Gracie's Yesterday
5/20 Recap:
AMPS: 163
+2: 130
+3: 87
+3.5: 70
+4: 71
+5: 94
+7: 71
+8: 58
+9: 71
+10.5: 86
PMPS: 148
+2: 239
+5: 215
+10: 250
Our hearts are filled with sadness and grief today for Julie as Punkin crosses the Bridge. Punkin.....a LL legend gone too soon and loved very much by all of us. Too many great memories of him to list here but they are all in my heart. :cry: :cry: :cry: Also sending prayers to all of those in Moore, OK and prayers for safety to Lyresa and Melissa.
Gracie.....she brings so much joy and laughter into our lives. This morning, she was doing a typical Scottish Fold sit....they sit on their butts more like people than cats. When I walked up to greet her, she gave her characteristic head toss acknowledgment and her 'sup? but she did it with so much exuberance that she toppled over backwards :lol: :lol: :lol: She was also being a silly girl ....hippity hopping through the rooms. I went into the powder room to wash my hands and when I came out.....a vicious predatory cat waiting for me :shock: She stood up on her hind legs, waved her front paws in the air, then flipped around and took off running as fast as she could....with a brief pause to make sure I was in pursuit. :lol: :lol: She cracks me up.
Looks like Mike and I will just have to be patient and hold this dose while she decides to quit bouncing again. I could take her dose up a bit and smooth out the bounces but she's getting into the 50s for her nadir; we really don't want lower nadirs. It's been working well for her if we hold the dose as long as the nadirs are good enough. She's at least clearing the bounces quickly.
Sorry I didn't post the Gussie vetty report yesterday. It seems like we are always on full court press around here these days with little time to just relax for a few minutes.
But anyway....his BP was excellent....120. His heart rate was up a bit but that's probably a bit of stress. She listened closely to his heart and chest...no murmur or other anomaly. She gave him a very, very thorough head to tail check. She said if the episode last week was BP related (as in a big spike), she would expect to see some changes to his blood vessels in his eyes but she said his eyes look fabulous for his age. No cataracts .....retina looks great. After the exam, she felt that the episode was bupe related and agreed with the pharmacist that he probably got a larger concentration of the bupe. She said the problem with compounded bupe with flavoring is that the concentration of the med is not consistent dose to dose. We could choose to inject him but he's been getting squids daily now for almost three years and has not developed scar tissue so I don't want to stick needles in him twice more daily. This has been the only time we've had a problem with the oral bupe so we will just need to be sure we really, really shake it each time. She looked at his mouth closely and said that, while she was not seeing any indication of a FORL (which he is prone to), she did note some gum sensitivity and pain which could be why he's been on/off on his eating. Of course, we can't know for sure on the FORL without X-rays and that requires anesthesia. So, the plan is for us to weigh him EOD and if his weight starts to fall, we'll run bloodwork again to make sure his kidneys are still stable. If they are, then it's likely his mouth and we will address the dental at that time. Neither she nor we want to put a 17 year old CKD cat under anesthesia if we don't have to. She said to stop brushing his teeth because that probably keeps aggravating his sore gums (altho his gums were not that red) and just to lightly put toothpaste on his gum with our fingers. We also were making his food more pudding-like thinking it would be easier for him but found out last night that he eats it better if we just leave it as it comes out of the can. He's been eating well this morning. Paws crossed.
A friend of mine's husband is diabetic and last week had to have all the toes on one foot amputated due to poor circulation. He just got home yesterday and so we are making a meal to take out to them but they live 1.5 hours from us. As soon as I finish cooking, I'm going to head out there so I'll check back in later today.
Have a great day.
5/20 Recap:
AMPS: 163
+2: 130
+3: 87
+3.5: 70
+4: 71
+5: 94
+7: 71
+8: 58
+9: 71
+10.5: 86
PMPS: 148
+2: 239
+5: 215
+10: 250
Our hearts are filled with sadness and grief today for Julie as Punkin crosses the Bridge. Punkin.....a LL legend gone too soon and loved very much by all of us. Too many great memories of him to list here but they are all in my heart. :cry: :cry: :cry: Also sending prayers to all of those in Moore, OK and prayers for safety to Lyresa and Melissa.
Gracie.....she brings so much joy and laughter into our lives. This morning, she was doing a typical Scottish Fold sit....they sit on their butts more like people than cats. When I walked up to greet her, she gave her characteristic head toss acknowledgment and her 'sup? but she did it with so much exuberance that she toppled over backwards :lol: :lol: :lol: She was also being a silly girl ....hippity hopping through the rooms. I went into the powder room to wash my hands and when I came out.....a vicious predatory cat waiting for me :shock: She stood up on her hind legs, waved her front paws in the air, then flipped around and took off running as fast as she could....with a brief pause to make sure I was in pursuit. :lol: :lol: She cracks me up.
Looks like Mike and I will just have to be patient and hold this dose while she decides to quit bouncing again. I could take her dose up a bit and smooth out the bounces but she's getting into the 50s for her nadir; we really don't want lower nadirs. It's been working well for her if we hold the dose as long as the nadirs are good enough. She's at least clearing the bounces quickly.
Sorry I didn't post the Gussie vetty report yesterday. It seems like we are always on full court press around here these days with little time to just relax for a few minutes.
But anyway....his BP was excellent....120. His heart rate was up a bit but that's probably a bit of stress. She listened closely to his heart and chest...no murmur or other anomaly. She gave him a very, very thorough head to tail check. She said if the episode last week was BP related (as in a big spike), she would expect to see some changes to his blood vessels in his eyes but she said his eyes look fabulous for his age. No cataracts .....retina looks great. After the exam, she felt that the episode was bupe related and agreed with the pharmacist that he probably got a larger concentration of the bupe. She said the problem with compounded bupe with flavoring is that the concentration of the med is not consistent dose to dose. We could choose to inject him but he's been getting squids daily now for almost three years and has not developed scar tissue so I don't want to stick needles in him twice more daily. This has been the only time we've had a problem with the oral bupe so we will just need to be sure we really, really shake it each time. She looked at his mouth closely and said that, while she was not seeing any indication of a FORL (which he is prone to), she did note some gum sensitivity and pain which could be why he's been on/off on his eating. Of course, we can't know for sure on the FORL without X-rays and that requires anesthesia. So, the plan is for us to weigh him EOD and if his weight starts to fall, we'll run bloodwork again to make sure his kidneys are still stable. If they are, then it's likely his mouth and we will address the dental at that time. Neither she nor we want to put a 17 year old CKD cat under anesthesia if we don't have to. She said to stop brushing his teeth because that probably keeps aggravating his sore gums (altho his gums were not that red) and just to lightly put toothpaste on his gum with our fingers. We also were making his food more pudding-like thinking it would be easier for him but found out last night that he eats it better if we just leave it as it comes out of the can. He's been eating well this morning. Paws crossed.
A friend of mine's husband is diabetic and last week had to have all the toes on one foot amputated due to poor circulation. He just got home yesterday and so we are making a meal to take out to them but they live 1.5 hours from us. As soon as I finish cooking, I'm going to head out there so I'll check back in later today.
Have a great day.