1u increase.
The 1u increase usually starts when you reach a 10u dose, and then when you get to a 20u dose, and you are still getting high numbers, you have to leave that straight 1u increase behind because your 1u increase percentage just got cut in half.
Now, you won't ever give more of an increase than 2u because of the shed, but you do need to get ahead of the resistance. You can't let the 500s get a grip on Pepper.
It's hard to say about the resistance with Pepper as you have not tested him. How you treat won't change but you will possibly know about two issues if Pepper is both acro and IAA positive.
If you looked at Oliver's ss, you would see the first few months his dosing was different.... from March2010 till June6 2010, you can see his resistance and lots of R was needed, but then it broke.
June6 he needed 21u Lev and 7uR, the next day, all green numbers and the R was not needed again... the IAA resistance was broken, leaving only the acro left to dose.
So sure you will get to a point where all of a sudden, you are getting good numbers, and not just one or two, but long stretches in a cycle. You will know that you have arrived and Pepper's leveling off.
You just need to be a bit more aggressive or you may end up at a higher dose than needs to be.
That's why you want to hold a dose for only 6 cycles, then look at the numbers.... not all nice, up you go. When you hit 20u dose, and the numbers are still not good, think about trying to up the dose by 2u on one shot... sort of like in a race - you want to run a little faster, or you are in a car and want to pass another, you speed up, pass, and then slow down again, yes?