Kiwi F
Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98423&p=1052694#p1052694
AMPS 413 !! Help?
Kiwi's AMPS have been going up since the day we started insulin. In fact, 413 is the highest reading I've gotten on him since before his remission last year. Shouldn't his bg be lower now, even if his dose is too low, than it was before insulin? Does this make sense to anyone who knows more than me? Is there any possibility he's bouncing, like he did last time? Or is this a straightforward need of a higher dose? Sometimes the insulin does seen to get him into the blues now and again. Any thoughts?
I want to get him to a safe place as quickly as possible. But that said, I do have an obstacle ...due to my own health situation, I can't always watch him as closely as I would like (without much warning). I could use some suggestions regarding that too (what to do if he is dropping, and I suddenly become unable to monitor him for a few hours). Should it be sufficient to give him some food if that's about to happen? If you can think of any precautions I can take, please let me know.
Thanks for your help. And if anyone thinks its time to change his dose, I'd like to hear your thoughts.
Kim and Kiwi
AMPS 413 !! Help?
Kiwi's AMPS have been going up since the day we started insulin. In fact, 413 is the highest reading I've gotten on him since before his remission last year. Shouldn't his bg be lower now, even if his dose is too low, than it was before insulin? Does this make sense to anyone who knows more than me? Is there any possibility he's bouncing, like he did last time? Or is this a straightforward need of a higher dose? Sometimes the insulin does seen to get him into the blues now and again. Any thoughts?
I want to get him to a safe place as quickly as possible. But that said, I do have an obstacle ...due to my own health situation, I can't always watch him as closely as I would like (without much warning). I could use some suggestions regarding that too (what to do if he is dropping, and I suddenly become unable to monitor him for a few hours). Should it be sufficient to give him some food if that's about to happen? If you can think of any precautions I can take, please let me know.
Thanks for your help. And if anyone thinks its time to change his dose, I'd like to hear your thoughts.
Kim and Kiwi