6/9 Zeus AMPS 224 cycle curve question

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
6/8 condo

Morning All, ~O)

I woke up to poo on the kitchen floor. UGH. So I cleaned that up and went about the normal routine. Zeus did not want to be tested this morning, but he did eat a pretty good 1st breffis. He's sampling his 2nd breffis now :smile: After I finished with feedings and meds I went into the bedroom and there it was... Poo on the bed. Really? Ugh!!! I just changed the bed too, OK, strip the bed again. Smokey has been having problems with the poo getting stuck in her fur, and she drags her butt to get it off. Yesterday was really bad. I don't know what to do about that.

My question: I was hoping that someone would look at Zeus' SS and help me interpret what I should do. Lots of times, his curve is inverted, he starts low and goes higher before coming back down for the next PS. Sometimes he just has a straight line up continuing into the next cycle before coming down. Does this mean he needs an increase? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks so much!

Last day of my vacation :cry: back to TBP tomorrow :sad: I wish I was independently wealthy. Don't we all? ;-)

Have a great day. Hugs, thoughts and prayers to all that need them today.
Kathie
 
Morning!
Poo duty first thing? Yuck. Sorry about that. I wish I had any answers for you. All I can do is send vines across the 'puter. I know someone will have good answers for you. Until then...lots of hugs scritches and nice new clean sheets for a btb.

Xoxo mary and ollie
 
Hi Kathie, gosh, so sorry about the poo problem and twice in one morning. Zeus, what's up with that poo thing? Mags sometimes does the urinating out of the box, but has four feet in and just so close to the entry. Is this the first time for Zeus with the poo? On the inverted curve, will be interesting to hear what one of the Advisors says about it.
 
Is it Zeus with the poo problems an is it anything that FortiFlora would help with? As for Smokey, would getting her rear areas trimmed or shaved help?

I want to take a little more time with Zeus' SS. Off the top of my head though, inverted curves can mean too much insulin or not enough. (I know, it's not a helpful answer.) What it looks like is that you're seeing a bounce clearing. I'm also going to see if I can get some others to take a look.
 
Morning Kathie - I agree, yuck on the poopie :sad: I have come to expect pee on the floor of laundry room, most times with some litter mixed in (Cleo tries to cover it outside of the box), but does not cover her inside pee :o I now use these LB's I call the "Wave," shaped with no corners, but they also have little rubber feet on them. So no pee to clean off the bottom of the LB :-D She can climb in it just fine to poo, and about 1/3 of the time to pee, the rest of the time it is part in/part out/or altogether out.

Would your be able to trim the butt hair on Smokey? Not sure if that would help or not. Will be interested to see what others say about Zeus SS also. I also have to go back to work tomorrow. :sad: :sad: Didn't hit the lottery during vacation :sad: I would have no problem staying home every day. I would not get bored!

Enjoy your last day of vacation!
 
I'm sorry, my paragraph about the poo was a bit unclear... It's Smokey that has the poo problem. Without being too graphic, the poo comes out and dangles while a piece of fur stuck in the poo kind of stays in. She then drags her butt on the floor to get it off. If I hear her and am quick enough, I can get it with a tissue. The poo is normal looking, she used to have really dry poo but its much better now. I think she might need a little extra brushing and a trim probably would be a good idea as well.

Thanks Sienne, I thought I remembered reading that an inverted curve could mean too much insulin... or not enough. I appreciate you taking some time to look at the SS, and for asking others as well. Any feedback that you have for me would be great, thank you.

Kathie
 
Ahhh, the hanging hair out of the butt poopie!! Once in awhile that happens here. The kitty with the offending hanging poopie, usually runs like crazy through the house, everyone starts joining him, and on one of the tight curves, poop and hair come flying off. That is the best scenerio. Othertimes, there is the poop slide across the floor :o :o Thankfully that doesn't happen too often. And this is shedding season, so they all have more hair everywhere!
 
Sienne asked a few of us to peek at Zeus's SS and, as another lev user, I don't really see inverted curves. i wonder if what you are seeing is more a combination of less duration and also some bouncing.

Look at 6/6 a.m. cycle. He cleared a bounce from the night before. I have to wonder if he then went up after AMPS to a higher number, onset, and the 186 at +6 is on the way back down to nadir somewhere between +8 and +10.5.

I think he is bouncy as well. I also know that lev cycles can be a little more difficult to interpret than Lantus. Gracie has interesting lev cycles but I don't worry about whether she has an inverted curve or not (which she almost always seems to do at night).

IMHO, you have been testing plenty. I tend to dose a little more aggressively and think he could use a bit of an increase BUT I am also a firm believer that you should decide where you want his nadir and if he's where you want him, hold the dose and see if he will flatten out. He might....he might not. He's a cat ;-)

Others may see something different which is the beauty of this forum :-D
 
Hi Kathie

Bummer on the poo/lb thing. I'm not too sure how one can deal with that. Perhaps a butt trim would help, maybe lots of brushing to reduce the amount of fur ingested. I dunno.... Wish you much luck with it all.

no dose advice from me. It looks like a bit of a bouncy kitty to me, but I'm certainly not an adviser.... Wish you much luck on it all.

Have a great day today.
 
Thanks Marje, after I read your response I went and plotted the last 5 days on a line graph (it took me a while to figure out how to :lol: ).... The pattern is very similar 3 out of 5 days, and it did help me to see the bounciness. I've been thinking that he might be due for another increase, but we've had three increases (granted not much at a time because of my mishap with the calipers) since May 22nd, so I wanted advice. Thanks again.

Hi Michelle, thanks for stopping in and for the support, I appreciate it. I sure do wish that Zeus would stop the bouncing and just learn to like the blues and greens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top