3/16 Logan AMPS 373, +6 364, PMPS 388

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9218

Logan ate well last night and early this morning (app stimulant) but didn't seem to feel well this morning. He had to be coaxed quite a bit to eat his breffus. Hopefully, he'll eat well at lunch time.

Waiting for the internist to call me back...left her a voicemail first thing this morning, but of course she's not in yet. I want her hours!
 
Re: 3/16 Logan AMPS 373

Logan...glad you ate last night..but what about today? You need to eat so you will have strength for the party tomorrow....
good luck today Kelly....((HUGS))
 
Re: 3/16 Logan AMPS 373

Good Morning Kellly
I hope this internist gets back to you ASA and you can start the path on getting either
different treatment for Logan, new eyes on him, and some change in hus numbers soon.
Max has told me that he is really looking forward to getting Logan to the party safely
and will make sure he eats all of Stu's stew.
Report back kater when you speak to the doctor.
Sending better eating vines to Mr. Logan.
 
Re: 3/16 Logan AMPS 373, +6 364

Wow, 9 whole points?! He ate about a can of FF with some coaxing. Still not too enthusiastic. And I'm still waiting for the internist to return my call!!!! :twisted: I'll be giving her another call shortly!
 
Re: 3/16 Logan AMPS 373, +6 364

Finally talked to the internist. Had to call and be a PITA, though! She wants to put him on leukeran for the IBD. She said she wants to increase the pred to 2.5mg bid (he's at once a day) just for a week or so while the leukeran has a chance to start working. Before we can start the leukeran, we have to have blood work done so we have a starting point to make sure he's doing ok on the leukeran. I'm ok with increasing the pred if it's only for a week. She said if he develops ketones, cut back to once a day. We go in on Thursday for the blood work.
 
Re: 3/16 Logan AMPS 373, +6 364

Kelly & Logan said:
Finally talked to the internist. Had to call and be a PITA, though! She wants to put him on leukeran for the IBD. She said she wants to increase the pred to 2.5mg bid (he's at once a day) just for a week or so while the leukeran has a chance to start working. Before we can start the leukeran, we have to have blood work done so we have a starting point to make sure he's doing ok on the leukeran. I'm ok with increasing the pred if it's only for a week. She said if he develops ketones, cut back to once a day. We go in on Thursday for the blood work.

Hi Kelly,

I wanted to let you know that Quincy has been on leukeran for almost 2 years (will hit that date in May). It was primarily to deal with his lymphoma, but I've definitely seen it used for IBD too. Initially Quincy was on leukeran I think once a day (1 mg dose) and prednisone twice a day (5 mg/dose, 10mg total daily). We scaled him back on both, and now he's on 1 mg leukeran M/W/F. I have to bring him in every 3 months for blood and urine analysis to make sure there is no bone marrow suppression or evidence of pneumonia, bladder infection, or other types of infection. He's done very well on it. I have not seen nausea or really even much fatigue. It is a pretty mild chemo drug. I actually just asked my vet a couple weeks ago about Quincy being on it long term and the side effects of that, and he said cats do pretty well on it (knock on wood!).

Note I've seen dosing protocols that use more of a "pulse approach" - e.g., 5 days in a row, then nothing for 2 weeks. Also, you likely could start with a stronger dose and then taper off as we did. I know in the beginning my vet's goal was the give the cancer a big punch and then keep it at bay with as low a dose as is successful. If Quincy has a pattern of vomiting or another type of GI flare up, I can bump Quincy up to daily leukeran for 5-7 days. Last time I did that, he did seem a little more tired, but otherwise handled it pretty well.

You probably want to read more about the relative merits of leukeran for IBD vs other drugs, but I think I'd prefer it over prednisone myself if it was similarly effective.

One last thing - you likely will need to get it from a compounding pharmacy (the one I use does mail order, if you need it) as I think the factory issued size is 2 mg. Since it's a chemo drug, you shouldn't try splitting it yourself. Be sure and ask them to put it in as tiny a capsule as possible! Since it's in a capsule, it's easier to slide down. I put it in baby food and Quincy eats it without knowing he did.
 
Re: 3/16 Logan PMPS 388

Laura and Quincy said:
Hi Kelly,

I wanted to let you know that Quincy has been on leukeran for almost 2 years (will hit that date in May). It was primarily to deal with his lymphoma, but I've definitely seen it used for IBD too. Initially Quincy was on leukeran I think once a day (1 mg dose) and prednisone twice a day (5 mg/dose, 10mg total daily). We scaled him back on both, and now he's on 1 mg leukeran M/W/F. I have to bring him in every 3 months for blood and urine analysis to make sure there is no bone marrow suppression or evidence of pneumonia, bladder infection, or other types of infection. He's done very well on it. I have not seen nausea or really even much fatigue. It is a pretty mild chemo drug. I actually just asked my vet a couple weeks ago about Quincy being on it long term and the side effects of that, and he said cats do pretty well on it (knock on wood!).

Note I've seen dosing protocols that use more of a "pulse approach" - e.g., 5 days in a row, then nothing for 2 weeks. Also, you likely could start with a stronger dose and then taper off as we did. I know in the beginning my vet's goal was the give the cancer a big punch and then keep it at bay with as low a dose as is successful. If Quincy has a pattern of vomiting or another type of GI flare up, I can bump Quincy up to daily leukeran for 5-7 days. Last time I did that, he did seem a little more tired, but otherwise handled it pretty well.

You probably want to read more about the relative merits of leukeran for IBD vs other drugs, but I think I'd prefer it over prednisone myself if it was similarly effective.

One last thing - you likely will need to get it from a compounding pharmacy (the one I use does mail order, if you need it) as I think the factory issued size is 2 mg. Since it's a chemo drug, you shouldn't try splitting it yourself. Be sure and ask them to put it in as tiny a capsule as possible! Since it's in a capsule, it's easier to slide down. I put it in baby food and Quincy eats it without knowing he did.

I'm not sure what the dosage will be, but she did say he would be on it every other day. She said regular sized cats usually get it every three days but b/c he's on the larger side, he would be every other day. I think they dispense the medication. If not, I'll find out about a compounding pharmacy. She said that the other internists agreed that leukeran should be our next option for the IBD. I have read that it's used a lot for IBD. I'll have to do some more research before our appointment so I can bug her with tons of questions. :mrgreen: We will take him off the pred completely. We'll go back up to 5mg a day. The 10mg a day caused large ketones so we want to avoid that!

The real kicker here is that they could've suggested putting him on leukeran from the very beginning since it treats both instead of doing the biopsy! I know I shouldn't think of it like that, but we could've saved Logan a lot of pain and suffering. He wouldn't have needed the feeding tube and he never would've developed that infection.

I'm at work (second job) but DH2B said logan is eating much better tonight.
 
Re: 3/16 Logan PMPS 388

Kelly & Logan said:
The real kicker here is that they could've suggested putting him on leukeran from the very beginning since it treats both instead of doing the biopsy! I know I shouldn't think of it like that, but we could've saved Logan a lot of pain and suffering. He wouldn't have needed the feeding tube and he never would've developed that infection.

I'm at work (second job) but DH2B said logan is eating much better tonight.

You definitely shouldn't think that way! It's better to know what you're dealing with. I know my vet offered me the option of treating Quincy with drugs without the biopsy, but equated it to shooting in the dark. He also cautioned that if we were wrong in treating him more for IBD than lymphoma, it could make the lymphoma a lot harder to deal with. I think he also felt that treating the wrong condition could worsen the actual, existing condition, but I don't recall why. I just know he gave me the choice not to biopsy and to treat based on the intestinal thickening and vomiting alone, but he said if it was his own cat he'd have him on the operating table already for a biopsy. I know the recovery has been a lot harder for Logan, but I still think you did the right thing to know what you're dealing with. Imagine how you'd feel now, wondering if Logan might have cancer but not knowing.

But I don't blame you for wondering what if as I know the last couple of months have been really rough. Here's hoping once the ABs and pred are out of Logan's system that you see a noticeable improvement.
 
I know I shouldn't think that way, esp since I can't change anything. It's just so frustrating that he's had such a hard time.

I ordered a few cans of ziwipeak and it finally came today. I gave him the venison (also got some lamb) and he ate 3/8 of a 6.5 oz can...he hasn't eaten anything besides fancy feast in a long time. I only have 3 cans of each flavor. If he seems to like it, I'll order some more. I don't know the carb content but it can't be too high looking at the ingredients:

Venison - Meat (min 40%), Liver, Tripe, Heart and Kidney (min 18%); Green-lipped and Blue Mussel (min 4%); Carrageenan; Guar Gum; Flaxseed Oil; Sodium Tripolyphosphate; Minerals; Vitamins; Taurine

Anyone have any experience with this food? A novel protein is supposed to be your first trial for IBD. No idea if it'll help, but it's worth a shot. I've tried giving him the natural balance venison/green pea (ate a little, duck/green pea (wouldn't touch it) and the EVO 95% duck (wouldn't touch it).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top