3/15 Buddy AMPS 319 (1.50u), PMPS 285 (1.50u)..Bloodwork In!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/15 Buddy AMPS 319 (1.50u)

Glad Buddy is feeling fine today. How did he like his FF chicken classic, did he eat it up?
 
3/15 Buddy PMPS 285 (1.50u)..Bloodwork In!

So, as I suspected his numbers are normal, if you remember about a month ago he was diagnosed with mild hepatitis and I suspected he had food poisoning from the salmon oil I was giving him...well it turns out my theory was right...the only numbers the vet was concerned about was his fructosamine and blood sugar, he said it was in the 400's and that it wasn't that bad a month ago...i said i know...

I told him about the FF and the dilemma and suggested that his numbers might be increasing because of the possible change in the ingredients...so this was my proposal...

I went to the grocery store after work and bought every legal can of the old labeled FF...about $90 worth...starting with tonight's dinner they are getting all the old cans and I'm going to see if his numbers start to regulate again...if they do then I know it's the food...if they don't, well...he needs more insulin and I can keep the cat's diets the same...

The vet agreed and told me to give him a call in a week to update him on his blood sugar levels...

Let the study begin!!!

Question: how long does it take for the new food to get out of his system to see if my theory works?
 
It's good to hear that Buddy's BW is all normal. I don't have a clue how long it would take for the old food to clear Buddy's system. I suspect 48 hours would be a reasonable length of time. You could post on Health.
 
I'm glad the bloodwork is ok. :smile:

Are you going to hold his dose during the food experiment? Because it looks like Buddy needs more juice but I understand if you don't want to change two things at once.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I'm glad the bloodwork is ok. :smile:

Are you going to hold his dose during the food experiment? Because it looks like Buddy needs more juice but I understand if you don't want to change two things at once.

I wasn't sure about increasing the insulin while trying the food thing...I know that when we change a cats diet we usually hold the dose in case the food has a positive affect on the blood sugar. Do you think I should go by that theory or should I do the increase and the diet "change" at the same time or should I hold off on the insulin increase for a few days to see if there are any significant changes??? Any advice would be lovely :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top