2/20 Pepper AMPS 525, PMPS 305

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/20 Pepper AMPS 525

Ok, Pepper, what's up with these high #s, huh? If you don't come down from there very soon, your Momma Bean will be giving you more juice. Hoping that he gives you better #s for you very, very soon. Try and have a good day.
 
Re: 2/20 Pepper AMPS 525

With resistance, if you hold a dose too long, the resistance repositions itself; you want to be in front of the train. Because you are getting the odd good number, you want them to continue, so if you are not getting consistently good numbers after 6 cycles, up the dose. Hold your dose for only 6 shots.

Once you reach around 19u, your 1 unit increases may not be registering all that much, so you can try to up the dose by 2u for 1 or 2 cycles, and if you get a good response, you can hold that 2u increase or back off by 1u.... 2u up for a couple shots, then down 1u.... but ONLY if you are seeing good numbers all through the cycle.

When you get the odd good number, it's like you got a good grip in the tug of war, but staying on that dose often results in your grip loosening.

It looks like you have some late nadir going on, so Pepper may have been lower around +10, then bounced up. You may want to consider catching more BG around +10 or +11, just to see what direction your ps is headed.
 
Re: 2/20 Pepper AMPS 525

Is the resistance ever going to break, or this this going to keep going up and up? And I'm not sure I understand the up 2u then back off by 1u? Why would you go down by a unit after increasing by two? And what exactly constitutes good numbers all through the cycle?
 
Re: 2/20 Pepper AMPS 525

If I'm understanding Gayle correctly, she's suggesting that as Pepper's dose is increasing, 1.0u may not make much of dent if you look at the increase in terms of the percent of the total dose. As a result, you may want to increase by a greater amount.

With respect to insulin resistance, you need to be aggressive to get ahead of the antibodies. However, if you increase and then a reduction is warranted, you don't want to increase by too much or the antibodies may reassert themselves.

Did you get Pepper tested?
 
Re: 2/20 Pepper AMPS 525

Sienne and Gabby said:
If I'm understanding Gayle correctly, she's suggesting that as Pepper's dose is increasing, 1.0u may not make much of dent if you look at the increase in terms of the percent of the total dose. As a result, you may want to increase by a greater amount.

With respect to insulin resistance, you need to be aggressive to get ahead of the antibodies. However, if you increase and then a reduction is warranted, you don't want to increase by too much or the antibodies may reassert themselves.

Did you get Pepper tested?

Hi Sienne. I understood the increasing by two because of percentages involved - are you are saying that after increasing by two, if a reduction is warranted (meaning Pepper went too low?), you only decrease by one, not the full two?

No, I didn't get Pepper tested yet.
 
Re: 2/20 Pepper AMPS 525

Nancy&Pepper said:
Is the resistance ever going to break, or this this going to keep going up and up? And I'm not sure I understand the up 2u then back off by 1u? Why would you go down by a unit after increasing by two? And what exactly constitutes good numbers all through the cycle?

Nancy,
I think it's likely OK to assume Pepper would be positive if tested for acromegaly, and maybe even IAA as well... the dose you are giving and Pepper's still alive, I think you got yourself an acro.

The 2u up and 1u down(if needed) is a way of trying to get in front of the train, the resistance, and there are times when you DO need to up the dose by 2u.... think in percentages if it helps.
If you are giving 1u and the numbers are high, you up the dose by .25u.... that percentage is 25%, yes?
If you are giving 10u and the numbers are high, you up the dose by .25u... that's a very tiny percentage, yes? As your total dose increases, you have to leave behind the .25u and .5u increases, and you have by going with the straight 1u increase.
The 1u increase usually starts when you reach a 10u dose, and then when you get to a 20u dose, and you are still getting high numbers, you have to leave that straight 1u increase behind because your 1u increase percentage just got cut in half.

Now, you won't ever give more of an increase than 2u because of the shed, but you do need to get ahead of the resistance. You can't let the 500s get a grip on Pepper.

It's hard to say about the resistance with Pepper as you have not tested him. How you treat won't change but you will possibly know about two issues if Pepper is both acro and IAA positive.
If you looked at Oliver's ss, you would see the first few months his dosing was different.... from March2010 till June6 2010, you can see his resistance and lots of R was needed, but then it broke.
June6 he needed 21u Lev and 7uR, the next day, all green numbers and the R was not needed again... the IAA resistance was broken, leaving only the acro left to dose.

So sure you will get to a point where all of a sudden, you are getting good numbers, and not just one or two, but long stretches in a cycle. You will know that you have arrived and Pepper's leveling off.

You just need to be a bit more aggressive or you may end up at a higher dose than needs to be.
That's why you want to hold a dose for only 6 cycles, then look at the numbers.... not all nice, up you go. When you hit 20u dose, and the numbers are still not good, think about trying to up the dose by 2u on one shot... sort of like in a race - you want to run a little faster, or you are in a car and want to pass another, you speed up, pass, and then slow down again, yes?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top