3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188, PMPS +11.5- 150

Status
Not open for further replies.

bettyandhank

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9385#p92620 yesterday's condo

So 188. Hmm .... We did test the +1.5 last night after delay shooting 2nd dose reduction in 2 days. Very nervous.
I made sure he ate some bites before bed. i think he had a few more bites in the night.
By the looks of him this morning, I was expecting a higher number. He had the 'look'...wasn't as energetic, etc..Plus his thirst seemed greater..he drank 2-3 times just after waking up.

But, alas, still blue.

We shot the .25 or some version thereof again this morning. The plunger ring takes up the entire space between the -0- and the .50, and we were somewhere in there. I am not at all sure what is going on with him.

Also, yet again multiple pricks required..poor baby. yes we do the heated sock, rubbing, all those things...just doesn't always come.

Today I will be gone for 9+ hours for the first time since all this began. A bit anxious leaving him...hope he does well.

See ya'll tonight. We'll be racing in to get our routine done so hope for number's with an obvious clear next step and no more nailbiters.


Thanks for everyone's continued support. We are so appreciative.


B&H
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188

Betty, you're just getting started! This AMPS is just fine for where you are.

We are also giving .25, and it sounds to me like your dose was measured well -- at least, it sounds like ours!

He will be fine while you're gone. You're doing great.
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188

Nice shootable number for you and Hank. He will be fine today with the small dose he is on.
Nice shooting.
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188

I wonder if you are having trouble with poking due to the gauge of your lancets. You may need a 29 (thicker) if you're using a 30 gauge. Alternatively, if you have to poke more than once, try to poke as close to where the original poke was. That way the 2 droplets can merge.
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188

CD-

thanks again for checking on us. By his looks I was expecting pink or yellow. And would have questioned doing the .25 again today.
We had only allowed 1 cycle on the .50..not enough to gauge.

But at 188, i felt fine doing the lower amount. Did you notice that between +9 and nearly 6 hrs later yesterday, he had barely moved another 25 pts?
And still blue this morning.

This is all after waking up nearly DOUBLE that in the pink just yesterday. Don't know what it all means, but sure like these blues better. Do you see a story?

I will try for a +2 or 3 before i leave.


have a great day everybody...and again, thanks for keeping an eye out!
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188

& thanks Sienne & Kathy, too. Not used to seeing you here in the AM.

Ok, this is it, I gotta get out of here or I'll never make my plans.

on a side note. Elvis, my other boo-boo is a dry food (wh*r$) addict..they were both free feeding on Innova dry prior to this, additionally getting canned Wellness.
When this began, I put the dry food bowl in the garage where i have been feeding Elvie mostly since. The wet is out inside, and of course he has access to it, just snubs it mostly. Maybe a lick here & there, but that's it.

So I spend the day letting elvis in the garage form the kitchen since his bowl isn't out and accessible. Well, NOW i have to leave unitl tonight, and realize he will be blocked form his bowl.

Maybe he'll get hungry enough and eat some canned. But bless his baby heart, he has gotten caught up in this and not in a good way. he eats in the garage, Hank gets all the attention, treats, etc..

Maybe someday he'll transiiton to, but we are not there yet. I know him and have a feeling he will starve himself before eating the wet, waiting for me to get home to let him at his bowl. Feel guilty.


ok, that's it!
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188, PMBG +11.5- 150

We are just walking in. BG +11.5 @150. I left food down as I've been out several hours. There was some eaten, but not sure how recently or if number could be skewed by it.
Still low for us & shooting. We shot only one time near this #, ...which was last night after first stalling. We have reduced our dose a 2nd time this week, to .25 (thereabouts) as advised.

I know most of you would shoot this...just still slightly trepidatious at the low numbers.

We are so tired, if we do the same small dose, can we safely go to bed without staying up to re-test, food, etc.. ??
He would eat his regular LC dinner first.

thanks for hanging in there and continuing to walk us through.

Always feel a bit better getting the other voices to help us get more comfortable with what we are doing.

i still don't understand how this Lantus works, or how Hankie works at the moment for that matter.

He sure is staying blue.

tnx
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188, PMBG +11.5- 150

Quoting Sienne in late last nite's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 385#p92620

Like CD and Libby suggested, 0.25u is the new dose. Shoot this amount in the AM and PM. Hold this dose for 3 days unless you get a test and the number is less than 50.


From what I can tell, Lantus is working well for Hank. Keep yourself calm and collected and you'll get the hang of it,
trust me - we've all been at the nailbite_smile point, and things have a way of working out as we learn.
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188, PMBG +11.5- 150

It looks like you will be able to shoot Hank's 0.25u dose tonight. This is a number that isn't too low, you shot lower last night and he did fine.

Make sure to test again at +12 (before shooting) to see where he is at that point compared to the +11.5
You are doing great!
 
I posted here. I have no idea what happened to the post!

What I said is that the 150 is a very shootable number. You should always try to get a before bed test. (Unless you're me and want more than one test per night. Look at Gabby's SS -- you'll understand.)

Posting info: the 150 is your AM +11.5. PMPS is what amounts to your AM +12.
 
Thanks ya'll. Already shot, too late for another PS CD. No one commented when we were up here so I had to punt. He ate really well too, so makes me think he had not eaten in the last bit.

I may try to get a +1 if we're still up.

i really do have the hardest time measuring these out, i think I am to close to the -0-, then it seems I am too close to the .50.
It is just minutes. I did pull the magnifying glass out but it didn't help much. It is somewhere in there. I may try to see if on other brand syringes, it might be easier to discern. These are relion (made by same manufac. as GNP).

Anyway, I feel comfortable for him in the blues because he seems comfortable. It is amazing that this tiny bit may be all he needs.
it does have me wondering if what CD said could trued,...that he just needed and little insulin jump-start and that his pancreas may be trying to work again.
It is also that much more time since i got him off the Innova dry & primarily to canned. he still eats small amounts (tablespoon or 2) of Evo dry here and there, but mainly wet. maybe all the above.

it was an adjustment to have to run back tonight. There is a big music/film festival going on in town, and friends come each year form UK. It's all by the seat of your pants, you might have an outline, but get puleld in a different direction once out. Earlier tonight, one of them asked if i could run him back to the room to change & grab a jacket as they were in shorts but it was getting cool. I'd already promised another to drop them at their next venue on my way home.
I had to hedge as to whether or not I'd be able to swing him by the room, as it would depend on when the set ended. None of these are things I could have planned for, but of course would have done without a blink normally.
I knew I had to race home to 'do' Hank. This is my whole new world. I don't often go out like this, but this is one of those once a year things and you want to be able to go with the flow. I had to decline both things and not join my other friend at his next stop, instead he went alone.
I don't think any of these next nights will be super late, but if i am already out, and we are in the moment having a great time, and they all decide to go to X, next...I have to opt out.

I also can never figure how to allow for the numbers that throw you off....no matter what, even if you start early, your 20-30 min time allowance turns inot a whole other thing with long hours to manuever what comes next. Perhaps once regulate, that no longer is the case.
Tonight was not a big deal, but my first glimpse of how this will factor. These next few nights will be harder still as the plans will go even later.

When his number is ok, and i know i can shoot it, then I can still run in last minute, get it done, and it's done. I have us bumped a little later due to yesterday's stall anyway, so will keep that for these next days to give me a bit more leeway and work back form there once they leave.
let's hope hank stays in the mid-high 100's for PS for this time.

Ok, there's betty's thoughts for the day.

Thanks again for keeping such a good eye out for us.

he looks really good today
 
Ok. But Ronnie posted only 9 minutes after your post, and I posted at 12 minutes after you. Perhaps you need to "refresh" your page to see the posts that come after yours. The page doesn't show new posts if you don't refresh it.

Did you shoot the 0.25u?
What time did you shoot?
 
Hey Betty, I hope you can get a test right before you go to bed. Every test you get helps gather data so we (and you) can see how Hank is responding.

So glad Hank is looking good! And I hope tomorrow's a.m. number is as blue as tonight's. :-D
Enjoy visiting with your friends!
 
Hi again. I think our posts must be crossing, I'm composing and just press submit. THEN see any unread posts once i go back to the forum index. we were up here originally maybe 5-10 minutes. trying to keep us on track with just getting in late. We tested at 10:30. BG 150
i came up to post...then back down to get his dinner. Shot the .25 (+/-) just before 11pm.

I haven't seen them much today so want to go love on em' .

we'll check back in the morning.

thanks everyone!


PS: I don't now how to do the cut/paste snapshot that ya'll use to reference an earlier comment (but wished i did) but want to clarify something:
Ronnie excerpted above from an earlier message from Sienne:
[
i]Like CD and Libby suggested, 0.25u is the new dose. Shoot this amount in the AM and PM. Hold this dose for 3 days unless you get a test and the number is less than 50.

What i noted, was that you said 'If you stick with shooting 0.25u, you should be able to comfortably shoot anything above 120.

You aren't suggesting I shoot 50? (I don't think I would do that)...just if at ANY point the test came in 50 or below, then to re-evaluate the dose before the 3rd day, correct? I don't belive a high was discussed, I'll have to read back.

won't be tonight though, I think we're going to bed.

sorry about the cross paths...I see ya'lls replies. Had just gone down and done it already.

goodnight!



I just saw you posted while i was typing. I will try one more test. he ate already.

Can someone come cat sit so I can be spontaneous for only a couple days?
 
Re: 3/17 Hank +11.30 AMPS 188, PMPS +11.5-150 +1.5- 194

Ok ya'll- here's the 'before bed' +1.5 - 194 he did eat right before we shot.

I sure hope I got .25 worth in there.

g'nite.

b&H
 
bettyandhank said:
Hi again. I think our posts must be crossing, I'm composing and just press submit.

You aren't suggesting I shoot 50? (I don't think I would do that)...just if at ANY point the test came in 50 or below, then to re-evaluate the dose before the 3rd day, correct? I don't belive a high was discussed, I'll have to read back.


Can someone come cat sit so I can be spontaneous for only a couple days?
Yeah, that cross-posting happens pretty often. We just keep trying to catch up. :-D

Oh, don't worry, you won't be shooting when Hank is 50 at preshot time! If he gets below 50 somewhere in mid-cycle then he might be ready to reduce his dose. That is why testing at various times is so valuable. Everyone wants dose reductions because usually that means the pancreas is working more and more. Right now the insulin is helping so the pancreas can heal.

Ha, ha! Yup, I think there ought to be a traveling group of cat sitters that can test and shoot insulin. Wouldn't that be cool?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top