4/10 Pepper AMPS 86, +5 282, PMPS 364

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

Hi Nancy-

Unfortunately I do have to leave for work in a few, so hopefully someone else will also come along soon.

I would give Pepper about a tablespoon of HC, then retest in half an hour. Repeat that process until he is in the 50s; after that, you want to continue testing until you get several non-HC induced numbers that are above 50. You don't want to feed too much at once because you need him to stay hungry in case you have to feed again. A little HC can go a long way, but it's important to test to confirm that. Also, the HC doesn't last forever, which is also why you need to keep testing even when you do get him back up to the 50s.

I'm sure others will be along soon!
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

that's an eye opener!
even though it's getting close to the end of the cycle, because of the high dose i'd reach for the HC, nancy.
retest in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

Hi Nancy, I'm really too new to tell you what to do here, but here is the link for handling low numbers...
Handling Low Numbers

Scroll down until you find the low numbers part. Good luck and I hope things are ok.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

Thanks everyone. I gave Pepper some HC and I'll test soon. How to Handle Low Numbers says to give a teaspoon of HC - so that's what I gave him. Would a tablespoon actually have been better?
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

sounds good!

nancy, i have an appointment in less than 10 minutes, so i've put a call out for more eyes.
basically you want to stop the drop and get pepper's numbers bumped up a little as amy posted earlier.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

Nancy&Pepper said:
Thanks everyone. I gave Pepper some HC and I'll test soon. How to Handle Low Numbers says to give a teaspoon of HC - so that's what I gave him. Would a tablespoon actually have been better?
see what you get on the next test.
usually, HD kitties require more HC to bump up numbers than a kitty on 1 or 2 units.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

Hi Nancy...just wanted to let you know I'm hovering here and will keep an eye open on you :-D
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

30 minutes is fine, but 20 is ok, too. sometimes i can't wait for 30 minutes. lol!

my client is here. i'll have to leave, but i have emailed others. some of them may be in transit, but should be along shortly.

you know what to do. if the teaspoon wasn't enough to bump the numbers... go with a tablespoon or even karo if you have to.

some HD kitties require a lot of HC to bump up numbers.

i'll try to check back as soon as i can...

remember... you're in control!
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

A teaspoon of HC should help to raise him. If it doesn't do what Jill suggests. Typically, tests are done every 30 minutes. I'll be here for a bit in case you need some assistance. I'll do what I can. :)
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47 Possible Hypo?

Hi Nancy , I cant give you any advice , but want to let you know I am here to support you!! I hope Peppers numbers come up a little bit for you very soon!!
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

I probably would give Pepper some MC and re-test in 30 min. (You can combine LC and HC if you don't have any MC in the house. MC = between 10 - 15% carb).
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

I'm not sure who Jill e-mailed. I know Marje isn't going to be available much of today and Dyana is already at work. I'm trying to get ready to go to work but I'll pop back in and out.

What I would suggest is that you keep an eye on Pepper's numbers until you see they are starting to rise on their own. It's OK to feed close to shot time if you're seeing numbers below 50.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

Hi Nancy; what timezone are you in? I'm trying to gauge your next tests by my clock; I'm in EST....
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

I had a heck of a time getting Pepper to eat! I finally found something acceptable after about 15 minutes of opening cans, so the test will be a little later than it would have been.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

Hi! Stopping in real quick from work. How are things going?
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

It's looking good so far. I have a question - do you use a regular spoon when you measure a teaspoon or a tablespoon of the food or do you use a real measuring spoon? I was comparing, and I scoop out a bit more with a regular spoon than if I use a measuring spoon.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

I don't think it really matters. The idea is that you don't want to over-feed since when you're steering the numbers, you want your kitty to still be hungry enough to eat over however long it takes to get the numbers where you want them.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71

Nancy&Pepper said:
Recap:
+9 47
+9.5 65
+10.25 71

Should I remove the 911 icon? Feed any more?
Yes; you can remove it. The 65 and the 71 are basically the same number. I personally just give a dollop and eyeball to a tsp...
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65 Possible Hypo?

Nancy&Pepper said:
I had a heck of a time getting Pepper to eat! I finally found something acceptable after about 15 minutes of opening cans, so the test will be a little later than it would have been.
When I have to feed Gobbles' numbers, sometimes I open at least 5 different cans of MC, HC (I always keep a supply of MC/HC, all different flavors (friskies & ff)--at least 9 or 10 cans, in the back of Gobbles' cupboard..And let me tell you, the dog loves when Gob goes low because she gets lots of carnage...what with all the open cans, or opening one and only using a few tsps. out of it :lol:
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71

glad you posted his new numbers. Good to see he is going up. Good catch and Good job handling the low number Nancy!
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71

K...I'm waiting for the storm to reach us...just kicking back...I'll be here till later this afternoon! I probably missed it, but what kind of food are you now giving Pepper? LC, MC or HC?
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

+10.75 83.

He's rising a little now and I didn't feed after the last test. So, test again in 30 or an hour? Feed any more or just wait and see? (That was not nearly as dramatic as I thought it would be! )
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

Nancy&Pepper said:
+10.75 83.

He's rising a little now and I didn't feed after the last test. So, test again in 30 or an hour? Feed any more or just wait and see? (That was not nearly as dramatic as I thought it would be! )
Nancy&Pepper said:
+10.75 83.

He's rising a little now and I didn't feed after the last test. So, test again in 30 or an hour? Feed any more or just wait and see? (That was not nearly as dramatic as I thought it would be! )
It definitely looks like he's risen from +9.5 to 10.75 (don't ya hate trying to fit all those numbers in the subject line :lol: ) and a definite improvement since +9! As some cats react different and rise faster/slower, if Pepper were my kitty, I would give him a teaspoon of LC now. Then I would test again at +11.50.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

I would test him again at +11.5, because if you are feeding him right now; there'd be your 30 minutes....11:00 to 11:30 a.m.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

Ok, thanks. That'll be about 14 minutes. Oh wait - you said 11.5? that'll be about 25 minutes. I was counting 30 minutes from the last test. I'm getting confused!
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

Nancy&Pepper said:
Ok, thanks. That'll be about 14 minutes. Oh wait - you said 11.5? that'll be about 25 minutes. I was counting from the last test.
Well, that is the way that I keep track at least but you are correct--I'm a little confused--what time was Pepper's shot last night?
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

So basically, he had a t. of LC at 11:00? Did he eat it all? (I only ask because when Gobbles' plays the "almost hypo" game, sometimes I have to basically force him to eat....
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

Yes, I was confused. I was thinking next test 30 minutes after the last test, not 30 minutes after another feeding. My eyes just sort of skipped over the place where you said 11:30.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

Pepper's numbers usually head up after you shoot -- but lately, not always. If it looks like there's still a surf going on at shot time, can you stall a bit to see if numbers are rising on their own?

Remember, you can always shoot a reduced dose or skip if you need to and/or leave HC food out when you leave. I don't want you to be in a position where you shoot and are a nervous wreck all day because you haven't a clue what's going on with Pepper.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

Actually, he only ate a little bit so I thought I'd test at 11:25 - now he's 77. He went down a little.
 
Re: 4/10 Pepper PM +9 47, +9.5 65, +10.25 71, +10.75 83

Hi Sienne. I can stall, and I will be home all day to monitor. Pepper went down just a bit in the last 30 minutes. should I feed a little or test again in 30 without feeding?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top