5/21 Gracie PMPS 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

5/20 Recap:
AMPS: 163
+2: 130
+3: 87
+3.5: 70
+4: 71
+5: 94
+7: 71
+8: 58
+9: 71
+10.5: 86
PMPS: 148
+2: 239
+5: 215
+10: 250


Our hearts are filled with sadness and grief today for Julie as Punkin crosses the Bridge. Punkin.....a LL legend gone too soon and loved very much by all of us. Too many great memories of him to list here but they are all in my heart. :cry: :cry: :cry: Also sending prayers to all of those in Moore, OK and prayers for safety to Lyresa and Melissa.

Gracie.....she brings so much joy and laughter into our lives. This morning, she was doing a typical Scottish Fold sit....they sit on their butts more like people than cats. When I walked up to greet her, she gave her characteristic head toss acknowledgment and her 'sup? but she did it with so much exuberance that she toppled over backwards :lol: :lol: :lol: She was also being a silly girl ....hippity hopping through the rooms. I went into the powder room to wash my hands and when I came out.....a vicious predatory cat waiting for me :shock: She stood up on her hind legs, waved her front paws in the air, then flipped around and took off running as fast as she could....with a brief pause to make sure I was in pursuit. :lol: :lol: She cracks me up.

Looks like Mike and I will just have to be patient and hold this dose while she decides to quit bouncing again. I could take her dose up a bit and smooth out the bounces but she's getting into the 50s for her nadir; we really don't want lower nadirs. It's been working well for her if we hold the dose as long as the nadirs are good enough. She's at least clearing the bounces quickly.

Sorry I didn't post the Gussie vetty report yesterday. It seems like we are always on full court press around here these days with little time to just relax for a few minutes.

But anyway....his BP was excellent....120. His heart rate was up a bit but that's probably a bit of stress. She listened closely to his heart and chest...no murmur or other anomaly. She gave him a very, very thorough head to tail check. She said if the episode last week was BP related (as in a big spike), she would expect to see some changes to his blood vessels in his eyes but she said his eyes look fabulous for his age. No cataracts .....retina looks great. After the exam, she felt that the episode was bupe related and agreed with the pharmacist that he probably got a larger concentration of the bupe. She said the problem with compounded bupe with flavoring is that the concentration of the med is not consistent dose to dose. We could choose to inject him but he's been getting squids daily now for almost three years and has not developed scar tissue so I don't want to stick needles in him twice more daily. This has been the only time we've had a problem with the oral bupe so we will just need to be sure we really, really shake it each time. She looked at his mouth closely and said that, while she was not seeing any indication of a FORL (which he is prone to), she did note some gum sensitivity and pain which could be why he's been on/off on his eating. Of course, we can't know for sure on the FORL without X-rays and that requires anesthesia. So, the plan is for us to weigh him EOD and if his weight starts to fall, we'll run bloodwork again to make sure his kidneys are still stable. If they are, then it's likely his mouth and we will address the dental at that time. Neither she nor we want to put a 17 year old CKD cat under anesthesia if we don't have to. She said to stop brushing his teeth because that probably keeps aggravating his sore gums (altho his gums were not that red) and just to lightly put toothpaste on his gum with our fingers. We also were making his food more pudding-like thinking it would be easier for him but found out last night that he eats it better if we just leave it as it comes out of the can. He's been eating well this morning. Paws crossed.

A friend of mine's husband is diabetic and last week had to have all the toes on one foot amputated due to poor circulation. He just got home yesterday and so we are making a meal to take out to them but they live 1.5 hours from us. As soon as I finish cooking, I'm going to head out there so I'll check back in later today.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 5/21 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 168 +4 106 +5 86

Sounds like Gracie sure does provide a lot of entertainment with her Scottish fold sit. Cute how she wants you to play with you. That sure would have made a great video. Looks like a nice slide there with the 86. :mrgreen:
Sounds like Gus had a thorough exam and it was the bupe causing the episode last week. Glad he's okay, and it sounds like a good plan with checking the weight or b/w if needed. Mags also likes her food as is out of the can. I wonder what Vets do if a ckd kitty has a bad tooth.
How awful with your friend's husband and the effect of the diabetes on his circulation. I'm sure they will really appreciate your visit, how nice.
 
Re: 5/21 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 168 +4 106 +5 86 +6 59

Ann's right, that is a nice slide there. Go Gracie!

It's good that it was likely more that it was the medication than Gus having a bp spike. Here's hoping he stays well.

Good wishes for healing for your friend's husband.
 
Re: 5/21 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 168 +4 106 +5 86 +6 59

Hi, Marje, I just love your GoofyGracieGirl! Oodles of laughs and entertainment :lol: :lol: :lol: And NICE numbers today!!
I'm so glad that my favorite YouTube Squids Star is doing better. Paws crossed that Gus continues to eat and be back to his normal self.
I'm sorry to hear about your friend's DH ~ that's so nice of you to bring food. You have a huge heart. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/21 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 168 +4 106 +5 86 +6 59

Nice numbers, and I'm so relieved to hear all is well with Gussie's vetty report.
 
Re: 5/21 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 168 +4 106 +5 86 +6 59

I love hearing about Gracie's antics. I needed a good laugh.

I'm glad Gus got a good vetty report and the problem was with the bupe. I hope he continues to eat better.

Sorry to hear about your friend's DH. Sending prayers for them.
 
Just got back from delivering dinner which ended up being a 4 hour trip because my friend just needed to sit and talk. She's been under alot of stress with the surgery and worries that he would lose more than part of his foot.

Gracie popped up a bit....not as bad as the last two nights so we'll see what she has in store. She actually got down to 45...LIL STINKA! Definitely holding this dose to see if she can stop bouncing.

Time for our dinner...I never got lunch today and I'm famished. BBL.
 
tumblr_megm4u8VLD1r45099o1_250.jpg


:lol: - almost...

Good that it wasn't Gus's bp... that's good news...
and I'm betting you'll always remember giving the bupe a good shake now.
 
Hi Marje. I enjoyed reading about Gracie's antics today. She must have been a site on her back legs with front paws waiving...kind of like Trigger, Roy Rogers horse.

Glad Gus had a good checkup today. I hope his gums heal quickly.

Sorry to hear about your friends DH. Diabetes is a terrible disease.

Have a great night Marje.
 
Hi Marje, Just watched your video on giving sub q fluids, and that Gus is so adorable!! What a mush, and he is so well behaved through the whole process. You (and your assistant) did such a great job demonstrating how to do it. I am glad his vet visit went well.
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ..Rhiannon....perfect!!!

John...oh yes...just like Trigger! A ferocious Trigger :lol: ..well sorta....not... ;-)

Jane...glad you enjoyed it. My assistant is my DH, Mike. Gus is very very very bonded to Mike but he would be great with anyone giving him fluids...he's really, really good. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top