4/2 Asher amps 325, bad numbers question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone! Quick question if anyone has a moment to look at out spreadsheet.

We were cruising along famously, and got the idea about a week ago that maybe Asher's mid day numbers could improve if we raised our dose from 3.75 to 4 units.

It seemed to work on the first day, but after that our numbers have declined. And today he was flat 300 all day, which he hasn't been since last October really.

So.. do we increase again, or do we decrease (was I greedy and I should have left well enough alone at 3.75)?

All the P's are good, he acts normal, no ketones, eating good (pig like usual). I'm confused :cry:

Any insight anyone has would be mucho appreciated.
 
No dose advice from me, but I do hope you get some expert eyes to help you find the right dose. Asher, let's stay away from the stinkus pinkus, ok? Blues and greens are the current trend, if ya didn't know! Good luck, guys!
 
Hi Donna,

I'm not an expert, but I think it could be a combination of New Dose Wonkiness and the changing of the shot schedule. Asher has been diabetic for quite a while and I have been told (by the experts) that it often will take many more cycles than those stated in the protocol for an established, long-term diabetic to get into a "good groove". Perhaps give the new dose a few more days and see what happens.
Are there any other factors involved? How old is your insulin? Does Asher have any health issues that might be influencing his numbers?

Good luck.

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks Ella.

Our insulin is not old, but to be sure I opened a new pen just to see, and things were the same. No other health issues we know of.

I kept the dose the same tonight, we are going to give it some more time. It is indeed possible that since we had to move his shot time recently, that could have screwed things up. Due to work and appointments, we moved him by the book-no more than 15 mins per shot-but still moved him quite a bit.

Asher has responded well to consistency throughout his diabetic career. This instance may be no different. We're gonna hang in with the 4 units for right now and see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top