2/21 Bear's AMPS 300 PMPS 231

Status
Not open for further replies.

BettyL

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone- Glad to see Bear's PMPS under 300. My vet never called me back. Hopefully, she hasn't written me off. She thought .25u was a ridiculously small dose, so I can't imagine what her reaction will be to .1u.

I was just wondering what the game plan is. Do I just keep giving Bear .1u indefinitely. When do you know when it is time to make an adjustment either up or down? Are we trying to get numbers consistently in the green? If she is in the green or even low blue range, will I still give her a shot.

Thanks
Bettty
 
Betty --

When you have some time, I'd encourage you to look at a variety of spreadsheets. It will give you a feel for dosing.

If you're following the Tight Regulation Protocol, you let a dose settle for 3 days and then evaluate its effectiveness. With your situation, the Start Low Go Slow approach probably makes the most sense. With SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days and evaluate if Bear's numbers are where you want them. You increase or decrease based on that information. Decreases occur if numbers drop below 90.

Ideally, you want to keep your cat below renal threshold (approx. 200 - 220) and preferably, in normal numbers (50 - 120) if you're aiming for remission. You'll need to give some thought to what your goals are.
 
Hi, glad you're still hanging in with the testing. I had a lot of trouble at first also. I sent you a PM the other day when you were having trouble testing. Not sure if you got it or not.
 
Hi Betty

Just dropping by to see how it's going. You might want to grab a +2 test and see if Bear might decide to come down tonight.
 
Sorry to anyone that sent me a PM. I'm new at this and didn't even think to check there for messages. It's late tonight, but I'll try to respond tomorrow. Thanks Rockpea for pointing out you sent me a PM and for the information.
Betty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top