3/13 Moses PMPS 200 +3~207 +5~171

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8973

This is the first time in a week I've been able to get a daytime +3 and wow! :mrgreen: I wonder if this has anything to do with Moses' balancing act in multiple colors?

*Question - Since we're hitting green so early, do you think that this data could could be pertinent to a dosing change? Perhaps this is what Moses has been doing all this past week and only today we've been able to catch it!

B/t/w, all P's are in place. That little pooper :mrgreen: We have guests in the house (from yesterday's reception) and Moses is not well mannered. Still demanding his dinner! At 5:30 in the morning! It's enough for the microwave to go off, but as he sees me coming up the stairs he wails and wails, trying to rush me. We're going to need to have a little talk later on about this ;-)
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 Question

I wish I could give you a definitive answer but it may be that Moses is signaling for a reduction. However, Moses is, after all, a cat and just when you think you know what's going on, those kitties throw us a curve.

I would get a +4 just so you have a sense of whether he's still dropping lower.
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 Question

If you check Tasha's spreadsheet (prior to her otj trial) you will see that she almost always was in the green at the +3 even when her AMPS was blue or yellow. Maybe that is when Moses hits his nadir? I think that their pancreases kick in after they are fed and the morning shot combo to produce that effect. That being said you never know. Every kitty is different. 88 is not a cause for a change in dose. She most likely has been dipping there all along. That is a good sign though that he may be doing better then the AMPS and PMPS shows.

Unless your meter is calibrated to kitty not people, 50-100 is normal range on a people meter for a cat. Looking at your numbers I would think Moses may need a hair more insulin if you are using a people meter. Maybe a 1.2 or even a "fat 1" if you cannot monitor him throughout the day. If that is a kitty meter, don't change the insulin.
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 Question

As far as meter readings, use the numbers your meter generates. Whatever the variance may be, it's the numbers you've been using. It's why we don't encourage beans to alternate between meters, let along try to extrapolate to a different meter. You've been using one meter and you'll drive yourself nutty trying to over interpret the data.

For now, go with what Moses' numbers tell you. It may be that unless Moses' tells you today that he needs a reduction that a bump up may be needed but for now, let's see how this cycle plays out.
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 Question

Nice green there Moses! The weekend is a good time to see what is going on during the day cycle. In the spirit of testaholics everywhere... keeping poking, hee, hee.

And seeing the green and blue during the last few days tells me that if this were my kitty I would NOT raise the dose at this time. You need some more info, but I like the green for sure and hope you can catch more green numbers today.

You may be ready to increase after you gather more data in the next few cycles, but we just don't know yet where Moses is going mid-cycle -- who knows maybe he wants a decrease. Safety first!
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 Question

any update? This was a great drop, kinda fast, great day to get additional tests so we can see why Moses is bouncing. Could be that he's hitting dose reduction earning numbers (I wouldn't be at all surprised with a drop like this), but we kind of need to see it to be sure. Hint, hint..... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 +5~97 +6~115 Question

Oh, Moses' behavior shows me it's peak time. He's tugging on the feather toy he found and he wants to play!

Thanks for the suggestions. Guests are still here, so I was unable to get a +4. But a +5 and +6 will do :mrgreen:

Moses PM cycle seemed to always peak at his +3, given the rare occasion it peaks at +6. I have always used the same meter, and I'm pretty certain it's for people. I'm open to all thoughts on this, b/c he's been at 1u for a while. But this is the first +3 I've gotten all week.

I'd like to get a full curve... but I'm getting kinda, um, worn out of "family time" blah. lol. I might need to scram at his +9... just to get out. We'll see.
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 +5~97 +6~115 Question

Libby & Lucy, I just read your reply. To stay safe, does that mean that it's the safest to stay and get the +9?

I can probably get a +7... (hints don't bother me, I need them :mrgreen: )
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 +5~97 +6~115 Question

mostly I wanted to see if he was going to surf in the 80's or head back up, so go ahead and go out and grab a test when you get back. It's a good data collection day, it's always more fun to collect the data when they're actually having some action instead of when they're just flat. I keep wanting to increase Moses' dose, but then I see things that make me think he might be going lower than what we're catching (like the pink AMPS numbers) and it makes me not feel comfortable increasing. The more data we can get, the easier it will be to become sure about what is going on between tests.
 
Re: 3/13 Moses AMPS 252 +3~88 +5~97 +6~115 Question

I'm so glad that everybody is so concerned about Moses' health. It's really important to me.

And I'd like to ask what "getting more data" looks like, since he's been on 1u for about a month now. I am limited by money and time to how much testing I can achieve. I realize that other beans can test 8/10/12 times a day. And they're seeing vast improvements with their sugarkitties and dosage changes. This is a testing routine that I simply cannot uphold with our current life circumstances.

I see very few ways to improve on our last month's testing schedule, other than getting the occasional 3am or 5am test in. I know what I can and cannot balance in life right now, and this is the best I can do. And if my best will not provide enough data to make these judgement calls, then I'd like to discuss that.

Moses WCR is phenomenal and I am not trying to push or challenge his safety and health. I just want the best for him.
 
Re: 3/13 Moses PMPS 200 +3~207 Question

Hey ya'll I'm back. My question relates to the my last reply, right above this one at Moses' +6.

*Question - Does gaining enough data mean getting at least 8 tests in a day? And if not, what does qualify as "enough data"? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/13 Moses PMPS 200 +3~207 Question

it's not really about the number of tests (although yes, the people who test nearly every hour DO make it a lot easier to figure out what is going on with their cat, because there's no guesswork, but that's not realistic for most people!). It's more about being strategic with what tests you do get.

Like on 3/11 when I asked you to get a +4 after his big drop, that was strategic because I wanted to see if he was still dropping and would hit a number that earned a dose reduction. You did the same today, which is good. Tonight doesn't look too dramatic, so going to bed should be fine. Any time you shoot lower than you're used to, you should plan to test more so you can see what happens, because one day that low number will show up when you're about to run out the door to work, and it's handy if you already have an idea how Moses will react so you don't have to worry.

Moses is getting some green on this dose, but it isn't low green so I do think you have room to increase if you want to try to bring his range down. Looking at Moses' spreadsheet, I would say that if you increase, you should always get a test no later than +3 at night, because that test will show you if Moses has drama up his sleeve that night. If he is getting dramatic at +3, then more testing would be needed that night.

Does that help at all?
 
Re: 3/13 Moses PMPS 200 +3~207 Question

Ideally, enough data would be (3 days worth) BG at relevant times . Aside from the PS numbers check the +3 and the +6. You are looking for the nadir. Of course it would be nice to get some other numbers, but this would tell you a lot.
Moses is getting some green on this dose, but it isn't low green so I do think you have room to increase if you want to try to bring his range down. Looking at Moses' spreadsheet, I would say that if you increase, you should always get a test no later than +3 at night, because that test will show you if Moses has drama up his sleeve that night. If he is getting dramatic at +3, then more testing would be needed that night.

Libby and Lucy

I go along with the above. If you gave a slight increase, the +3 would be enough if it isn't too low. If there is concern, depending on how low more testing may be needed.
 
These answers are wonderful! They definitely help :mrgreen:

I hope I get better and better with testing strategy. I'm learning a little more every day!

Thank you! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top